We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Cedar Creek last November for a long weekend. The location is absolutely stunning, however we had several issues with the service.
We arrived at 3 pm on the Friday, and went to pick up the keys. We were then followed up to our cottage by Lesley, who had not brought up our breakfast hamper or the bottle of wine we had requested on arrival. She then scolded us for 'driving too quickly' and not parking in our allocated spot which we had not been told about.
The next day, we had booked a wine tour with Cheers bus tours (a company recommended on their website). The bus tour manager neglected to pick us up. We called him and expressed our disappointment and went and had brunch in Wollombi. When we arrived back, we went to do a wine tasting at the chapel, and we were scolded again for calling the bus tour, because apparently we were rude the bus manager who was a very good friend of the cellar operator.
Highly unnecessary.
However, the sparkling wine is beautiful as is the property as a whole. We will not be going back for a stay though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah8973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pipccc, Owner at Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Hannah8973,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

So pleased you thought the location stunning, we love sharing the beauty of the valley with our guests. We agree the award winning vintage champagne is a fantastic drop, delighted you too enjoyed it!

I apologise you were disappointed with the service as we regularly receive outstanding reviews for our hospitality and service. We strive to have all provisions ready in cottages but occasionally we will deliver breakfast hampers when the Cellar Door closes at 5pm. Upon your arrival however, Lesley shut the Cellar Door and followed you immediately to give you your supplies and wine.

We are a small family owned vineyard and working farm with both deer and cattle. There are several 20km/h signs on the drive to your cottage, not only to ensure the safety of our pets and livestock, but also your own safety – the native wildlife is abundant and so often we have kangaroos and the like bounce out in front of cars! Signage is provided for safe parking. If our guests have not noticed, we will suggest where best to park their cars.

We provide several contacts for tour operators on our website, not only Cheers Bus service. It is disappointing to hear that you missed your tour. As explained at the Cellar Door, we ask our guests and Tour operators to speak directly to each other to avoid confusion.

We wish to make our guests’ stays as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, and take pride in our service and hospitality.

Warmest regards,
Daryl & Phillipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Absolutely loved our stay! My partner and I had the Timbercutters cottage which is separate to the others. It was cosy and had all the necessities we needed. The breakfast basket was put together so well and made making brekky more memorable. The view of the vineyard was gorgeous and my girlfriend and I enjoyed laying on a blanket on the grass drinking some of the wine from the fridge. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorjess86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The owners were friendly and welcoming and the dog was good company on our walk around the deer track. The surroundings and atmosphere was a nice contrast with the larger industrial wineries. Delicious wine especially the reds.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartonbruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a fabulous place to escape the city!
We arrived late on Friday night to find little Howell's Cottage tucked away above the vineyard. The fridge was stocked with plenty of wine (loved the sparkling!) and all the supplies we'd need for a hearty breakfast. The kitchen was well-equipped, and it was a breeze whipping up an easy pasta dinner.
The bed was comfy, the spa was big enough for two, and the wood fire made for a cosy evening in.
We had arranged to do a Hunter Gatherer tour with The Two Fat Blokes on the Saturday and reluctantly left our cottage for a day on the road visiting some of the area's finest wineries. Fabulous.
Really wish we could have spent another week at Cedar Creek, it was spectacular. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EQuintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I wanted a quiet place to reconnect with my sister. This place delivers. It's beautiful, the cabin was rustic but well appointed (yummy port) and nothing was too much trouble. The owners were gracious, kind and went out of their way to make this a memorable stay.
I will recommend to all my friends and you can bet I will be back. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Stressmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in February and really loved the outlook of the Gardeners cottage, overlooking the vineyard. There is a really lovely walk on the main road, passing farms, paddocks... and not much else, no cars to worry about!
The cottage is at first glance lovely however needs a bit of TLC, no mosquito screens on the bedrooms windows or front door so we had to use aircon, the fan was not working in our bedroom.
The kitchen is very basic, large electrical frying only got used one morning as I found it too flimsy to use as bottom was broken.
Also signage could be better, specially when you arrive after closing time of the winery and have to try to find your accommodation .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

FIRST WORDS: Spectacular Seclusion
BEST FOR: A couple (or 2 couples).
HIGHLIGHT: Fire place roaring with a glass of Stonehurst port.

It's a shame that some areas of the Hunter Valley wine region are spoilt by big producers, hotels, and touristy gimmicks – because it really is beautiful Australian countryside. In saying that, there is still lots of raw bushland and some real treasures hidden amongst the gums. Stonehurst (Cedar Creek cottages) is definitely one of them. Rustic old cottages amongst the vineyards, surrounded by wildlife, farm animals and fresh country air.

We stayed in 'Timbercutters'; a beautiful old-style wooden cottage with a serene view over the vines. Although you feel completely isolated, Stonehurst is a short drive to some incredible restaurants (such as Bistro Molines) which are well worth your hard earned pennies. Our favourite evening was spent drinking wine in our cottage, eating fresh produce bought from the locals, and then tucking in to the complimentary bottle of port by the fireplace (Stonehurst knows how to make a good drop) .

The hosts are incredible and invite you to walk around the farm, always accompanied by one of their friendly dogs, through the paddocks and creeks. I recommended this to a friend of mine who has been back 3 times, and in my humble opinion it is the best place to stay in the Hunter Valley. Off the beaten track and a fair-dinkum great place. If you can do without a few of the creature comforts of a fancy hotel, then this is your spot.

OTHER STUFF: The breakfast hamper was filled with fresh eggs, bread, bacon and other goodies and there is a relatively well equipped kitchen to prepare in. Fire place for the winter, air-con for the summer. BBQ area, outdoor dining, and a huge property to discover. Short drive to town, wineries and restaurants.

LAST WORDS: If it weren't for the blanket of stars at night, you would be in dead blackness. No city lights, no sirens, no dramas. A great escape from the city.

Fork-Yeah
M&D

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fork-Yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine

Address: 1840 Wollombi Rd, Cedar Creek, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cedar Creek
Price Range: £108 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 550 acres in the Wollombi area of the Hunter Valley, NSW. The cottages have wonderful views overlooking our vineyards and the valley beyond. Wood-fires, spa-baths, air-conditioning, privacy assured. Self-contained with kitchen and wood BBQ. Tariff includes country breakfast hamper, port and chocolates and midday checkout. Great location and hospitality. Relax on the verandah with a glass of our organic Stonehurst Wine and enjoy the wonderful birdlife, animals and night skies! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing