We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful Welcome”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

First class! Excellent value. Delicious breakfasts. Characterful, comfortable and stylish rooms. Jayne and Bill are charming, welcoming, and enthusiastic hosts. If you need local information, ask either.Do try Bill's cakes!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
176
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Bill & Jayne were the perfect hosts making us very welcome from arrival to departure. An excellent choice of breakfast which was superbly cooked and was sufficient to get you through the day.
Freshly baked cake and tea on arrival were most welcoming.
Norton House whilst being a very old building is very well maintained and is an ideal location for general sightseeing in the beautiful Wye Valley area.
We will certainly visit Norton House again and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Whilst there was no noise in the guest house a back room would be preferable due to some noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We took the train from London to Gloucester in 2 hours, collected a car and within 30 - 45 mins drive, through beautiful countryside, we were in Whitchurch. Jayne greeted us very warmly, as did her husband, and showed us to our cottage anex, up a few steps to the right of the main B&B building. We were pleased to find a good sized double bedroom, bathroom with a bath, not just a shower, and a very large sitting, dining, kitchen room, with a beamed roof and access to a small but picturesque, private garden with table and seats. Jayne had also stocked the fridge with fresh milk, bacon, sausages and eggs, along with bread and cakes, which was most welcome, and a lovely touch. So, from an accommodation point of view, for us, with our year old daughter, it was perfect, as we could move the sitting room table and have a nice area for our daughter to play safely in space. The flexibility also meant we could change the bedroom to fit our needs for the three of us to sleep, with the help of a camp bed, which was provided. A travel cot might be one request I could make of the Norton, but it didn't ultimately make any difference to our stay. We would happily have stayed longer, if we had the holiday time free.
I should add, just to be fair to those that it might bother, the Norton does sit within ear reach of the A40, but it is shielded from view by many trees and the houses across the road, and the scenery in every direction is simply beautiful. The A40 actually makes life there very easy, as you can get to Ross in 10 mins one way and Monmouth in 5 mins the other, and both are well worth a visit, should you need any shopping, beyond the scope of the very excellent local village shop. Local sights that are a must, Symonds Yat ferry, Tintern Abbey and just about everything else. I am from Gloucestershire though, so I am biased! :-)
We would highly recommend the Norton House B&B and hope to stay there again before too long.
p.s. the mess in the pictures is ours...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandrakeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had the perfect weekend stay with Jayne & Bill.

Location:
The Norton is great for Symonds Yat, Monmouth, Ross-on-Wye and the surrounding areas. It is set in a secluded part of Whitchurch, so it's lovely and undisturbed. There is some road noise but this didn't bother us at all. Perfect walking distance to 'The Old Court' for excellent food in a fabulous setting.

Accommodation:
A lovely house with garden, well equipped and beautiful rooms. There was lovely little extras like a bottle of water, fruit and and a little chocolate, as well as great tea making facilities. The fan was welcome in the room as it was a hot weekend. Spotlessly clean and well cared for.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was amazing, we had smoked haddock and poached egg that was perfectly done. The second day was the Aga cooked full english, unbelievable sausages. I even got a share of the american buttermilk pancakes as another guest couldn't finish them, they were amazing, those 5 years in the USA for Jayne & Bill paid off with them.

Hosts:
Jayne and Bill were friendly, attentive (when needed) and interesting people, it was a joy to meet them. The welcome we received when we arrived with Tea and Chocolate Brownies couldn't have made a better start, with all our questions answered.

Thanks Jayne & Bill, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The house was lovely and the host.....Jane and Bill, were both friendly and made us feel very welcome, even providing Bills superb Lemon drizzle cake on our arrival. Superb house and I even had tears in my eyes when I entered our bedroom because it was so lovely. I felt like I'd stepped into a Jane Austin novel, the four poster bed was very comfortable...brilliant breakfast...can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The four poster room is great...it's like stepping back in time and so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susyque99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a lovely one night stay before a canoe trip. The bedroom was beautiful with lots of thoughtful extras to make it feel like a home from home. Breakfast was great, excellent choice and quality, no cheap cereals, and delishious home cooked blueberry pancakes. Would definitely recommend this b&b to anyone wanting to stay in this gorgeous part of the country.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked this B&B to stay for the 11th and 12th July prior to our daughters' wedding being held in Monmouth on the weekend of July 12th. We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome from Bill who had tea and chocolate brownies waiting. Delicious. Our rooms were more than adequately sized as they needed to be where the hairdresser and makeup lady adorned 5 bridesmaids, bride and brides mother,.
The breakfasts were all that we had previously read about on earlier reviews, the bacon is very very tasty and cooked to taste as bacon should be. The pancakes were fantastic according to my son in law, so good that my wife decided to have them on the Sunday morning along with the croissant filled salmon and egg.
The whole weekend stay was made a pleasure with the relaxed easy going but very professional attitude of Bill and Jayne. Nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who would like to visit the area. And, Archie is a very loveable friendly dog, we all loved him.
Thank you once again Bill and Jane for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHS1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
0.3 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown at Whitchurch
The Crown at Whitchurch
#2 of 2 in Whitchurch
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Norton House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Norton House Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda and David offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Norton House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Bed & Breakfast Whitchurch, Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing