We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 3 Rs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sveggvika Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

R : REMOTE. On the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. Secluded but only 10km from Kristiansund via the undersea tunnel (Toll), IF you have to go there. Just you, the ocean water and the geology.
R : RELAXING. Simply unwind. Don't move from here for at least 2 days & 2 nights and enjoy the peace & tranquility.
R : RUSTIC. Staying in the Guesthouse with a real "marine" theme. Don't stay here if you're wanting fancy-dancy. It just works the way it is.
I totally agree with nearly all the comments in the 3 previous reviews.
(We stayed in late May 2014 as a stop-over on our week-long fjord & high country driving trip in Norway.)
Book your dinners in advance and eat in. The meals are homely and wholesome and more relaxing than driving into Kristiansund and no concerns about DUI.
The sun rises behind the Guesthouse. Our room (# 1) faced west overlooking the Atlantic so the sunrise was not an issue for us. What a better way to start the day than to open your eyes at 4am, look out to the tranquil waters (in our case) and shoot a photo or twenty of the sunrise and then roll over & go back to sleep.
Although squeeging the bathroom floor (in room #1) after every shower was a little frustrating this slight inconvenience was greatly offset by all the other very positive benefits of staying at Sveggvika. (This issue could be easily fixed by the owner / managers.)

JUST go there and experience Sveggvika for yourself. A truly unique Norwegian experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Guesthouse Room # 1 with fantastic views to the south and to the west overlooking t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Sveggvika Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for one night in May after a 4 day drive through the fjords starting in Stavanger, and really enjoyed it. The building stands on its own and is right on the water. The views are exceptional, either from the substantial patio or from our first floor room with patio doors and 3 other windows. We booked in advance and had a perfectly pleasant dinner there. One thing to bear in mind, if you’re coming from the East and heading to Kristiansund there’s a hefty toll for using the tunnel that's after the guest house so booking dinner in advance can be far cheaper than going out to the town.
Good Points. Great building, Nice people, Nice dinner, Great looking room, The view.....

Excellent if they could.... Put some curtains up, in the summer it's light all the time, great to see the view but not when you want to sleep at 4am. Sort out the wet room floor drainage, by the time we’d both showered the floor was swimming.

Of the 4 nights we stayed in Norway this was by far the most memorable and we would highly recommend it to anybody. I think we’d only stay again in a room with curtains, it was just too light to sleep properly.
I do wish the owners nothing but success for the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EalingTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a lovely, unforgettable place. Spectacular location ,interesting and simple interior design, very cosy and perfect for the place. Very nice owners. I do regret we stayed only 2 days.This place is so peaceful and relaxing. But it has a lot to offer as regards activities and sport. The minus is that to have a meal you have to drive to Kristiansund ( 15 min. by car BUT you drive via very expencive tunel both ways). There is also small restaurant in marina but we were off season so it was closed some days. You can also book in advance a meal in the Guesthouse. We did so , dinner was delicious and at reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking a terace are absolutely great.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarzyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed in the bed and breakfast. Lovely room in a converted klippfisk factory. Views out over the skerries to the Atlantic. Nice and peaceful to hear the sea lapping outside the window. Good breakfast and a relaxing start to the day. Will definitely be back for a longer visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This place is for seascape lovers. Escape the everyday rush in this tranquil location. Enjoy exploring the archipelago by boat or kayak, go fishing, take evening walks or simply enjoy reading a good book. Whatever you decide, you'll feel fully recharged after a few days of pure nature therapy.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank seby621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We are from India. Me, wife and two daughters visited Norway by road in 12 days. We drove from Stryn to this place. It was a long drive. The famous Atlantic road was pleasant to see. The ocean was exceptionally quiet; and so no strong waves.
We stayed at this place (cabin number 2) for two nights in August 2013. The cabin has two bedrooms upstairs; living room, kitchen and bathroom downstairs. For four of us (two daughters), the cabin had more space than needed. You need to carry your linen and pillow covers.
The location is truly beautiful. You can relax just watching Atlantic Ocean. The place was once a busy area for making Klip fish. The property owner gave us information on how Klip fish was made in the past and the property's history. We went for fishing and got mackerels and Torsk. We made ghee-rice and fish fry for dinner (from fresh catch). We also made breakfast on both days. Mr. Jayson was hugely helpful in pushing the boat and he also helped us in cleaning the fish. We also got considerable help from one tourist who was staying there for fishing and driving the boat.
We should have stayed one more day at Sveggvika. Since we have to reach Oppdal by 4 PM, we could not go for diving. We drove to Oppdal via Kristiansund. That was a wrong decision because the toll was extremely high (approximately 150 KR more). If possible avoid this route.

Room Tip: Good place for fishing..
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musthafa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After 10 days of Oslo, Bergen, Alesund and the fjords, what a pleasure to find this lovely place. Direct return to nature at its best. Very large room, three windows, no curtains ( wake up early or bring a mask ). Simple breakfast, no dinner unless ordered in advance. The style Is super simple, raw. No TV or minibar of course, but mother nature and an excellent wifi. The perfect occasion to do something else. They also have cabins.
Just nice !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Averoy Municipality
17.2 mi away
Hustadvika Gjestegard
Hustadvika Gjestegard
#1 of 1 in Farstad
39 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Kristiansund
Thon Hotel Kristiansund
#1 of 7 in Kristiansund
323 reviews
4.1 mi away
Scandic Kristiansund
Scandic Kristiansund
#3 of 7 in Kristiansund
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Angvik Gamle Handelssted
Angvik Gamle Handelssted
#16 of 50 in More og Romsdal
69 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand Kristiansund
4.2 mi away
Kristiansund Hotel
Kristiansund Hotel
#5 of 7 in Kristiansund
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sveggvika Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sveggvika Guesthouse

Address: Seivagnesveien 107 | Averøy, 6530, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Averoy Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Averoy Municipality
Price Range: £97 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sveggvika is idyllically situated by the ocean with marvelous sea-view at the outside of the island Averøy, North-West Norway. We have 6 cabins for rent and an old fishing building (“brygge”) from 1924 that is renovated for charming apartments. Here you will find also a “kroa” for dining and a bar where the atmosphere gives you a feeling experience from the dried fish production in the past. The nature here offers outstanding opportunities for outdoor activities like fishing, hiking and diving. Here you can also just relax by the cottage or visit many different tourist attractions like the world famous Atlantic Road or take a visit to natural parks as Geiranger and Trollstigen. To island Averoy you have also easy access from the mainland. From the south its linked by The Atlantic Road that comes from Molde and from the north with tunnel from Kristiansund. Come and take a bite from the magnificent scenery and trilling adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sveggvika Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing