We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm welcome and good food”
Review of The Mill Race

The Mill Race
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Walford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about the freshest of produce and food, wine and fine ales - nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We went for an early dinner midweek in the school holidays. The team were incredibly welcoming and accommodating; from Pork Belly to Lamb Shank and Fish Grill we all enjoyed our meals and the one small hiccough with our order was rectified quickly and with minimal fuss. Thanks for looking after us and our smaller diners.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Kate_touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2016

We'd not planned for anything other than to find a nice pub as we were nearby to pick up a trailer load of lawn tractor spares we bought on eBay! We'd just had time to Google it before we left and weren't really expecting anything when we wandered in wearing our scruffies. It became clear that this place was more than a bog standard pub, though, and we wouldn't have been surprised to have been asked to leave given our state of dress but no, we were made to feel really welcome and they found a table for us despite the dining room filling up quickly.

Food was really excellent, (prawn and crayfish linguine and a mixed fish grill), great beer from Wye Valley and really friendly couple running it. We could see right into the kitchen and I noticed the chef was relaxed and seemed genuinely interested in making the dishes as good as he could get them - always a good sign!

Seemed a shame to leave but we had to get home with the mower spares! Will definitely call back in next time we're passing as there's a whole lot more on that menu we want to try.

Fab, thanks!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oldlongdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We were a party of nine from a company that has used the Mill Race many times over the years. Everyone enjoyed the starters and we had all ordered steak which apart from variants in how each person wanted it cooked it was an easy order. Steaks were OK however one party member waited ages for his and it was clear they had forgotten his order. When it eventually came out it was nearly raw and had a lot of gristle in it so was sent back. The other steaks were OK but not the standard they used to be before the new management took over. All ordered desserts and one member of the party waited so long the rest of the party had to start theirs and by the time the last dessert, which was only a take on Eton Mess, came out everyone else had finished. The Eton Mess was disappointing - basically a shop bought meringue in the middle of the plate surrounded by a few strawberries and cream - hardly warranting the long wait. In all a disappointing experience and as a business we will no longer be using this establishment.

Date of visit: August 2016
6  Thank Kerris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

On a recent Saturday I phoned the Mill Race to book a table at 6.30 for a family dinner with young children the following day.
I was told no need to book and it was a pizza night which was ideal
We arrived at 6.30 and on checking at the bar what pizzas were available we were told there only had two pizzas left and no other food available.
No apologies or explanation just casual offhand remarks.
Luckily we hadn't gone by taxi as we had planned.

Date of visit: July 2016
6  Thank HelenGloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougclaire, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear Helen,

We take your review very seriously and are disappointed that you experience at The Mill Race was so poor. Our policy, as is probably the policy of most busy pubs, is to definitely take bookings. In fact we encourage bookings and are in the process of installing a booking system. On the Sunday a very experienced hospitality manager was on duty. This manager was on probation and had joined a short while before and on such was on trial. It would appear that this same duty manager answered your reservation call on the Saturday and told you that a booking was not required. This was incorrect and we apologise.

We generally, depending on the Sunday of the month prepare anywhere between 30 and 45 fresh pizza bases. On this specific Sunday we had a run on a pizzas, received many take away orders and were sold out. The same duty manager was incorrect when you were informed that there was no other food available. This is purely contrary to our ethos and culture we have at The Mill Race. Our entire team strives to always Improve on Customer Experiences. Our whole team, both Front of House and the kitchen have bought into our ICE campaign. If your reservation had been taken the duty manager could have contacted you to inform you that we had sold out of pizza. ( We have since created a back up of fresh bases that we have frozen down to cover for extra busy days - or though even this is not ideal.)
The duty manager, who was on probation, is no longer in our employ.

We are serious about giving you a new entirely different Sunday evening experience and invite you to contact Claire or Doug on generalmanager@millrace.info or to call The Mill Race and ask for one of us. We ave a plan that should delight your clan!

Our Sunday evenings have benefited from your review and our intervention and the numbers of happy faces have grown weekly.

We appreciate the time that you took to write this review and to bring this severe shortcoming to our attention. It is now three weeks since you visited us and we believe we have now created a far better Sunday evening pizza solution and that your next experience will be very different. We look forward you making contact with us.

Kind regards

Doug & Claire



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

That was our 2nd time at the Mill Race and weren't disappointed! The decor inside is lovely and if it is sunny enough, you can enjoy the terrace as well.
The food is lovely and everything is sourced locally. The only thing which wasn't 100% perfect was the service but I'm sure it was just a bad day for some of the waiters!! I still would recommend it!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 75laurentbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougclaire, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear Laurent,

Thank you for your visit and the time taken to do a review. We so appreciate positive criticism and assure you that we have been hard at work striving to offer better service and improving our all round standards.

Our kitchen has been hard at work using the wonderful local and fresh produce that surrounds The Mill Race.

We look forward to your next visit and will make every attempt to delight you with our service.

Warm regards

Doug and Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill Race also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Mill Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing