We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommended ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with family for two nights. Place is beautiful and 10 minutes from shops.
The cottage is tidy, clean and quiet. In winter I would recommend to bring enough clothes cause hunter valley is freezing. But the cottages have heaters, electric blankets and fire place. Thanks for the great service. Defenitely coming back

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    48
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
34
136
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I have just come home from a lovely week in Sydney and the Hunter Valley! We stayed in the Timbercutter's cabin for 3 lovely nights. Initially we were concerned as people had said that it was too cold, etc. But once we got the fire cranking and the heater on in the bedroom, it was fine! We had a lovely stay and yes it was ridiculously freezing, but what do you expect in the middle of winter in the country!? That's why we went!! Besides, as i said, in the cabin, with the fire raging, it was lovely. Darryl met us at our cabin where he had built the fire for us and he told us where to get more wood (not rationed @ all - brilliant!). He told us our breakfast for the next 3 mornings was in the fridge (heaps of fresh eggs, juice, tomatoes, bread, heaps of bacon and milk). Everything has been catered for here. Such good value. We even had a little bit of excitement - one of the neighbouring properties bull came wandering into the vineyard. So we had hours of enjoyment watching him wander back and forth until the owner came and ushered him home. We had a lovely time cruising around the wineries and then coming back to a lovely fire. Highly recommend! And the lady who we spoke to at the Cellar Door was lovely. I read a review saying that they were rude, i certainly disagree. They were nothing but pleasant.

Room Tip: In my opinion, the Timbercutters cottage is the best!! And it is right away from the Cellar Door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyCorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely spot to get away, nice and cosy by the fire! Had a lovely time, booked the cheese platter however it wasnt given, however a refund given straight away. Friendly staff. Would definitely book again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kboyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My wife Deb and I stayed for one night in early May, and while we are regular Hunter Valley visitors, we had never stayed at Wollombi. What a great surprise to find Cedar Creek Cottages; exceedingly good value, peaceful, rustic and so close to all the great attractions the Hunter has to offer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Cedar Creek is located in Wollombi, quite a nice village close to Hunter Valley. It`s a small vineyard with a couple of cottages.

We stayed at the Timbercutters`s cottage, which was a quite spacious 1 bed room cabin with a fireplace. In April, it was a bit chilly though in the morning, because the cottage is made of wood and doesn`t have any insolation. The view over the vineyard is beautiful and you are in the middle of nature. It`s an ideal place for a romantic weekend.

I didn`t like the bedroom furniture and the bathroom seemed to be very old. However, that`s part of the rustic experience :-).

Regarding activities, you can do some hiking around the farm, or drive around 20, 30 minutes to visit Hunter Valley`s vineyards. All in all a very pleasant experience!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelFizz1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Cedar Creek last November for a long weekend. The location is absolutely stunning, however we had several issues with the service.
We arrived at 3 pm on the Friday, and went to pick up the keys. We were then followed up to our cottage by Lesley, who had not brought up our breakfast hamper or the bottle of wine we had requested on arrival. She then scolded us for 'driving too quickly' and not parking in our allocated spot which we had not been told about.
The next day, we had booked a wine tour with Cheers bus tours (a company recommended on their website). The bus tour manager neglected to pick us up. We called him and expressed our disappointment and went and had brunch in Wollombi. When we arrived back, we went to do a wine tasting at the chapel, and we were scolded again for calling the bus tour, because apparently we were rude the bus manager who was a very good friend of the cellar operator.
Highly unnecessary.
However, the sparkling wine is beautiful as is the property as a whole. We will not be going back for a stay though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah8973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pipccc, Owner at Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Hannah8973,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

So pleased you thought the location stunning, we love sharing the beauty of the valley with our guests. We agree the award winning vintage champagne is a fantastic drop, delighted you too enjoyed it!

I apologise you were disappointed with the service as we regularly receive outstanding reviews for our hospitality and service. We strive to have all provisions ready in cottages but occasionally we will deliver breakfast hampers when the Cellar Door closes at 5pm. Upon your arrival however, Lesley shut the Cellar Door and followed you immediately to give you your supplies and wine.

We are a small family owned vineyard and working farm with both deer and cattle. There are several 20km/h signs on the drive to your cottage, not only to ensure the safety of our pets and livestock, but also your own safety – the native wildlife is abundant and so often we have kangaroos and the like bounce out in front of cars! Signage is provided for safe parking. If our guests have not noticed, we will suggest where best to park their cars.

We provide several contacts for tour operators on our website, not only Cheers Bus service. It is disappointing to hear that you missed your tour. As explained at the Cellar Door, we ask our guests and Tour operators to speak directly to each other to avoid confusion.

We wish to make our guests’ stays as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, and take pride in our service and hospitality.

Warmest regards,
Daryl & Phillipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Absolutely loved our stay! My partner and I had the Timbercutters cottage which is separate to the others. It was cosy and had all the necessities we needed. The breakfast basket was put together so well and made making brekky more memorable. The view of the vineyard was gorgeous and my girlfriend and I enjoyed laying on a blanket on the grass drinking some of the wine from the fridge. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorjess86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Creek
11.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
12.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.8 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
144 reviews
10.6 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine

Property: Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine
Address: 1840 Wollombi Rd, Cedar Creek, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cedar Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 550 acres in the Wollombi area of the Hunter Valley, NSW. The cottages have wonderful views overlooking our vineyards and the valley beyond. Wood-fires, spa-baths, air-conditioning, privacy assured. Self-contained with kitchen and wood BBQ. Tariff includes country breakfast hamper, port and chocolates and midday checkout. Great location and hospitality. Relax on the verandah with a glass of our organic Stonehurst Wine and enjoy the wonderful birdlife, animals and night skies! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Creek Cottages & Wine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing