We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want a delightful French experience.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Clos St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Clos St Paul
Ranked #1 of 2 Tourny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you want a delightful French experience.....”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Clos St Paul is the place. We made a two night stopover to see Monet's Garden, just 7 kilometres away. Collapsing onto sun loungers in the front garden on arrival we were treated to a glass of bubbly and macaroon, home made of course like everything else here. We decided to sample the home cooked meal both evenings and they were stunning. The first night was confit of duck the second was a sea food casserole, no choice but we were not complaining. The whole house and bedrooms are a delightful Aladdins Cave of french memorabilia. We borrowed the bikes the second day, with a change of seat height no problem to the host, and cycled off into the french countryside for ten miles. Breakfast is in a separate cottage with a stunning array of food which was prepared by the always delightful hostess. A state of the art coffee machine had us refilling until we were replete.If you are going to Monet's Garden then this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    22
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
13
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a gem of a bed & breakfast just 12 KM from Giverny. We were treated more like family enjoying the owners' warm hospitality and delicious food. The breakfast buffet was a delight for the eye and the palate-- fresh eggs from their henhouse & the most delicious croissant that we enjoyed while in France. We were also fortunate to have dinner there our last evening-- wonderfully fresh food sourced the pastoral countryside served in a relaxing fireside dining room. To add to our delight, the region's fields were ablaze in a vibrant yellow as the rapeseed crop was in full bloom. I give this lovely spot my highest recommendation--we will return! Haut Normandie is an enchanting region, plus a refreshing stay at Le Clos St Paul allows you to arrive at Giverny at opening time of 9:30 and avoid the daytrippers from Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

if you dream about the french countryside, the french charme and french cooking, well here you can find all of them!
the place is really fascinating, the room was large, well decorated and cozy.
hosts were really kind with us, even if we din't speak a word in french, and they provided us many hints on what to visit in the neighborhood (and they also cook wonderful dishes!).
So, I think we'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zissou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Le Clos St Paul is a wonderful little b&b which is so authentically French. We had a great time staying here, set amongst the quiet countryside, not too far from beautiful Giverny and the historic Vernon township.
Our host Laurence, was so welcoming and prepared some delicious meals for us during our stay. We were also lucky enough to be there whilst she had a special jazz night, with a talented piano player. The wine and nibbles served that night were exquisite and it was a lovely way to meet and chat away with fellow travellers. Laurence has set up a warm and charming b&b with beautiful decor and comfort and thoughtful little touches. A great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had a lovely stay here, but as noted in other reviews the stairs are narrow and steep. The welcome was good and guidance to visit local attractions in the late afternoon was very helpful.
We had minimal luggage to store for one night but I am glad we did not have a few cases to move. The bathroom has a very low ceiling in places and the shower is a hand held 'over the bath' provision. The bath is large and comfortable but I always prefer a shower and the 1.70m person could not stand upright in the bath to use the shower head.
The breakfast room was a sight to behold, an amazing variety of fruit, bread, preserves, cake and marshmallows and a wonderful coffee machine that provided limitless hot coffee.
We had a really short journey to Monet' s Garden, which was the reason for the choice of overnight stay.
The possibility of dinner was not offered.

Room Tip: Check head height in bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulalaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Perfection, absolute perfection. We had a wonderful two night experience. We chose this B&B because of proximity to Giverny and also CDG airport as the second night was our last in France. There are charming farming villages in the area to explore.

Don't miss out on having dinner there which is great value and wonderful. The first night was so good we stayed for the second which was all differnt food and wine. My wife and I considered them the two best meals we had during our two weeks in France.

It's a warm and welcoming B&B, and the family members are part of the equation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipperNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

We only had time for one night here but enjoyed every minute! We had one of the rooms at the top of the stairs and it was fabulous. The stairs are steep and narrow so you have to be a little agile but we had no difficulty. The bed was very comfy and the sheets were the softest I've ever slept on. We had dinner with 6 other guests served by the lovely hostess. The breakfast is served in a separate cottage across the front garden and had a large selection of items including a delicious cherry pastry. This Chambre d'Hote is very near Giverny outside a small quiet village which makes it a perfect place to stay. If you're looking for a very French experience...this is it!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kkgorham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourny
6.1 mi away
Les Jardins d'Epicure
Les Jardins d'Epicure
#1 of 1 in Bray-et-Lu
126 reviews
12.0 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
945 reviews
20.3 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Moulin de Connelles
Moulin de Connelles
#1 of 1 in Connelles
231 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d'Or
13.6 mi away
Le Manoir des Deux Amants
Le Manoir des Deux Amants
#1 of 2 in Connelles
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos St Paul

Property: Le Clos St Paul
Address: 22 rue du Ret, 27510 Tourny, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Tourny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tourny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande longère remise au gout du jour, comprenant plusieurs salons, une bibliothèque avec son piano, un salon de thé, un espace de bien-être avec jacuzzi 5 personnes et sauna.... Possibilité de massages, soins du visage... Nous avons 5 chambres décorées avec soin, dont une suite familiale pouvant accueillir 5 personnes, le tout sur 2500 m2 de terrain et son verger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Clos St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing