We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Web description - read with very large pinch of salt!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Potter's Inn - Mytchett Surrey
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Potters Inn website promises: "17 stunning double and twin en-suite rooms", and showed attractive photos of a canal side location but don’t be fooled people! I stayed here last evening in a deluxe double room together with 3 colleagues who had their own respective rooms. When we tried to check in we were kept waiting whilst they served bar customers and when they did eventually notice my colleague and I they didn’t even bother to greet us. The staff had a complete lack of people skills, were unfriendly and utterly unhelpful. I was told my room was in a separate building 1 mile down the road from the rest of the party as I had asked for a bath!

I wanted to stay with my colleagues and the room I was then allocated was situated onsite in a separate block away from the main ‘canal side building’ which is actually just a pub. The only ‘view’ was of the pub car park to the front of the accommodation or a row of trees partially screening you from the road outside at the back. Alas the trees were inadequate when it came to screening you from the noise of souped up little boy racers at all hours of the night and also the sight of people conducting nefarious ‘activities’ in their cars on a pull up area of the kerb opposite the hotel. The path is obviously not just for dog walkers. We also had to contend with a group of contractors on the ground floor partying until 2am and playing ‘skittles’ in the car park. This game was conducted from their room where they had propped the bedroom door open and were throwing crushed beer cans about from the inside out onto the car park area. Polite requests to quieten down were met by a barrage of abuse.

The bathroom was tiny with no storage space or shelf to put anything on. The shower cubicle was so small it was difficult to actually move your arms to wash and lather yourself. At least mine was just mouldy and tatty and I wasn’t confronted by the sight of insect wildlife coming up from the plughole the following morning like my colleague was! (Photos available.) The kettle was taller than the bathroom hand basin so you had to fill your kettle using a mug. The water in the hand basin was the colour of pale urine - totally unappetising!

All the furniture and fittings were tired, shabby and dated. The walls were scratched, dented and the skirting boards were very dusty with marks on which closely resembled encrusted faeces! I didn’t bother exploring more closely! The "wardrobe" was a cubby hole beneath a sloping ceiling with no door on it and the window blinds were made of flimsy paper and didn't block out the bright lights outside the room at night. The double bed consisted of two very basic mattresses which were supposed to zip together but this hadn't been done meaning that there was a gap in the middle. The bed was uncomfortable and lumpy.

The website massively oversells the place and has obviously been worded with a great deal of artistic license! On no account be taken in by the words "stunning" or "deluxe" - instead read "dirty" and "tatty". The place is exceedingly basic and is barely one up from a glorified truck stop. I cannot imagine how it has come to exist in what seems to be a respectable suburb of Camberley.

Nothing would induce me or my colleagues to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tigerbella1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here with work colleagues - Big mistake! very loud road noise rooms smell of damp and are not very clean, I didn't get any sleep as the people in the room below were swearing and drinking till the early hours, didn't risk eating at the place would not recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clubber1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday evening whilst meeting up with relatives in Guildford. Important to remember with all reviews, the cost of the room compared to others in the area. Our other relatives were staying at the Holiday Inn in Guildford at a cost of £154 per night, we stayed here at a cost of £164 for 3 rooms. Rooms were basic but more than adequate for one night and our meal at the adjoining pub was good value for money as well. Would recommend for a stopover.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creepycrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Have just stayed here for one night after visiting Basingstoke,rooms are very clean and staff very friendly.It is a quiet area but has lovely view from the pub to the canal.We eat in the restaurant which was very nice.Would return to stay here for a stop over.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Situated in quite a reasonable position. Rooms quite small and basic although clean, ensuite consisted of shower, loo and wash basin Twin beds very small and uncomfortable, glad we were only stopping for one night and moving to a premiere inn for the next 3 nights. Had dinner in the pub which was situated in the grounds, food poor and portions small, we all agreed that the manager on duty was most unfriendly and she appeared to lack people skills. Won't be back in a hurry

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed one night whilst attending the Darts at Lakeside.
Upon arrival we found a very large car park and registered in the large restaurant/bar on site.
The room, number 110, was easily located on the first floor of the lodge block, just across the car park from the bar.
The room was light, airy and spacious. Facilities included a trouser press, alarm clock, hanging space(with hangers), drawers, small flat screen tv and tea making facilities, good quality tea bags!!
The shower room was small but the shower worked well. The sink was small and one of the taps was a bit 'floppy'.
The bed looked big... turned out to be two singles put together... bedding was very clean and warm. The slope of the roof meant sleeping on the right side of the bed was a bit dangerous when negotiating a night time visit to the facilities!! There was noise from the road, but this did not bother us unduly.
Overall the room was very clean and worth the £60 paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevertoolate_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Potters Inn website promised: "17 stunning double and twin ensuite rooms", and showed attractive photos of a canalside location. We booked into a "deluxe double", for which we were charged £60 per night. We were in a room in a separate block away from the main canalside building and therefore had car park views. Please don't be taken in by the words "stunning" or "deluxe". Instead read "basic" and "adequate" (for a short stay anyway). The bathroom was tiny, with no storage space, the fittings were tired and dated. The "wardrobe" was a cubby hole beneath a sloping ceiling with no door on it and the window blinds were made from paper and didn't block out the bright lights outside the room at night. The double bed consisted of two mattresses which were supposed to zip together but this hadn't been done meaning that there was a gap in the middle. It was fine for 3 nights in that we had facilities to wash, somewhere to sleep and a place to put things, but the website massively oversells the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Potter's Inn - Mytchett Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potter's Inn - Mytchett Surrey

Address: Mytchett Place Road, Mytchett GU16 6DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Mytchett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mytchett
Price Range: £59 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Potter's Inn - Mytchett Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potter's Inn - Mytchett Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing