We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Nyvagar Rorbuhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Vagan
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Enjoyed our recent stay here. This rorbu was well located in the small fishing town, Kabelvag. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which was spacious, clean and cosy. It is located along a small fjord with beautiful mountain views. The bed was comfortable and the area was very quiet.

Breakfast was a well appointed buffet that helped to nourish us for the hiking we did in several scenic locations.

Also had the opportunity to drive to Hov (about 30 minutes away) to watch the midnight sun. It was fascinating to watch the sun dip low in the sky, never clear the horizon, then start to go back up again within a few minutes time around midnight.

Would definitely recommend a trip to the Lafoten Islands and a stay at Nyvagar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletlettera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    38
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
38
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I spent a weekend in Nyvagar in August 2013 with about 70 colleagues.It is a very good place for seminars and meetings.They have good meeting facilities, a big dining room and a cosy pub where the breakfasts were served.The staff is friendly and relaxed in the northern norwegian way.The food was very good. We had steaks,cakes and buffet!
The light in Lofoten is magic, and at Nyvagar you are in the middle of the beautiful northern nature.We were lucky to have nice weather, and Henningsvær or Kabelvåg is a short bustrip away.I can recommand Nyvågår to all companies who want to have a nice stay for a seminar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

After visiting Lofoten several times, I can with confidence say this is the best place to stay. You will get that genuine experience in the middle of the wild and spectacular nature, and at the edge of the mighty ocean. Still you are only a short walk away from the idyllically Kabelvåg village square.
The food is of the highest quality, as is the service. One person in particular - Åge - lifts the service and personal touch to a level you rarely find.
Try relaxing in the out door hot tubs, while enjoing a beer and viewing the close by mountains and the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLMOslo_Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Finally back in the Northern parts of Norway, my friend and I chose this location to rest bicycle feet, and rejoice in the outstanding scenery. Needless to say, the location had everything you could possible want in terms of out of this world surroundings. The high service level was on the other hand so much more than we anticipated. The local food was prepared with a touch of elegance we only experience in high end establishments in the rest of Europe. Top score, highly recommended. I´ll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyskesparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed three nights at this rorbu. Our rorbu was perfect for us. It is two stories with two bedrooms up, two single beds in each. The first floor has a sitting area, kitchen table and small kitchen area. The bathroom is modern and well kept. The grounds include a board walk, deck and dock areas. It is on the water and I suggest that you request a rorbu on the water instead of behind other buildings. The place is well kept, clean, quiet and very comfortable. The breakfast in the main building is very nice and well stocked with both local and American type food. The restaurant eating area is warm and friendly. Dinner in the restaurant is very expensive. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay there very much as we made day trips around Lofoten. Storvagan is centrally located making it easy to see all of Lofoten. One tip, if you are picking up a car in Svolvaer, take the bus into town. It is 30kr instead of the 250kr we were charged for a taxi. One of my favorite accommodations in Norway.

Room Tip: Call or email ahead and request a room on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were looking for a Rorbu in the middle of the Lofoten Islands and this filled our needs perfectly. The 2 story cottage "Rorbu" had a beautiful view overlooking water. We also found that this location worked very well for us since we had a car and used it to visit other areas in the islands. The Rorbu was simple, small stove, sink refrigerator, simple furniture, and comfortable single beds (no double) The stairs to the bedrooms are very steep, but that is typical Rorbu. The breakfast was outstanding and so was the restaurant. Breakfast was included, but dinner at the restaurant was expensive as is all of Norway. It was also great to be able to catch up on our laundry while visiting this location. I would sure come back.
I also truly enjoyed the seagulls who would visit me and await a cookie.

Room Tip: As for a Rorbu facing the water. The view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudgesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We arranged our wedding at nyvågar. Little information regarding practical details was given to the couples in the planning phase, so we had to follow up everything by phone. The location was beautiful and the guests could enjoy the view of the lofoten mountains and sea from the brew outside. The food was extraordinary good. The waiters, however, were not very service oriented and appeared unprofessional and in a bad mood. No attention e.g flowers or discounts was offered to the couples room. All in all we had a nice day, but the hotel has some potential for improvements

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lofotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vagan hotels
3.6 mi away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 6 in Svolvaer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 6 in Svolvaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
7.3 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#3 of 6 in Svolvaer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fast Hotel
Fast Hotel
#5 of 6 in Svolvaer
2.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#4 of 6 in Svolvaer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyvagar Rorbuhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyvagar Rorbuhotel

Property: Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Address: Storvaaganveien 22, 8310, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Vagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyvagar Rorbuhotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Nyvagar Rorbuhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing