We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome to Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Campagne Berne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pierrerue
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Campagne Berne
Ranked #1 of 3 Pierrerue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great welcome to Provence”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our start to an InnTravel break of 6 nights - a great beginning, made so welcome, and the site does the rest. Great contrast to Lille where we had spent the previous night (travelling by train). Nights so quiet. Food great - breakfast in the garden an extra delight.

Room Tip: 4 rooms, 2 different sizes, upstairs with a balcony, down with more or less level access, has a terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Bruno D, Propriétaire at La Campagne Berne, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you both, thank you Nic, your compliments, which always affect us all.
You could enjoy more of a good weather for hiking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrived here on a Inn Travel walking holiday and we had booked an extra night to recover from the long journey by trains from Suffolk. We were not disappointed. The 360 degree views are lovely and the large garden was a relaxing place for "après randonee". Our room was nice and bright with a large private terrace, which was lovely for finishing off that bottle of wine under the many stars. (it was also handy to dry hand washed clothes out of sight). I cannot say enough good things about our hosts, Eric and Bruno. The wonderful dinners cooked by Bruno were something to look forward to after a long day's walking. They make some wonderful aperitifs and digestives too! We had 3 dinners there, which varied in the number of courses from 2 - 4, all equally delicious. Eric entertained us with colourful stories, both in French and English (or "Franglais" as he called it). He executed his Front of House position with great flair and warmth. We were truly sorry to leave and felt like saying goodbye to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misswaldingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Bruno D, Propriétaire at La Campagne Berne, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about our (your home).
We had a great time with you and look forward to seeing you again at the Campagne Berne.
Cordially.
Bruno & Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights after being washed away from a camping nearby, so we ended up here sort of 'by accident'. But we will surely come back, on purpose.
Because of the spectacular view on the land of Haute Provence, the beautiful house, the lovely and very professional owners, the dream garden and for the food which we didn't get to try this time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniesdreamboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Bruno D, Propriétaire at La Campagne Berne, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about our (your home).
We had a great time with you and look forward to seeing you again at the Campagne Berne.
Cordially.
Bruno & Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June for 4 nights - booked by Inntravel. We were warmly welcomed by Eric and Bruno to their charming rural house. There is a lovely garden where we could sit peacefully and enjoy the view onto Provencal countryside. Our room was comfortable with a large bathroom and french windows overlooking countryside. We had a good 3 course meal on our first evening and otherwise ate at very good local restaurants recommended by Eric and Bruno. Breakfast was continental - bread and croissant with home made jam. We were walking during the day and walks were pretty and not too many climbs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Bruno D, Propriétaire at La Campagne Berne, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about our (your home).
We had a great time with you and look forward to seeing you again at the Campagne Berne.
Cordially.
Bruno & Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St neots
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We arrived here at the end of a long day with a train from Lille and a hire car from Marseilles and walked into the warmest welcome imaginable. The rooms are simple, but beautifully decorated and equipped(the heated towel rail was a godsend). Bruno's cooking is excellent; like no Band b we've stayed in, he would match some of the best restaurants.

Eric is great fun, reading when to be chatty and when to retreat extremely well and we had fun thinking up French words we use in English to add to his list.

We were walking too and were a little reluctant to move on; I can feel a return visit coming on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Bruno D, Propriétaire at La Campagne Berne, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about our (your home).
We had a great time with you and look forward to seeing you again at the Campagne Berne.
Cordially.
Bruno & Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
194 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Enjoyed four nights in this wonderful retreat. Eric and Buno are great hosts-they are very personable and made us feel at home. We hope to return soon. This was an inntravel hiking trip.

The spectacular views of the snow covered Alps (April) from their hill top B+B really was bliss. I especially loved our private balcony-great sun!
We ate dinner here our first night...so many courses I could not keep up. We hiked the surrounding area for our first four days-lovely hill top villages and great markets in Forcalquier and Reillanne.
Our last day we just relaxed in the garden and soaked in the sun while nibbling on lunch of cheese, bread and strawberries!

This truly is a one of a kind B+B in the heart of provence.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are above the breakfast/dinning room but breakfast did not start until afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam_Hendricks_author
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Bruno D, Propriétaire at La Campagne Berne, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about our (your home).
We had a great time with you and look forward to seeing you again at the Campagne Berne.
Cordially.
Bruno & Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Just wonderful! A lovely place to stay set in a peaceful and glorious area with delightful hosts Eric & Bruno. Their cooking is great too with lots of home made delights. Excellent place to practice one’s French, although English happily spoken for those of us who failed languages!

Lots to do and see (and eat and drink) locally too.

Ideal base for a walking holiday for those who are active. We made it up to the beautiful hill top village of Lurs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crosby_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric-Bruno D, Propriétaire at La Campagne Berne, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about our (your home).
We had a great time with you and look forward to seeing you again at the Campagne Berne.
Cordially.
Bruno & Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierrerue
0.0 mi away
Charembeau
Charembeau
#1 of 3 in Forcalquier
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Jas des Nevieres
Le Jas des Nevieres
#2 of 3 in Pierrerue
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Campagne St Lazare
La Campagne St Lazare
#7 of 16 in Forcalquier
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Mas du Cadranier
Le Mas du Cadranier
#1 of 1 in Villeneuve
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Ferme du Petit Segries
La Ferme du Petit Segries
#1 of 20 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Ferme Rose
La Ferme Rose
#2 of 20 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Campagne Berne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Campagne Berne

Property: La Campagne Berne
Address: Lieu Dit les Cences, 04300 Pierrerue, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Pierrerue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pierrerue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nos chambres; Dans la Bergerie, se trouvent 4 chambres exposees plein sud. Deux sont equipees d'une terrasse privative. Deux autres en rez de jardin avec climatisation.Chacune est equipee de salle de bain, douche et wc, television.Vous ne pourrez qu'etre seduit par la lumiere, le charme et le confort de ces pieces, qui sont une invitation au repos.Dans 'La Maison', deux logements au charme different vous accueillent.Le Duplex, avec son cachet pittoresque, dispose sur trois niveaux, pour 4 personnes. Un gite entierement equipe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing