We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for gods and dogs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Campground and Cabins
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for gods and dogs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 days on a big weekend and loved the site, there were kids and dogs in all the sites the river was safe for kids and the site is well managed, firewood is available on site with a small shop, there is some noise from the road but not a problem, could be dark in the trees.

Room Tip: Book early especially weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    29
    8
    10
See reviews for
52
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We had a great 2 nights at Riverside we stayed in Cabin 5 which is on the 2nd floor (us speak) has windows all round the edge so you get lots of lights and can take in the redwoods. It also has a little table for breakfast/card playing.

The camp owners/caretakers were fantastic really friendly and helpful you also get the use of a fire pit so you can cook your dinner over an open fire a real treat.

Its fairly central in Big Sur so you can go to most of the good hikes and beaches in a short drive.
Pheifer beach is a must.

The cabins are a nice distance apart though cabin 5 is in the same building as I think 4 others however I didn't hear any noise through the walls apart from some faint snoring... We didn't have an ensuite but the bathroom facilities are just up the hill and the showers are of good quality.
There is also a small store which has most of the stuff you will need if not there are a few others along the highway.

In short had a great stay and would definitely come back if I am in Big Sur again

Room Tip: Cabin 5 is very spacious and has a great aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I'm going to preface this review by saying the site itself is quite nice and the owners/managers were reasonable and as helpful as can be expected.

The reason for my two star review is because we were given NO indication that cabins 3, 4, 5 and 6 have little more than plywood for walls. We were told there was no firepit and a shared balcony. No problem. If they had told me you can hear every noise your neighbor makes in Cabin 3, I would have gladly paid more to be in a separate, detached cabin.

If someone is talking at a normal voice in the room next door, however, it sounds like they're using a megaphone. Also, people left their dogs locked up in the cabin, and the dogs barked from about 6-7:30 am before the owners opened up the cabin, took the dog out, and kicked the people out when they returned.

If you're a light sleeper, DO NOT stay in cabins 3, 4, 5 or 6. Choose a different cabin, or a different site all together.

Management needs to write a very explicit disclaimer about how thin the walls are, and the likelihood of your sleep being disturbed if you're not a heavy sleeper.

Room Tip: Avoid cabin 3, 4, 5, and 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foam4Daze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Sur hotels

New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We hit the jackpot with Riverside Campground! The staff couldn't have been more sweet or helpful. The location was ideal. Our little cabin was a clean, peaceful, charming place. The camp store had everything we needed and there was a great restaurant close by. I went with my husband and 2 boys, ages 7 & 4 1/2, and we had a blast. We rented Cabin #1 and it was beautifully kept. My boys called it "The Three Bears House". We used the fire pit outside to roast marshmellows. In the morning we hiked along the river down to the restaurant for a lovely breakfast. It was idyllic and my kids loved splashing and tubing in the river. There were lots of nice families there doing the same thing so there was lots of kids to play with. True - you are not "alone" in the middle of wilderness at this campground but it was certainly smaller and less crowded than the camp site next door. We can't wait to go back! A magical memory for our kids and us.

Room Tip: There are campsites for tents and places for RV's - we loved the "luxury" camping cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmr925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

A very beautiful place. I had a site on the river under big redwood trees. I was a very quiet and the people were very nice. The sites are very close together so when it was bedtime, I had to listen to someone snore all night long, very annoying. The restrooms were clean and for .25 cents a hot shower. A great place to dip your feet in the river and watch the kids have fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CampingMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here, beautiful location and wonderful helpful staff. Pam made it so easy and helped out with really good advice on the local area. Cabin was lovely and clean, lots of room. Great camp atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandifree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

for $45 a night with electric and water, across from the river in a quiet, clean campground with pleasant staff, beautiful redwoods.....really can't beat it. If we find ourselves in the area again I would re-book here.

I read the other reviews about the cabins, and although I didn't stay inside one of them, I personally wouldn't pay $170-$180 a night to have a cabin without a private bathroom. I thought that was really odd, but then, maybe it's just Big Sur pricing.

Lots of kids, lots of people river-tubing and it was only 60 degrees Farenheit. Brrrrrr!

We didn't have a problem with critters, but we have critter=repellent that we sprinkle around our campsite that is excellent at keeping them away. I guess it smells like predator urine, but people can't smell it.

Room Tip: try to get one with a private bathroom if you're going to be in a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susyernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
19.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
20.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Campground and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Campground and Cabins

Property: Riverside Campground and Cabins
Address: Route 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Big Sur
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Riverside Campground And Cabins Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing