We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Winery Douraki

Winery Douraki
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Alikampos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dourakis Winery is an award winning boutique winery located at Alikambos,Chania on the island of Crete since 1988. Enjoy a wonderful drive on the Chania- Rethymno highway that run along the north coast of Crete. Leaving Chania behind you will turn right towards Vrisses which is located 32 km's before Rethymno.The stone winery is open year round to visitors who wish to enjoy a tour of its facilities, as well as a full tasting of all the wines. There is also an Art Gallery plus a beautiful museum for you to enjoy!Please make sure that you book your wine tour via email!Looking forward to meeting you all!
Volos, Greece
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Excelent facility, authentic Greek hospitality, fantastic landscape, and the wines....
In 2 words, Dourakis inery is a "must see" destination.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TSyros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    16
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The winery, the wine, the win!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Always the best experience visiting Dourakis Winery! Effortless joy, absolute escape for all the senses, breathtaking location, incredibly tasty wine! A must do visit while in Chania! Don' t miss it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vassilis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My girlfriend and I visited in early August this year, and we cannot recommend the winery highly enough. The grounds are beautiful (the wine tasting occurs outside under a grape vine ceiling), the food (we opted for the light lunch) is great, the wine is excellent, and the staff (Adonis lead us on a tour and Evie handled our wine tasting) were exceptionally friendly and hospitable.

If you're in the area and have the means to get there (we rented a car), I'd definitely pay the winery a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank jdaaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDouR, Ιδιοκτήτης at Winery Douraki, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank u so much for paying a visit and for this beautiful review!Please visit us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best cretan wine”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I visited Dourakis Winery this summer. I was welcomed by Antonis, the son of the owner. He is a very nice guy, young but dynamic and with a lot of experience. He showed us all the winery and the beautiful cellar built in the rocks, where they store their barrels. Now he is the oenolog: after having studied oenology in Italy and Europe he came back to his country and started helping the father in wine making.
He let us taste all the regional wines they produce (as I'm an addicted of regional wines and I myself work in a winery), and I must say the young Antonis has fantastic skills in wine making. All the wines were soooo god. I would advise everyone to visit this winery because it's located in a charming quite place. The visit it's a good opportunity to do something different during your holiday and to taste unique wines. Go and visit Antonis and see how huge the passion of winemaking could be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank valeematte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDouR, Ιδιοκτήτης at Winery Douraki, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank u so much for this kind review!! Looking forward to seeing you at the winery soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“worth the windy mountain road”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

we wanted to visit a winery while in crete, and this was our first choice because it is so close to chania and it had good review. the vinyard is a small family owned business, we tasted a rather large selection of wines, and bought a lot too! we just showed up, and were recieved with open arms. the setting is lovely, with traditional clothes and farming implemants on display. the experience was very relaxing and informative. a definite MUST!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank zelda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDouR, Manager at Winery Douraki, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review!Whenever u r back in Crete,please come and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winery Douraki also viewed

Vatolakkos, Chania Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Winery Douraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing