We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go thru a castle?”
Review of Sunshine Castle

Sunshine Castle
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Bli Bli
Attraction details
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I could take it or leave it but as we had time on our hands and wanted another attraction to visit we went along. All aspects of the castle explained in the various rooms and sections on why something was build as such or placed in that section of the castle. Has a vast display of swords and weapons, suites of armour, the throne, banquet room, dungeon, towers, lookouts. Something for all. People with disabilities be aware though that to visit the castle in full the steps and staircases are not suitable. Visitors need to be agile. Great for the kids. Great for those into medieval times. The visit finishes with an extensive doll display. Those that like dolls will find displays from all around the world, new and old.

1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nina159753, Manager at Sunshine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Phil W,

We appreciate that you took your precious time to write down your review of your visit at Sunshine Castle. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope be welcome you again at our castle in the future.

Royal regards,
Nina
Management Sunshine Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"treasure hunt"
in 35 reviews
"doll museum"
in 14 reviews
"interesting place"
in 4 reviews
"historical information"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 8 reviews
"rainy day"
in 4 reviews
"middle ages"
in 5 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 3 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 4 reviews
"dungeon"
in 22 reviews
"tower"
in 27 reviews
"sir"
in 9 reviews
"costumes"
in 13 reviews
"sword"
in 12 reviews
"weapons"
in 5 reviews
"cannon"
in 4 reviews
Filter

162 - 166 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have to say staff are lovely but it took a whole 10 min to look, the treasure hunt could be a a lot better. It wasn't worth driving from brisbane to see. It's a shame it could be amazing if the staff actually took notice of these comments. The castle also needs to relise people in wheel chairs or elderly would like to look to but can't because it's all stairs. Maybe that should have been a thought when building

1  Thank Killerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nina159753, Manager at Sunshine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Killerbabe,

We appreciate all the feedback of our valued customers and want to thank you for putting your thoughts in writing. We are planning on extending the educational value that our customers can get out of visiting a Castle and learning about Medieval Times and real castles by introducing some workshops on different topics. hopefully in the near future.

Royal regards,
Nina
Management Sunshine Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Drove for an hour to visit with grand kids
Then informed prams are not allowed what a complete waste of time
This info should be on their website
Very peeved

1  Thank pateena2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nina159753, Manager at Sunshine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Pateena,

I am very sorry to hear that you left still upset after our word on-site. I took your advise serious and changed some information about accessibility of our venue on our website.

Kind regards,
Nina
Management Sunshine Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

By far the worst 'tourist attraction' out of the thousands I have been to. Incredibly overpriced and not sure what exactly we paid for. Just lots of metal spiral staircases leading to tower tops, neither of which were suitable for our 2 young children. The whole place was just a mishmash of random historical themed broken junk with a few authentic artifacts thrown in alongside. Then just as you are feeling really frustrated at having paid to spend time in the castle when you could have gone elsewhere, you enter the doll rooms. I don't know how to portray just how vile these are, it was like some sort of creepy, sick minded obsession. Rooms and rooms of dust covered dolls (think Miss Haversham) the whole place is in darkness and you have to turn the light switch on to see them. Seriously warped. Why anyone felt the urge to exhibit these in such a random setting in such a bizarre way is beyond me. Just so grateful we went by ourselves and never took any if our visitors there. We'd never waste our time or money by going back and such a shame as our daughter was really looking forward to visiting it! Major disappointment.

3  Thank tourismreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nina159753, Manager at Sunshine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Visitor.
Thank you for taking your time to write us your feedback/review. We are very sorry to hear that your visit with us was so unpleasant for you. Our history explains the doll's and fairytale exhibitions and the reason of being a Castle in Australia. We do get visitors who enjoy to experience a little bit of "Medieval" feel and learn about that long gone period in time and also those who only come for the doll museum, which they remember from visits in the early days of this castle being established. I guess we cannot meet everyone's taste.

However, we hope you enjoy the rest of your visits on the beautiful Sunshine Coast.

Kind regards.
Nina
Sunshine Castle Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This attraction was very well presented. All it's staff were in costume and in character, which enhanced our visit. Our son was given a handout to complete as he walked thru each section of the castle, and he has come away with some insight into Medieval history. We were very impressed with the structure of the building and all the props and fixtures added to give it true relevance. Well done to the owners of such a wonderful attraction.

2  Thank Michelle340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nina159753, Manager at Sunshine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us such a lovely review! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your visit with your grandson to the Sunshine Castle to learn a bit about Medieval History.

We hope to see you again some time, maybe even just for a coffee or milkshake. :-)

Royal Regards.
Nina
Sunshine Castle Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunshine Castle also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Sunshine Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing