We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Campground and Cabins
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This campsite is just what you want in Big Sur - peaceful, relaxed and friendly feel. Good range of cabins, as well as campsite that are directly on the river. Cabin itself was rustic but comfortable and very cosy. Slightly small, but had everything needed, and very atmospheric.

No problems during 2 night stay, but proximity of other cabins could pose problems (some are shared buildings, and there is (understandably) no soundproofing). Price was very good for the area, although higher than you'd normally expect to pay for the facilities.

Good location for the (limited) facilities of Big Sur and ideal base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmaffchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    37
    29
    8
    11
See reviews for
53
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at site 17. We really enjoyed it here. Pam called us a day ahead of time to let us know about a road closure. The sites are small. Our site had a wall of poison oak along the back- I am very allergic so had to make extra effort nothing and nobody got into it. This is a good starting place to visit so many awesome hiking trails, but my kids also enjoyed going upstream in the river to a small pool to swim and also enjoyed the trout crawfish and catfish. There is a tiny but well stocked store onsite no produce. One washer and dryer may need 2 times in dryer. Showers on a meter 3 minutes for 25 cents meter will take 4 quarters but do them one at a time. Awesome staff all around. Internet and wifi at the store for you gadget junkies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked Cabin number six, which was small but cosy - just about enough room for the two double beds and a shelf for suitcases etc. It was helpful to have a shelf between the two beds also. No mod cons, so no TV, no air-con, but a room heater, which was effective. And also no bathroom - we used the shared bathhouse up the campsite. This was fine as only a short walk and we never had to queue for the loo or shower. Shower is metered at 25c for 3minutes - but you would not want to linger in there anyway!!
Cabin came with its own barbecue/fire place and was nice to enjoy a log fire each night. also has a picnic table for al fresco dining. The camp shop was reasonably stocked and offered fresh coffee in the morning with half price refills. you can swim in the big Sur river on site if you like.
We found the site to be well maintained and peaceful. It was busy but not particulary noisy and the kids seemed to be enjoying themselves. There is a rope swin over the river which you need to walk across some wet stepping stones to reach.
When compared to other Big Sur accommodation we looked at I found this to be excellent value with character. Much nicer than staying in a bland hotel.
Is a short drive from the site to various dining options and to the state parks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raccat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed in Big Sur on a California trip with my mom and sister. The area of Big Sur is beautiful and the campground is in a great setting in the forest and off of the highway a bit along the river. We stayed in a cabin which was cozy and rustic(cabin 1 i think). It had a double bed and a cot with a private bathroom. It was not very big but it had electricity and a little heater and a fire pit outside. The cabins are fairly close together but we expected that. The campground has a little store that you can buy camping basics and few groceries and is walking and driving distances of other restaurants and little general stores. The main check in area has a binder of all the restaurant menus in the area as well as different hikes.
The accommodation prices are quite high in Big Sur so the $200+ a night is pretty high, but average for Big Sur. You can pay less if camping but for a cabin or hotel expect to pay that much during the summer.
Overall we all really enjoyed our time at the Riverside campground. It was a cute semi rustic little cabin in a beautiful area!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna_12Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed two nights here and were very happy. We were in an RV and had a good sized spot that felt relatively private (we had a corner spot for our second night that was even better).

There's such a nice feel to this campground. The river is so much fun for tubing and wading and they sell inflatable tubes at the camp store (reasonably priced) and even provide an air compressor - very thoughtful.
We loved the wooded feel and all the shady areas and the little bridge. It's very pretty and woodsy. Friendly people too.

The Camp Store was great (so was the super-nice, long white haired lady who worked there – what a lovely person). It's this marvellous little store that sells just about anything you can imagine and not at rip-off prices, but priced reasonably and fairly.

You can walk to a pub and restaurant which is convenient if you don't want to have to drive your massive RV to get dinner. We did wish that there was a bigger grocery store in the area for fresh produce, so stock up before you get here on things like fruits and vegetables.

The toilets are less nice though :( The stall doors are those retro short kind that allow for very little privacy, the back of the doors were grubby and needed a good clean. The showers (which you need quarters for) look like they needed an update with the old concrete floors with wood benches that looked rotten in places. These are lesser issues if you're in an RV, but important if you're camping. I felt for what we were paying that the restrooms and showers should have been a bit better.

Thanks for a great stay Riverside. We'll be back. Fingers crossed for some new restroom doors!?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed two nights here recently. It's a very nice location, but VERY expensive and ridiculously cramped between sites. We got a tent site and there is essentially no separation between neighbors anywhere on the property. Might as well be a group site. For $50/night (our dog cost an extra $10), a little privacy isn't out of the question. Most remarkable though, is after ponying up $50 to sleep in the dirt 10 feet from people you don't know, you go over to the shower and they want 25 cents for a 3 minute shower. That brings nickel-and-diming to a new level of greed and if I owned this place I'd be embarrassed. Luckily we brought our own wood, because the price of theirs is outrageous. That said, everyone who works here is super nice and the location is superb, but there are other super spots in Big Sur and we'll stay somewhere else next time. 5 stars for the location, 2 stars for pretty much everything else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My Wife and I tent camped here for one night during the Memorial Weekend (May 27) in 2013. We loved it here. There are tent sites right on the river and there was a layer of wood chips everywhere to keep you relatively clean. They've made an attempt at shrubbery between the individual and closely-spaced campsites which is helpful. There is fire wood for sale. It is $13 per bundle - the most we've ever seen anywhere on the California coast :(
The bathrooms were wonderful and very clean. Pam, the attendant there was a real sweetheart. Sites are either $45 or $50 depending on if you want to hear the gurgling of the river. THey do have a senior discount and the Good Sam Club member discount.
We highly recommend this place and would give five stars if the sites were spaced further apart.

Room Tip: bring your own firewood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandJess2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
3.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,125 reviews
19.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
19.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Glen Oaks Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Campground and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Campground and Cabins

Property: Riverside Campground and Cabins
Address: Route 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Big Sur
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Riverside Campground And Cabins Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing