We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farm Cafe

The Farm Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Whitley
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Scrummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My hubby calls here on his bike riding expeditions and kept raving about it. He promised to take me and today he did. Its beautiful inside and the staff are welcoming. I ordered the welsh rarebit with bacon and chutney, it was absolutely delicious. My hubby had 2 poached eggs on toast which he said was equally scrummy. There are sandwiches, soup, cakes and scones. Well worth a visit, we'll be going again soon very soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie-travel-junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BARNSLEY ENGLAND
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Returned here with friends as part of a bike ride. If you are anywhere near and fancy a coffee/bun/lunch give it a try. Lovely cafe/location/staff/food.
Best scones found within a radius from Barnsley.
We'll be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BANDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
389 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“LOVELY CAFE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stopped off at the cafe for breakfast with a friend. Lovely home cooked food, freshly made. A real gem. Easily found from the A19 and signed 'Farm Cafe'. Well worth and visit and we will return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gabriella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Delicous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The coffee was good, but went back at lunch time and had fantastic leek and potato soup. 10 out of 10. Nice place to sit and watch.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Relaxing no rush lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

How nice to sit and chat over lunch without feeling it is time to leave straight away . Delicious home made soup, and a great pot of tea. Breakfasts seem very popular and lots of cyclists seem to stop here to refuel!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Farm Cafe also viewed

 
Womersley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing