We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub and nice room to stay”

The Swan Inn Woolpit
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Woolpit
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely pub and nice room to stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at the swan inn on friday&saturday night 5&6 of July 2013,for a wedding at haughley park barn,lovely village,nice pub,we arrived Friday about 6pm,nice room to stay,we ate in the pub, menu all around on the walls,good choice,we both had the burger,it was nice,then what can I say about the full English breakfast,it was probably the nicest we have had,piping hot,both days we had breakfast in the lovely garden,we would definately recommend this for a nice meal and a place to stay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yasfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    46
    13
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Where do I start; ok, the pub is quirky with the blackboard menus...the décor was dark, depressing and draining...the meal was like cardboard and paper and all I had was the burger and trimmings! The only nice thing about the food was the Coleslaw. Hubby had Chicken in Red Wine Sauce (Red! it was dark brown!!) and went downhill from there. Will never go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mariafrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woolpitswan, Owner at The Swan Inn Woolpit, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal with us. As you have been staying with our good friends at Drinkstone Park you will know that they always recommend us and eat with us a great deal. Did you mention your disapointement to our staff? I hope so because, given your experience was so dreadful, we ceratinly wouldn't have charged you. Chicken cooked slowly in red wine - much like Coq Au vin- goes brown. If it doesn't then there is something terribly spooky about the meal. We always say that whenever customers have a problem they should quickly say so and we will do everything in our power to help them have an enjoyable evening. Spiteful and vindictive "bad" reviews help no-one, especially if they are not constructive. They call into question the judgement of all our lovely customers who like and understand good food. So a big thank you from all of us here at The Swan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome and fabulous food”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We traveled from Clevedon in Somerset, a long journey and ended up, by chance, hungry and thirsty in Woolpit.

The Swan Inn ticks all the boxes, food, drink, and ambience.

If we ever back that way we will certainly want to go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really excellent, one of the best pubs in the area”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Every aspect of our lunch was fantastic- they have got the country decor spot on and the food, service and atmosphere were all great- would definitely recommend and we'll be going again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marmiteandmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Nice Evening”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Lovely food, good service. Could do with a bit of a refresh, especially the toilets. Overall we enjoyed a pleasant evening meal. The pub is situated in a beautiful village with a stunning church which is well worth a visit in its own right.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn Woolpit also viewed

Woolpit, Bury St Edmunds
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St Edmunds
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Beyton, Bury St Edmunds
 

Been to The Swan Inn Woolpit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing