We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”

The Hostelrie at Goodrich Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Goodrich
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Hostelrie at Goodrich is a country inn with rooms, a restaurant and bar. The 18th century gothic style building is situated in the pretty village of Goodrich, which is in the stunning Wye Valley close to the edge of the beautiful Forest of Dean surrounded by many historic market towns such as Ross on Wye and Monmouth the gateway to Wales. The Hosterlrie is family owned and run by the Landlord Ayrton. We want to make your experience with us memorable by providing a warm, friendly atmosphere along with great food, a fine selection of local ales and good wines.We look forward to welcoming you at the Hostelrie. Ayrton Lowther
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This place is very popular with the locals so we would suggest booking a table in advance. We had a side table until one became available. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Marguerite773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2016

We had dinner and breakfast here, all cooked extremely well and served by friendly staff. The prices were reasonable too.

Good pub food consistently well cooked.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank LFatHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We visited this pub/restaurant twice with our friends during a recent long break at a nearby B & B. We made sure that we pre-booked as we have eaten here previously on a few occasions. We were certainly not disappointed - the food was excellent, all local produce and freshly prepared as ordered with a good choice of beer and wine. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient. We look forward to our return next year.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Enjoyable stay ticked all the boxes great welcome good food comfy bed and would recommend it to friends and family

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank broado95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

A lovely looking restaurant with an interesting menu and a friendly manager. However, this is meant to be a review about the food. We were happy to wait for the 40 minutes between order and service since we knew things were being cooked to order. My wife's rack of lamb (3 small very pink chops) and vegetables were cold. My duck (which looked lovely) and vegetables were also cold. When we asked to speak to the manager he offered to take the plates back to the kitchen. My wife declined but I accepted. Minutes later he was back. The vegetables beneath the duck were now hot but the duck was still cold. The manager offered us an alternative dish from the menu or a free dessert but by this time we had both lost our appetite. With prices close to the £20 mark per dish you might expect hot food the first time of asking.
At the second time.....We left. Ironically, we had saved this restaurant as a treat for the last night of our holiday. A friend of the landlord, who confronted us with folded arms and death-lock eyeballing said to us, "You won't find any better." We walked back to our rented cottage doubly disappointed; for ourselves and for the people of Herefordshire.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hostelrie at Goodrich Restaurant also viewed

Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Hostelrie at Goodrich Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing