We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Chateau de Rilly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Arrived here on a sunday afternoon after a very long drive from England for an overnight stay. Too late for lunch and told by reception to go to Macdonalds. Not a good suggestion to foodies like us. We had booked this chateau because of its Restaurant but it was not open for dinner on Sunday, so had to find alternative restaurant which was excellent. However the day was saved by Morgan the bar man who very kindly arrange a light lunch of bread cheese and ham for us. The chateau is beautiful and the rooms top class. Overall a pleasant experience that could have been so much better.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Golden-oldie-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, we thank you for your comments about your stay at the Château de Rilly.
We are pleased to read that you did enjoy our Hotel and its rooms.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.
Warmest regards,
Patrica DOTTORE,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Le Chateau de Rilly
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

We took a private Champagne tour with an independent guide. We were treated to Chateau de Rilly for lunch. Every morsel was delicious. The service was attentive and pleasant. The setting was absolutely gorgeous. The cost of the lunch was more than we paid for any dinner in France for two weeks so we considered that "dinner" for that day and smiled knowing we got to dine at this truly elegant Chateau. The cost was equivalent to about $125. US dollars for our lunch and we had one glass of Champagne each only. Upon exploration we found that the Chateau had an amazing spa and would consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jetskimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Madam,
We thank you for taking time to write your opinion about your dinner at our restaurant.
We will be cheerful to welcome you at the hotel.
Waiting for the pleasure to welcome you again,
Sincerely yours,
Patricia DOTTORE,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Chateau de Rilly for a few days during our holiday in the Champagne region. What a find! We shared a room with a terrace (perfect for a light dinner with champagne on the first night) and found it quiet and clean, comfortable yet luxurious! The staff were mostly very helpful and accommodating too. We sampled many champagnes, took full advantage of the spa facilities (wonderful hot tub and sauna with free refreshments) and enjoyed a meal at the restaurant. One word of warning though; the town of Rilly-la-Montagne is 'closed' on Mondays, so if you're planning on staying on a Monday night in particular, your own transport is essential really.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Château de Rilly.

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed and appreciated every moment of it and especially your room's comfort the Spa and the restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Patricia Dottore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We did a 10 day tour of France and this was my favourite stop over . What a lovely Chateau , we had a light and very pretty comfort double room with Terrace which was very large and had great views of the gardens and vineyards for miles around . This all set in a small pretty village . Staff helpful and friendly and the dinner was excellent . Not cheap but worth it I hope to return !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feeback following your recent stay at the Château de Rilly.

I am truly pleased to read that you had enjoyed the hotel and restaurant.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Château de Rilly


Warmest Regards,

Patricia Dottore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed one night here. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful and our room was amazing! Lovely attention to detail. The gardens and terrace and great to have a glass of champagne on. Very clean. It is expensive but it's worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feeback following your recent stay at the Château de Rilly.

I am truly pleased to read that you had enjoyed the hotel.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Château de Rilly

Sincerely yours.

Patricia Dottore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Chateau de Rilly is on the edge of Rilly village, between Eperne and Reims. The rear, where our room was, looks out onto champagne vineyards, and is silent at night. The restaurant serves spectacular food, so we ate there both nights, with delights that included veal sweetbreads as well as more familiar dishes. They have an excellent, if expensive, wine list and we were able to enjoy some wines we had discovered while in Burgundy. One caveat - WiFi is only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Château de Rilly.

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed and appreciated every moment of it and especially your room's comfort and the restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Patricia Dottore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our group stayed in 2 rooms at the beautiful Chateau and we wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are really lovely, elegant, clean, and well appointed. The gardens are very nice. Loved the small town setting, 10 minutes from Reims and 20 or so from Epernay. The staff was very nice, very friendly, and very helpful. We needed to change a champagne house appointment time and they took care of it for us. The restaurant was closed when we were there, but the breakfast was the best we had our entire time in France. The crepes and housemade preserves were delicious. I would definitely go back, and found the price competitive or better than some lesser quality lodgings we had on the trip. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Le Chateau de Rilly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Château de Rilly.

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed and appreciated every moment of it and especially your room's comfort and the breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Patricia Dottore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rilly-la-Montagne
21.6 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,199 reviews
6.0 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
530 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 68 in Reims
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
12.6 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
4.3 mi away
Akena City Reims Bezannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Rilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Rilly

Address: 38 rue de Reims, 51500 Rilly-la-Montagne, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Rilly-la-Montagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rilly-la-Montagne
Price Range: £155 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Chateau de Rilly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Reims, the Château de Rilly is the ideal place for discovering the Champagne-Ardenne and its natural park (Parc Naturel Regional de la Montagne de Reims).A paradise immersed in the vineyards of Champagne and created in an old Champagne house in the late19th century.Hotel, restaurant, bar and spa are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Chateau de Rilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Rilly Rilly-La-Montagne, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing