We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!!!”
Review of Winery Dourakis

Winery Dourakis
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Alikampos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dourakis Winery is an award winning boutique winery located at Alikambos,Chania on the island of Crete since 1988. Enjoy a wonderful drive on the Chania- Rethymno highway that run along the north coast of Crete. Leaving Chania behind you will turn right towards Vrisses which is located 32 km's before Rethymno.The stone winery is open year round to visitors who wish to enjoy a tour of its facilities, as well as a full tasting of all the wines. There is also an Art Gallery plus a beautiful museum for you to enjoy!Looking forward to meeting you all! All tours & tastings need to be pre-booked. Serving minors under 18 is prohibited by law.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a gem!!!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A precious and intimate introduction to Cretan viniculture, everything about our tasting experience for these award-winning wines was first rate! From our tour with the extremely knowledgeable Adonis, who painted for us a vivid picture of how their wines are lovingly nurtured and developed, to our tasting of the sophisticated flavours in an incredible setting that are the fruits of their labours, we look forward to sharing the 3 bottles we purchased back home with our friends and family, so that we can proudly introduce them to something so special. A feast for the senses in every way!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Val_and_Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDouR, Διευθυντής at Winery Dourakis, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank u so much for this beatiful review !
The team of Dourakis Winery trully appreciated it!
Looking forward to seeing you at the winery soon!
With my warmest regards
Evie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    19
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great first experience into Greek wines”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Even if you are not into wines very much, travelling in Crete should include a visit at winery. Dourakis winery took us with half hour prior notice (although for your own good i suggest to contact earlier if you would like to get more out of it - we wanted just a short overview). We were introduced to some of the most popular wines representing the variety one small winery can make (fabulous!) + we got a short visit through the winery and wine making process. The prices of Dourakis wines are very OK so be ready to bring some home. ;)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elina_from_Latvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDouR, Ιδιοκτήτης at Winery Dourakis, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
Thank u so much for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wine tourism in Crete”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you are into wine tasting and wine tourism, Dourakis Winery should be definitely one of your stops during your trip. Nice people, Cretan hospitality and of course very good wine! Ask for the Malvasia Aromatica wine. It's simply awesome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CHQer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDouR, Owner at Winery Dourakis, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Many thanks for this kind review!!!when on Crete,we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Excelent facility, authentic Greek hospitality, fantastic landscape, and the wines....
In 2 words, Dourakis inery is a "must see" destination.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TSyros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The winery, the wine, the win!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Always the best experience visiting Dourakis Winery! Effortless joy, absolute escape for all the senses, breathtaking location, incredibly tasty wine! A must do visit while in Chania! Don' t miss it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vassilis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winery Dourakis also viewed

Vatolakkos, Chania Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Kounavi, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Winery Dourakis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing