We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique lodging in a breathtaking venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Unique lodging in a breathtaking venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2007

My husband and I recently stayed at Treebones and, overall, we were pleased with the accommodations. The lodgings, 16 yurts, which are semi-permanent tents with lots of creature comforts like pine floors, sink with hot and cold water, gas stove, comfy queen bed, electricity, are very unique and perfectly suited to the land they're on. They are truly "perched" along the water's edge.

Complementing the yurts, is a beautiful centrally located lodge with lots of space for sitting, complimentary games and books to borrow, a pool, a hot tub and a redwood bar overlooking the ocean. It's truly an idyllic spot and a wonderful place to relax. The owners and front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Also, because restaurant choices in the area are limited, we ate at Treebones both nights we were there (breakfast is complimentary and dinner is extra). The food was reasonably priced (for the area) and surprisingly delicious and satisfying. Service was quick and friendly. There's also a small store in the lodge where gifts and various sundries are sold. The prices aren't cheap, but not wildly expensive either.

For the pros of Treebones -- great location in a breathtaking spot, helpful and knowledgeable owners and staff, very unique and relaxing locale, lower priced lodgings in what is a very expensive area, very peaceful.

For the cons of Treebones -- no private baths, potential for noisiness since the yurts are glorified tents with very little insulation, parking setup is a bit weird (it's removed from the yurts and your luggage is moved via golf cart), very dark at night (they do provide flashlights), yurts are chilly at night and very warm during the day.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, but I'm not 100% sure I'd return. I thought the prices were very high for what you actually got, though much cheaper than other area lodgings. I think if I were to return, I'd just rent a campsite rather than a yurt. It's much cheaper and you still have use of Treebones' facilities. While the shared bath was conveniently located, the women's showers were really awful in my opinion. They were cramped, dark and the dividers between the showers weren't completely opaque, so you could somewhat see your neighbor in the dressing area, which I thought was weird and I didn't really like. So much care went into the design of every other aspect of Treebones, I'm not really sure why they fell so short in the design of the showers.

We stayed in Yurt 7 which was panned in some other reviews, but we loved it. It's definitely ocean view, very large and it was quiet for us. I've included a photo of the view with this review.

  • Liked — Incredible location and setting
  • Disliked — Women's shared showers
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nigoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    202
    47
    27
    16
See reviews for
111
481
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful weekend at Treebones. The yurts are well-designed, the staff helpful and friendly, and our dinner was excellent. Treebones has fabulous views of the Big Sur Coast. At night, it was so clear and still we could see the Milky Way spilling across the sky. Be sure to watch for condors over Highway 1, especially north of Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park. We saw 15 condors flying overhead.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank EnvironmentalWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

We stayed at Treebones for two nights in mid-April. It's certainly a very mellow, relaxed, attractive place, that was designed with a lot of thought and creativity. I read the newspaper stories that they've posted in the lodge, and it's clear that the owners deserve a lot of credit for pursuing their vision--if I remember right, it apparently took 20 years to make Treebones a reality.

We had yurt 8 which was great from our perspective, as it had a wonderful full ocean view, but was a relatively short, level walk to the lodge. All the good things that reviewers have said--the attractive spacious yurts, the comfortable beds, the gas fireplace, nice showers--we agreed with, as well as some of the bad, the 60 minute timeout on the fireplace and a loud neighbor being the worst. We did have bad luck with the weather, as the best feature of our yurt, the oceanview porch, was impossible to enjoy, as our first day was too windy and the second too cold and rainy.

Ultimately, though, there was just something missing, and I think for my husband and me, it was just too contrived and artificial, paying almost $200 a night for upscale camping. Maybe, if we're going to be somewhat uncomfortable anyway, we prefer a place with more history and charm, like Big Sur Inn.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler07Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

I have not stayed at Treebones but please be aware if you wish to amend or cancel a booking at Treebones. I booked 2 yurts for my family for 2 nights in July and then unfortunately had to cancel. The cancellation policy is that $35 per yurt will be charged. I cancelled over 2 months before the reservation date. It does not make it clear on the website that it is $35 per yurt. I think the charge should relate to the reservation and not the number of yurts. I asked for $35 to be refunded to me but to no avail.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank elphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2007

Treebones was almost perfect. Unbeatable ocean view, interesting yurt, homey services, comfy bed, relaxing environment, nice porch. Toilet/shower was a short walk away near the main building, which was the only negative of the hotel. Home style dinner was decent. The main building offered dining area and complementary wi-fi internet access.

We had Yurt #10 which was great except that its porch had full sun exposure and was too hot to use it during the day time, which would be perfect for people who enjoy sun bathing.

The hotel price was reasonable and provided good value. Although Post Ranch Inn had closer water view and better amenity, it costs 5 times more. Ventana Inn has a beautiful ocean-view restaurant and lunch is better than the Post Ranch. Surrounding big sur area offered many activities.

  • Liked — View & value
  • Disliked — Toilet is not in the room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MindWideOpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2007

Big Sur is one of my favorite places to visit. I have camped there previously, but this trip was of a different tone, so I was quite pleased when I stumbled acrosss all the great reviews for Treebones. It's not exactly in Big Sur though. It's actually just outside of Gorda, about 12 miles south of Big Sur.

They have recently changed their policy to a 2 night minimum. I found an *orphan* single night on their website calendar, and phoned to see if I could have it. They were quite friendly and it was not a problem at all.

We had yurt #7 which is billed as partial ocean view. It was at the very top of the property and only had 2 neighbors so it was very quiet. The yurt was very spacious feeling and light. Durning the day, the yurt was quite warm but at night it got fairly chilly. There was a heater, but you can only set the timer for a maximum of 60 minutes.

You are provided with towels and washcloths. The showers are a shortish walk away, and the only real drawback to the property. They are standard camping grade showers. The main lodge bathroom had 3 showers on the womens side, one of which was wheelchair accessible, but they were small and did not provide the extra bit of comfort that I expected from a $200/night property. My boyfriend reported the same experience from the men's side.

The menu the night we were there offered roast turkey, baked salmon and one other dish that I can't recall. It was about $20 per meal and came with a salad and cornbread stuffing. Bottles of wine were available for purchase as was dessert. The food was quite nice and the servings were generous. The waffles offered at breakfast were delicious and coffee, tea, OJ and apples were also available.

Overall, it was quite a pleasant stay though I am not sure I would repeat the visit.

  • Liked — unusual
  • Disliked — showers
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CA_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

Treebones Resort is nestled in the cliffs along the bluffs of Big Sur.
I was absolutely surprised by the uniqueness of the entire experience. The yurts were like new,and I was amazed at how big they felt. At night, my husband and I would watch the stars from the skylight and during the day, we enjoyed the panoramic view of the ocean. The happy hour sunsets followed by a jacuzzi before dinner made for a perfect evening. The food was good and the beer and wine selection were an excellent extra. The staff were friendly and met all of our needs. I would highly recommend this vacation spot to anyone who wants an experience to remember. Thank you Treebones Resort!

Helpful?
1 Thank California65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
29.3 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Harbors Campground
Two Harbors Campground
#1 of 1 in Two Harbors
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Property: Treebones Resort
Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing