We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop”
Review of The Crown at Whitchurch - CLOSED

The Crown at Whitchurch
Price range: US$13 - US$18
Description: UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT as of 14/02/2017 Everyone is welcome to come visit us for drinks or food. We have done some renovation to the inside of the pub and in the near future we willl be refurbishing other areas of the crown. Our accommodation will be reopen in march as we have some ongoing work in them at the moment. Please do check Out our Facebook page for all the latest information
Restaurant details
Description: UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT as of 14/02/2017 Everyone is welcome to come visit us for drinks or food. We have done some renovation to the inside of the pub and in the near future we willl be refurbishing other areas of the crown. Our accommodation will be reopen in march as we have some ongoing work in them at the moment. Please do check Out our Facebook page for all the latest information
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Nice bar. good selection of drinks received with a smile as walked in quick service. Didn't eat or see anyone else to comment on food but prices seemed pretty standard for the area.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Butch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thanks for this review - its great to have feedback on the service and the smiles :) !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016

Quirky and fun Inn, with easy access off the A40.
I was travelling with my dog, and stayed for two nights.
Excellent staff, and friendly service. Very clean, and good facilities – lots of coffee and teas, although it would be nice to have bottled water. I had to ask for a hairdryer, and one was produced quickly. Bar used by locals, so chance to chat – no need to feel alone if travelling solo.
Breakfast was good, and plenty of choice.
BONUS INFO:*** The road (A40) noise continues through the night – and the windows are single-paned so don't do much to lessen the sound. If, like me, you're used to only country (as opposed to town or city) sounds, then you may need ear plugs to ensure a good night's sleep. I mentioned the traffic noise to the owners, and they understood the problem, and were very professional in the way they handled it. Excellent customer service. Well done, and thanks!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ffion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We appreciate your comment about the bottled water and you will be pleased to hear they now are in each room - thank you.
Also appreciate your comments about the noise. We have six rooms - 3 which face the road and all have double glazing. 2 which face the garden and have the original windows and a further one facing the courtyard with double glazing.
Its a double edged sword! I love the traditional but totally understand it may not be for everyone.
The team love your comments about customer service.
We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Stayed in Symonds Yat and decided to try the Crown. We arrived for an evening meal and was greeted by a friendly young lady, we ate in the sun in the nice rear garden, had coffee in bar on a comfy settee. Meal was lovely and good value. Waitress was on her own but nothing was too much trouble even with us eating in garden, a long walk for her!

We would certainly return again when in the area.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leisurewalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

HI. thanks for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit. Ive passed on your comments to our waitress and chef - beaming smiles all round!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Good menu, good prices, good service in a nice bright pub resturant. we enjoyed a very nice evening, thank you

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Hi and thank you for taking the time to place a review.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit - and we hope to see you again

regards Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Travelling back from Wales we stopped off for a late lunch -attracted by the look of this place. Very pleasant garden where our two dogs lay in the shade as it was a very hot day. Friendly staff, highly recommend the sharing seafood platter which was so fresh tasting and delicious and really hit the spot!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nuala57535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Owner at The Crown at Whitchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Hi and thanks for taking the time to review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit - we too have 2 dogs and they love the garden - shade and sun available depending on your needs!
We hope next time you journey along the A40 you call in.
Regards Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown at Whitchurch also viewed

Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
 
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing