We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a detour!”

Chateau de Vendeuvre
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a detour!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This castle has a very nice "garden of surprises" (I won't tell, as it is a surprise...).
It also has an exhibit of miniatures. we were very surprised to see that the miniatures are, in fact, antiques, even from the XVIIth century (!). They are so well crafted, so perfect, you wonder who could have made them. It's a huge collection that the owners of the castle collected during 200 years.
really worth visiting!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maurow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    15
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Interesting objects and nice garden”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Chateau has three types of visit. We took the complete one that includes the interesting miniature collection, the castle, the kitchen and the garden (about 9 euros). The miniature collection makes you wonder how some pieces were made. The castle is interesting but it could use some simple maintenance, like the rearranging of the crooked candles. The automatons are cute, and you can find one in each room you visit (only the ground floor -- a dining room, two bedrooms, and two sitting rooms). The kitchen was interesting with several interesting cookery devices. The gardens were very nice, especially the garden of the surprise waters. The Chinese bridge, though, could also use some maintenance. May nice shady trees, lakes, and creek run around the property. We just didn't appreciate the caged birds. They seemed miserable and sick! :(

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Gardens have seen better days!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We visited this Chateau to view the gardens rather than to see the building itself. The gardens were interesting in that they incorporated some clever interactive water features and much topiary. However, the gardens were only in an average state of upkeep and quite overgrown, particularly around the chinese bridge. Many of the interactive installations were in very poor condition through wood rot and rust. We were there in September and there was minimal colour in the gardens but this could be different at other times of the year.

Disappointingly, we thought we were buying tickets to see all the garden spaces - as shown in the brochure which we had to pay an extra 2 euro for - not so! As we walked around, all the more interesting parts were roped off and had "Prive" signs to keep people out. We did not feel we got our money's worth for visiting the gardens only.

If your interests are mainly to do with the gardens you need to be aware of these issues and plan accordingly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Great place to visit.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Beautiful chateau in the heart of an amazing garden. We have spent over 4 hours here. We have started with visiting the garden. The front area is set up as french garden with typical geometrical arrangement. The exciting part of the tour starts in the English garden set up with a beutiful landscape. The garden is full of small bulidings, scuptures and fountains. You never know from which direction a hidden fountain will sprinkle you. Exotic birds, animals etc. The chateu is just the icing on top of the cake. Worth to visit...I recommend for all!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Budapest_HungaryGeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Summer delight”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My second visit to the Chateau and the gardens were as always a true delight. It was a hot day but walking through the surprise garden was fun and we laughed as the water features delighted and tricked us over and over again. A lovely little chateau worth seeing especially for the gardens.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bimme_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Vendeuvre also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Vendeuvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing