We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most gorgeous setting in the world”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramberg Gjestegard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramberg Gjestegard
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The most gorgeous setting in the world”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Ramberg Gjestegard campground for two nights at the end of July. Unfortunately, it rained 75% of our time there...which made for two very crabby people (that would be us). We planned on staying for four nights but on the second night we realized we were literally swimming in our tent...so...we packed up our stuff and threw our leaky cheap tent away (note: if you are going to be camping in Norway make sure you don't have a weak cheap $20 tent! We got only 4 nights total out of our tent. Invest in a nice one.) I know that's not the Gjestegard's fault but I thought I would add that as a side note.

Check-in was a breeze. We stayed near the main building in our tent, and the internet was very spotty. So whenever we wanted to use the internet we would go into the main building, which they let us do. The restaurant was fabulous, we had great food. Our server was very nice/helpful. She was a Polish woman who also camped there. Even though at this point we were dirt poor, we had to try cloudberries...and what a treat! So delicious.

The showers are a few kroner (I forgot how much...) for I want to say 4 minutes? I never thought I could shower that fast, but I did. There is a spot in another building for us to put our food, and a little kitchen where people can cook their meals. It does get quite busy in that kitchen.

The best part of the facility was the beach...We watched the sunset and then a few minutes later rise again. The beach was SOOOOOO gorgeous, during the day and at night. So many people were out at midnight watching the sun.

If we are in Ramberg again we will definitely stay here (with a much better tent!).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skigirltiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at the camp site for two nights ultimo August and was absolutely thrilled about the location: bordering a beautiful white beach and surrounded by scenic nature. The owner welcomes you in a very friendly way which immediately makes you feel very comfortable and you get the impression that she really makes a huge and sincere effort to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Absolutely great service!

Also, I had the privilege to experience and photograph the unique twilight auroras with simultaneous sights of sunset and auroras :-)

Can strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liselotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
42660
Level Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

2 nights in this very well placed camping, we have rent bikes to visit surroundings. We have also tested the restaurant, good local food with attentive service.
Don't hesitate to encourage this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo42660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed there with my girlfriend. Had a nice cabin to ourselves and really enjoyed the surrounding areas, the beach is beautiful and watching the sun set and colours change really was quite magical.

Didn't make for great photos of the Aurora Borealis as there was some light pollution from a large warehouse next to the complex and the road behind. We still witnessed a beautiful display; framed by the mountains and bay. We spend all of out time truly relaxed.

Great stop whilst traveling Lofoten. Great food too and really friendly owner!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The magic of Lofoten is that: it has also many different types of stunning sceneries. The white beach in Ramberg is definitely one of them. Ramberg Gjestegard just sits by the beach. We had a small cabin by the beach. It's a nice wooden house. Though small, it has a kitchen in it. You can see the midnight sun in this cabin and the beach is 10 meters away. It's stunning.

Cons: No WIFI in the cabin. You must go to the reception house to use WIFI. That's a little inconvenient. Also, the hot water supply limited, maybe it is supplied by a electric water heater but we won't informed about this. I took my shower after my wife did, and it ran out of hot water when I was souped up. It was a nightmare!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sanqiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The camping site is wonderfully located just by the beach. Amenities (kitchen, bathrooms, etc) are of average standard but enough if you aren't planning longer stays. Restaurant provides decent food, but beware of the rude cooks (if you can understand them which we could...)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Delmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silly suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Ramberg Gjestegård is a camp ground on the north coast of the Lofoten Islands, catering for motorhomes, caravans and tents, and with a number of traditional red-painted cabins for rent, all with an unobstructed view of the midnight sun. We stayed in a very well equipped cabin with verandah overlooking a beautiful white sand beach, where the water was turquoise and the midnight sun dipped towards the horizon between rocky islets, then looped back up again - we had non-stop sunshine, day and night, for the whole week. The setting is idyllic, although we were extremely lucky with the weather - we even swam in the Arctic Ocean, cold but not unbearable, and the warm afterglow was exhilarating! There are lots of lovely unspoilt things to do without much driving involved.

We booked by email with the owner, Tordis Berre, who speaks excellent English and could not have been more helpful. We weren't asked for a deposit nor credit card details, so trusting was she, just a text message when were were on our way. The menu at her Arctic Restaurant was local, excellently-cooked and reasonably priced, and her staff were charming, polite and helpful. Ramberg is a lived-in working village as opposed to a tourist trap (although it does have a helpful tourist information desk), with petrol station, large supermarket, post office, ATM, electrical, clothes and flower shops, all grouped near the picturesque harbour, and within easy walking distance of the campground.
http://www.ramberg-gjestegard.no/engelskindex.html

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lornemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flakstad Municipality
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lofoten Hotell
5.0 mi away
Nusfjord Rorbuer
Nusfjord Rorbuer
#1 of 1 in Nussfjord
122 reviews
11.5 mi away
Reine Rorbuer
Reine Rorbuer
#3 of 66 in Lofoten Islands
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sakrisoey Rorbuer
Sakrisoey Rorbuer
#1 of 2 in Reine
78 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hattvika Lodge
Hattvika Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ballstad
34 reviews
10.3 mi away
Eliassen Rorbuer
Eliassen Rorbuer
#1 of 1 in Hamnoy
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramberg Gjestegard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramberg Gjestegard

Property: Ramberg Gjestegard
Address: Kong Olavs veg, Flakstad Municipality 8380 , Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Flakstad Municipality
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Flakstad Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ramberg Gjestegard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing