We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Easy walk in large cave system

This is an easy walk about 300 meters into a cave system that stretches more than 400 meters. It is... read more

Reviewed 6 July 2020
goingwalkabout
,
Tonsberg, Norway
Pretty good

A fun thing to do if you’re looking for a break from intensive hiking. Coming from the states, if... read more

Reviewed 31 July 2018
Amy K
via mobile
Read all 42 reviews
  
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
18
12
4
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
12
4
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Absolute fantastic
40min drive from Mo i Rana citycenter. Ok food at the restaurant and very nice guides. Easy trips.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Steinar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2015

It´s not a typical cave where you see stalactites and stalagmites. On the other hand, you will see quite a bit stream and a waterfall.
It´s a marble cave so quite different from the ones I´m used to visit (limestone). The rock is really beautiful!
You should wear good shoes because it´s slippery inside. On some passages, you should hold the rails, because it´s really slippery! A raincoat might also be handy!
You buy the ticket at the visitor centre (150 NOK) and you have visits from 10 to 18 in July, every hour (about 45min). There´s another cave you can visit (Setagrotta) but this one is 330 NOK and lasts about 2h. Since the rock is the same, I don´t think you will see much more in Setagrotta, but since it has more tourists, it´s more expensive!
You have a camping site nearby, really handy if you plan to go on the first trip in the morning, or the last one!
I don´t think this cave is suitable for aged people (slippery floor and sometimes a bit too dark, even with the lighting!).

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Ana_L_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We called on the way back from Svartisen and am glad that we didn't make a separate visit there. The cafe was good but the tour was disappointing. There were only 3 of us on the tour so it only took 35 minutes. There was very little commentary about the formation of the cave or the few features that there were to see. The guide seemed disinterested. To call it an illuminated show cave is a little misleading if you have been to other show caves. The path was lit by light bulbs and features shown by torch. Pretty water droplets shining in the light but don't expect to see stalactites or stalagmites. There were tunnels leading from the path but we went in an out on the same path. A fairly expensive visit for what it was.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank S1AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you have visited caves before, this one is rather underwhelming. The nice thing about it is that there is a small underground river and a whirlpool of water. If you want to see stalactites or stalagmites, there are none.

As the cave has water, there are water drops everywhere in the cave, which makes them shine in the photos. Very interesting as the cave looks like it's covered in small diamonds.

The entrance fee is paid in the visitor center and you are guided with a group to the cave. There are tours every hour on the hour and in July the last tour was at 18:00. We entered and exited from the same entrance.

The visit cost 150 NOK per adult and took approximately 45 minutes. There are much more to the cave, but the tour only covers a certain track. The temperature underground is 4-7 degrees Celsius, so wear a sweater. There is electric lighting, but the rocks are quite slippery, so wear good shoes. Otherwise the track is not difficult.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I visited the Gronligrotta Cave at the beginning of July 2013 with a group. After paying entrance fee (130 NOK for an adult) in the visitor center, we were guided downhill and then had to climb uphill again on a steep track. The cave have multiple entrances but only two are opened for visitors. We entered from one entrance and exited from another. The entrance is quite small so that you have to bow to get in but after that the cave gets much higher. The track in the cave was about 500 meters long but it took 45 minutes to complete. The cave system is considerably bigger but not all places are easily accessible and available for the general public. There are other caves nearby and it could very well be that the cave systems are connected. The Gronligrotta Cave is the only Nordic cave with electric lighting. It makes moving around easier. At the same time please note that there is minimal amount of handrails and rocks inside are pretty slippery. There are also steep places. It is good in the sense that it gives you more natural experience of cave exploration. At the same time it makes moving around slower, more dangerous, more physically challenging. Good walking shoes are required and better to move with a group to help each other if needed. However, if these conditions are fulfilled, then I think almost anyone can complete the track and in the end feel himself/herself like a true cave explorer. I some places the cave is pretty high in other places again quite narrow. There is even a small river and waterfall inside. I think it was very interesting experience and highly recommend the place!

Date of experience: July 2013
6  Thank erki12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews