We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house, lovely welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, lovely welcome”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A lovely warm and friendly atmosphere to spend a weekend in. The welcoming drinks and lovely cake from Jayne were just the start of a relaxing weekend. A wealth of local knowledge from the owners and their wide variety of guides, leaflets and books provided plenty of inspiration for things to do. The house was charming and although close to the A40, traffic noise could not be heard especially with the traditional window shutters. The room was well sized with a bath also squeezed into the cottage like bathroom. A wonderful house in a beautiful part of the country. Great variety and quality of breakfast (I could not finish the pancakes, yummy as they were). A great weekend of escape :)

Room Tip: The Doward room had a lovely four poster bed but did over look the A40, still a great spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
169
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Fantastic location, 5 mins drive from Symonds Yat, 20 mins from Monmouth.
Characterful old farmhouse building
High quality breakfast
Genuine warmth and hospitality from the owners
Dog friendly as well

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexthorpe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a lovely warm welcome at Norton House with homemade cakes and drinks on arrival. Bill & Jayne are the perfect host and hostess and are a mine of information on the surrounding area providing leaflets, books and maps on places of interest whether for walking or driving.
The house is in an excellent location and is spotlessly clean. The bedroom and bathroom had all the extras and more that are expected in a first class hotel. The breakfasts are excellent and set one up for the day.
Bill & Jayne cannot do enough for their guests and nothing is to much trouble. If we are ever visiting the area again we would certainl;y stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NortonHouse, Manager at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thanks for taking time to post a review, the weather was so kind, you were able to enjoy the Wye Valley at its very best. All the best.
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We spent 2 nights at Norton House and were totally happy with our stay. We were just on a short break to explore the area and found the location very convenient, the accomodation clean and extremely comfortable and the welcome and friendliness of the hosts faultless.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed some great weather, look forward to welcoming you again soon. All the best.

Bill& Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

A very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our hosts made us feel at home and went out of their way to advise us on walks and places of interest, even providing maps where appropriate. The breakfasts were superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NortonHouse, Manager at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
With summer finally arriving I am glad you enjoyed your time with us here in the Wye valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Jayne has won a national award for friendliest landlady and it is easy to see why. The second thing we noticed about Norton House – the first being the friendly welcome with Victoria sponge cake and tea - was that although at any one time there were up to a total of 10 guests, a dog and family members going about their business in the rambling Georgian house, to us it felt absolutely private and personal while Jayne and Bill beavered away indefatigably behind the scenes.

We stayed in the 4 poster room which was equipped with superior toiletries, fruit, fresh flowers, bottled water, mint chocs and cookies along with tea and coffee all of which were replenished on a daily basis, as well as a radio which I found particularly welcome. We also had access to 2 guest lounges with home made cakes and a wealth of local tourist info. As for the dining room, I quickly became a convert to Dorset Cereals – the full range was on offer for breakfast – and the communal dining table quickly encouraged the wide variety of guests to linger beyond coffee and break the ice with the help of our hosts, who were full of smiles and useful information of all kinds.

Ample off road parking was available at the front of the house while at the back we could explore the pretty garden. Whitchurch Village with its Old Court Hotel, open for gourmet evening meals in the company of robust local farmers, was accessible on foot, while the nearest beauty spot is Symonds Yat, from which we joined a river cruise. Further afield we revisited much loved towns, Ross on Wye, Hay on Wye, Ledbury, Monmouth and Hereford. The most surprising day out was a trip to beautiful Hellens House at Much Marcle, a rambling Jacobean gem complete with knot garden now owned by a charitable trust, where we were taken on a knowledgeable tour by one of the incumbents and invited to sink into the plush settees while she revealed details about hauntings and royal visitors, afterwards serving tea and cakes with free top ups. Despite the constant rain, our 5 nights in Whitchurch added up to a memorable holiday for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovannaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
We really enjoyed your company and are glad you decided to stay at Norton House, we are also thankful for your new discoveries in the area and are advising new guests of even more places to visit. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
All the best.
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We throughly enjoyed our stay and recommend Norton House.
Bill and Jayne were delightful hosts and we hope to revisit sometime.
The main road was the only reason for not giving an excellent mark for every sub category.
The noise was eradicated by properly using the window shutters, which were pointed out to us but we forgot to use on night one!
Whitchurch seems to be split by the (dual carriageway) road, and we found ourselves on the wrong side looking for Norton House. It might be best to check the precise location before visiting. My wife says Bill cooks the best boiled egg she has ever had. I suspect the chicken also had something to do with it. Hope this is helpful Tim & Jackie

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Norton House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I am sure the chicken has a lot more to do with the eggs than I do, but I will keep on cooking them the best I can. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
3.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
514 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
789 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown at Whitchurch
The Crown at Whitchurch
#2 of 2 in Whitchurch
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Bed & Breakfast Whitchurch, Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing