We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We were looking for a hotel near the Brussels Airport for the night before a flight, car rental return, etc. Happened across this one on a website. It really is a castle! Beautiful rooms, good restaurant, excellent breakfast, spa if you pay extra. It would have been fun to have had at least two nights there, try the baths. As it was, it was a lovely place in lovely surroundings yet near to the airport for our flight.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BooksellerKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    99
    48
    27
    18
See reviews for
11
148
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
322 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

To me this is one of the most beautiful wellness complexes I know.
The scenery is just great : the place is epic (the castle and caves are restored and upgraded to a comfortable & restfull place).
Sauna are really nice, the hammam is one of the best I know and it's oh so beautiful.

We stayed in the hotel once : room was very nice (all the comfort you need), wooden floors, ground heating in the bathroom, big bath, nice bed. Breakfast in the castle is ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeri2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel whilst on business in Brussels, great location near the airport. Extensive spa complex which I did not use. A good alternative to the standard airport hotel. Room was large and comfortable. Restaurant reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haarlemmermeer
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

newly renovated stunning little castle in a small village about 2miles from brucargo area. main attraction and focus of the castle are (partly underground) water-, pool-, massage- and sauna features in various forms called "thermae" with luxurious appearance. the rooms can also be booked without thermae arrangement and come with free ample breakfast in the castle restaurant. very nice! rooms are large with tv (only 36 or so channels), well stocked minibar/fridge and senseo coffee machine. bedroom and bathroom are nicely decorated (see pictures). overall a surprisingly awesome experience with "wow" moments already upon arrival and parking the car (free). a car is mandatory, but a busstop for the insight traveller is close by. town itself offers nothing, but there is a large "delhaize" supermarket at brucargo, 10min drive. no restaurants, but the one in the castle, in the surroundings. bring your fresh crispy belgium sandwiches along :-)) I rate it only 4 out of 5points because a) chance of heavy aircraft noise in the middle of the night b) invoice for business travellers is not available upon check out and will only be sent to your address once at the end of each month, which is an absolute service failure in my opinion. wake up management: this can not be so difficult!?! nevertheless, everything else was georgeous and I would always stay here again, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with lesser aircraft noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank griswolds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were here for one night and a day (spring package - promo with overnight stay 95€/per person on their website) in May 2011. You can reach the Spa without a car (train + local bus + less than 10 min walk). The castle, its garden, the spa.. all very beautiful, romantic and well maintained.

We were a bit wary as talking to the staff on the phone a few times for reservation and informations, they seemed rude.

Unfortunately the staff is not warm, not smiling, not especially polite nor anything positive at all.. Well, expect one tall dark haired waiter in the restaurant.

It's very unfortunate indeed as otherwise the experience of the place would be completely different, as you really come to a Spa to relax and feel at ease.

The hotel rooms are very nice, separate beds thought, but we just pushed them together. There's something to make yourself coffee and tea and everything is nice and clean. The downside was that our room was very dark, the lamps are economical / ecological and give only feeble light.

The morning we noticed that they had booked us our massage at the same time we should had emptied the room, which was actually also the deadline to get a breakfast... We went to the desk to ask for them to change the appointment and that worked well.

We got naked and put the Spa's dressing gowns on, left our rooms and put our stuff in the lockers. Then we were able to head to the restaurant to get a breakfast (you can't get there with your clothes on).
There was some confusion with the waiter there who asked us our room number, disappeared for few minutes to get back at us saying that it was impossible our room was the number we claimed... But after double check, he found out we were really in that room... no excuse, no smile...
Breakfast was pretty good. Only problem was that the room was empty (middle of the week) except for the not-that-nice waiter standing there near us and so we felt uncomfortable talking about our private stuff, as couples do... Maybe he was standing there just to serve us better, but as he wasn't smiling nor especially polite it didn't feel so.

Anyway, the Spa was a nice surprise. Large and clean.
The problems are that the Finnish sauna is not warm enough - you cannot throw water on the stones, the showers are bad - they don't have hoses that would allow you for instance to shower very cold water on your legs only after the sauna, the pools and jacuzzis are all the same really - when they could have massage jets of different sorts. Instead there's plenty of different saunas - not warm enough except for the hammam maybe..

The "naked" side is much better and larger. There's no perverts or alike. People behave very nicely and respectfully. The large relaxation / silence room has a very special ambiance. We just loved it.

Having a lunch at the restaurant in your morning gown is very funny, you really feel like being on vacation. The food was very good and light if we wanted it so. After you can have a walk in the beautiful little park. Charming.

The massages' we got were nice, really relaxing for a 25'.They were made to us at the same time, in the same room, nice idea! Of course my boyfriend didn't find the touch strong / efficient enough. But maybe that was the choice of the massage included in the package and probably it would be better to express what you want to the masseur beforehand.

A day there passes fast. It's a nice place to go, good price.

Though now we are planning another Spa weekend and, remembering the attitude of the staff we don't feel like coming back. We're going to try the classic Thermes de Spa. It seems more attracting also as the treatments are more specific... We'll see!

Room Tip: If you don't live nearby, the Promo package with an overnight stay is a good choice. Also if I r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghost_object
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg,
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Only 6 hotel rooms, but stunning interiors. Restaurant and mini bar prices are surprisingly low for the Brussels area. Food and service are OK, but the warm dishes for breakfast could be improved. Well elaborated split for dressed and undressed sauna landscape users.
Overall impression : entrance for 1 day visitors is not coming cheap, but the spa concept is worth it. As frequent users of spa facilities, we will certainly be back for more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the spa experience, food and the service was great. The reception was very helpful and eager to help. The spa was clean and nice. The restaurant had good food and service.

The luxury room was spacious, but the free wifi was slow. Good for surfing, but not downloading. Also, no air condition in the room (we could not find the thermostat). Overall, good experience, will repeat.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lag11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melsbroek
1.8 mi away
Novotel Brussels Airport
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Brussels Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
NH Brussels Airport
NH Brussels Airport
#2 of 12 in Diegem
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels Airport
2.3 mi away
Van der Valk Brussels Airport
3.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Brussels Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel

Property: Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel
Address: Sellaerstraat 42, Melsbroek 1820, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Melsbroek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Melsbroek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thermae Boetfort is a historical wellness centre in a 400-year-old castle estate. Come and enjoy yourself for a few hours or several days and combine our public saunas in our nude and swimsuit thermae with a delightful treatment or a beneficial massage. Stay overnight in our authentic wellness hotel and go home totally relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boetfort Castle Hotel Zaventem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing