We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but the view...the view!”
Review of Lucia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After reading many reviews on this place, we decided to splurge and get one of the rooms that is older and has the direct view to the ocean rather than over the parking lot. It was worth it! 2 adorable adorondack chairs in front of our room were perfect for relaxing with a book and a beer. Inside was really much cleaner than I imagined possible with having such an old place and high wood ceilings. The bed and bedding were plush and comfortable. My only 2 gripes: 1) it was more expensive than I thought it was worth, especially given the lack luster breakfast and 2) the bathroom is rather lacking...it's small and nothing special!
Other than these 2 rather minor issues, it's a very unique place.

Room Tip: Definitely pick one of the older, more expensive rooms with the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Yes, location, location but for the price this is really poor value. There were holes in the screens, the blinds were broken as well as dirty, there's no fridge, bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, the windows were dirty marring the view, there was inadequate security on the door, the door was chipped and missing paint. The bathroom was so uncomfortable we decided not to shower also due to lack of cleanliness. The toilet bowl was grossly stained. Since you don't need a view when you sleep - why stay here? The security was non-existent and we ran into an uncomfortable character who wouldn't leave us alone. There's no phones in the room and no cell phone coverage so if you get into trouble - you are in trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Four of us stayed for two nights in cabins 7 and 8 and had a wonderful time. I've stayed in places with fabulous views before, but nothing better than this. The cabins are a little primitive, but they don't claim to be anything else and the beds were very comfortable. Each has a small Franklin gas stove that comes in handy on those cold Big Sur nights/early mornings when you want to get into the (rather small!) shower. The Adirondack chairs in front of each cabin are a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of coffee while enjoying the truly amazing view. The price is high, but we thought it was worth it. And improvements are being made: while we were there, two straightback wooden chairs were replaced in each cabin with a very comfortable overstuffed leather chair that matched the small sofa already there.

The staff in the store (where you check in) had its moods, but they were generally friendly, sometimes very. We ate dinner in the restaurant twice and the food ranged from excellent (salmon, risotto) to less than average (a steak that left more than a little to be desired). Wait staff for dinner also ranged from very good to clearly inexperienced. The dinner prices are, indeed, high for what you in some cases get, but the dining room is pleasant with a good view, and eating there saves you at least a 15 mile drive each way. Wine prices are pretty low.

Breakfast is included in the price and was generally adequate, with hard-boiled eggs, yoghurt, toast, muffins, some pretty good pastries, instant oatmeal, juice, fruit and good coffee.

We would (and hope to) do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riverwest48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A great location only goes so far. You need to also be decent to customers and offer some value that feels fair and reasonable. This is a fun little place in a beautiful location. The food in the restaurant was good but not excellent. However, the folks working there had a terrible attitude, and the lodging accommodations were laughably overpriced for what you get. PT Barnum said a sucker is born every minute, and I definitely left there feeling like that sucker.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lucia Lodge is like stepping back in time to an era of rustic charm and the perfect stay in Big Sur. The little cabins are nestled on the side of a cliff which has a breathtaking view of the ocean and mountains around it. Each cabin has a comfy bed and cute living area with a little fireplace as well as a veranda to take in the view with a glass of wine. Staff were friendly and helpful but mainly you were left in peace to just relax and enjoy the views! My only criticism is that the adjoining restaurant was very expensive in compsarison to the room and as this is the only choice of where to eat nearby seemed odd - partcularly as the food was fairly basic

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunSuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed one night, and truly enjoyed ourselves. The view, as you'd expect, is spectacular (hike 3 minutes up behind the cabins for an even better view). The dinner and breakfast were both very good. The bed was amazingly comfortable. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and others seemed to not care very much. Sure, the rooms could be upgraded, but why? They're comfortable and cozy.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms 7 or 8 for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimpulcrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There is no question that the view from cabins 7 through 10 have a spectacular southern view of the Big Sur Coastline. Cabin 10 also has a westerly view and is the most expensive. (About $255.00)The other cabins, 1 - 6, do not afford the same view, but the price is of course much cheaper. The room itself was nice and the bed was comfortable. We went with another couple and their room had even nicer décor. The annoying thing (for my wife and our friends) was there was no hair dryer in the room. Come on, who doesn't provide a hair dryer in this twenty-first century? When we complained, we were told, "Oh we have one at the desk." Now they tell us. Why not at check in? Besides, you need to drive out of the 'cabins area' and down Highway 1 to get to the office and there is seldom anyone there.

One other thing that perhaps would only bother me was the place was rotting away. The boards of the room's walls were, in spots, being held together by the paint that covered it. The outside showed many areas of rotting wood. If you think about it, that is a home for mold and perhaps insect infestation.

Room Tip: The rooms 7 -10 fill up quickly. If you want to sty here, reserve early. And ask for the hairdryer w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,156 reviews
18.8 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
20.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
422 reviews
21.5 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
312 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Address: 62400 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9533
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £109 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lucia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing