We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile place to stay”
Review of Nyvagar Rorbuhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Vagan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The visitor seeking to appreciate the nature of the rugged Lofoten Islands would do well to stay at Nyvågar Rorbu. Lying along a small inlet, the site of the hotel provides a calm setting that affords memorable views of the opening to the sea and the jagged beauty of snow-decked mountains. The fishing cabins, or rorbuer, in which visitors stay strike an amiable balance between the traditional and the modern, and most visitors should find them both welcoming and comfortable. And by no means should one pass up on the opportunity to dine at the restaurant and to taste the range of dishes that feature the ingredients of northern Norway. Curious and gastronomically minded travellers will find that the cuisine here will enhance their experience of the Lofoten Islands.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank StPatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed five days on a doctoral course. Such a great location and very idyllic buildings. The food is just fantastic, the facilities for a course are great, the landscape amazing. The air is clean and refreshing. I slept like a log every night which is quite unusual in a hotel. The interior of the main building and the little houses (rorbus) are designed with great care and excellent taste. It was a fully aesthetic experience in every way to stay here. I wish I can come again. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njkTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We've been staying at Nyvagar for five days, doing a PhD course, and the setting and venue have been just great. I've been here for many years ago, and there has been a tremendous positive change. The facilities at this place is perfect for a group of 35 people, and the beautiful nature here is astonishing to be working in. We have enjoyed the hot tub and sauna, and doing the jump into the freezing water when being heated up. I really loved the food here, and the service of the staff has been great. Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for room closest to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Short distance from the airpor in Svolvaer (15 min) and located almost in the water, Nyvagar Rorbu give you the immediate feeling of beeing in the rough North-norwegian nature and climate. Signs on the door to the terrace warning you to not open the door during winter time adds the feeling of being close to nature.

The facilities of our meeting were supberb, with an awesome view to water and shoreside - with Lofoten waters just below you.

Mr. Aage runs the place with the traditional local humour and comments AND the food..... delicious. We got some "skrei" during a short trip on the 100 year old "Anne Bro" and despite some sea sickness the rest of us got the fish safe to Aage and his crew on the kitchen did their magic and served delicious courses based on OUR fish.

A stay to remember.... Just remember to take a few photos of the facilities and surroundings. And not to forget: pray for clear, cold weather and get outside to watch the Aurora Polaris, playing on the black screen above you - a main reason for travelling duing the winter time to Lofoten.

Summarized: Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fyken_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siri E, General Manager at Nyvagar Rorbuhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your great feedback, we welcome you back at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Spent 2 nights here attending a business seminar. The hotel is built with holiday houses ("rorbu's") of a newer date. Not to exciting themselves, but plenty of space and not worn down.

The best, however, besides the magnificent surroundings, is the food, which was of a surpricingly high standard and it can be enjoyed in the restaurant with a beautiful view. Further the service was excellent, even though I can only recommend people to stay away from the Akvavit Bar. It will do you no good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stine Sjanett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Agnethe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagan
3.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 4 in Svolvaer
576 reviews
7.3 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#2 of 4 in Svolvaer
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Best Western Lofoten Hotell
3.3 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 4 in Svolvaer
95 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lofoten Panorama
Lofoten Panorama
#2 of 2 in Stamsund
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyvagar Rorbuhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyvagar Rorbuhotel

Address: Storvaaganveien 22, 8310, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Vagan
Price Range: £119 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyvagar Rorbuhotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Nyvagar Rorbuhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing