We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic cabins in beautiful setting; 10 mins to Trollstigen”
Review of Trollstigen Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rauma Municipality
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trollstigen Resort
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Basic cabins in beautiful setting; 10 mins to Trollstigen”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The resort is set just 10 mins from Trollstigen in a peaceful setting with high mountains in the distance. The view is spectacular when the clouds aren't lying low.

The directions on their website weren't that clear to me. If you are traveling on E136 from Dombås, turn left on road 63 (can't turn right), which is about 5 km or so before the town of Åndalsnes. You will see a sign that says Trollstigen as well as the sign for road 63. When you turn left on 63, you will cross over a small bridge. The resort will be on your right side a couple minutes down the road. Note: If you pass the Hotel Aak on E136, then you missed road 63. However, you can keep going on E 136 for 4 or 5 km until you reach Åndalsnes, where you will come to a T intersection. Turn left, go over the bridge, turn left right after the bridge, travel passed the first camping area you see and then you will see the resort on the left side a couple km down the road.

The rate was reasonable and the owners are really nice and personable. They have maps on the area and some information on hikes. Wifi worked pretty well and was free. Plenty of really hot water and great water pressure. We cooked in our cabin, so I can't comment on the meals offered in the reception area.

We stayed two nights in one of the large cabins: one room with a full size bed and a single bunk above; a tiny room with 2 bunk beds; a living area with a couch, love seat, large coffee table and a single bed; kitchen with a table for 4; and a large bathroom with a shower, toilet and another table with 2 chairs. They have smaller cabins and allow for tent camping as well. You can purchase a package containing a one-time use sheet, duvet cover, and a pillow case for 75 nok per package, but bringing your own is best. You can rent towels as well. The comforters in the cabin were really old and full of stains. The pots/pans and cooking utensils were limited and very well used.

We chose to pay 300 nok to have the cabin cleaned for us at the end. However, when we arrived at the cabin, it was not very clean and there was food in the fridge from a prior guest. There was hair in the shower, on the floor, and in the silverware drawer; the fridge was dirty; and the shelves in the cabinets were grimy. In general, all surfaces need a deep scrubbing. The coffee pot was on its last leg. The couches were filthy and full of stains and the pillows were worse than the pillows we encountered in the huts on Mt Kilimanjaro.

I would stay here again if the pillows, comforters and couches were in better shape. If you don't have these types of concerns, it's a great area. We enjoyed ourselves.


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank xctour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

The Trollstigen Resort has simple comforts nestled in a valley with a wonderful view. My family and I arrived and since we had booked a late dinner we had fresh salmon, cucumber and potatoes prepared by the owner. We went to our large cabin to find it had 2 bedrooms with bunk beds, a main living room with a bed, kitchen and very large bathroom. The owner went out to buy breakfast materials we had requested so we had them in the morning. Our stay was pleasant and the view is absolutely wonderful. Only a short drive away is Trollstigen, a magnificent road up a mountain filled with hairpin turns. The viewing deck at the top of the mountain is breathtaking, but to ensure a good view try to go when there are no low clouds. The Trollstigen Resort offers a very comfortable stay.
Tip- book ahead. I saw 2 groups referred to a different resort because they hadn't booked.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TillyTravel1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sala, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The cabin was clean and you are surrounded by mountains and rivers with all the sounds and smells you would expect. Just wonderful. The manager was very helpful and prepared us a 3-star meal with salmon, freshly-boiled potatoes and white wine. Delicious. Normally you must book meals in advance. Recommended. Ten minutes to "Trollstigen". Reasonably priced. Cash only. No tv but who needs it there. Wifi very weak in cabin. No wall outlet in sleeping area of cabin. The manager was very generous sharing tourist information.You could plan an entire Norway trip with him. Wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tongala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was our third stop on a 15-day fjord trip by rental car from and returning to Bergen. We drove here from Alesund via the Atlantic Road Tourist Route (nothing special IMHO) and Kristiansund. We booked 4 nights In a hut/cabin with toilet, shower and kitchen. There was a small fridge and hotplates, no oven or microwave, as advertised. We rented sheets (one use and throw away) and towels. The cabin was much larger than we expected and the cabins spaced out, unlike many other camping sites where they are close together, so we had more privacy than we expected. The Resort also caters for motor homes and tents. The owner/manager was helpful and the cost not expensive for Norway. If you enjoy driving, you MUST drive the Aursjøvegen route if you have the time, highly recommended and a beautiful drive with waterfalls to see and near the end, a walk to the Mardalsfossen waterfall is a must too! Of course the Trollstigen road tourist site is only a few kilometers away from the Resort and is a major reason for visiting this area. The nearest town Åndalsnes has great supermarkets (for buying food for self-catering if you wish). There is free wifi but we were in the cabin furthest away from the office so reception was poor.

Room Tip: Cabin near the office if you want wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yondir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Beautiful area with nice cabin and helpfull owner. The cabins are nice, practical, clean and comfortable. To save money bring your sheets. The price is fairly low (compare to norwagian prices ...) and we enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rauma Municipality
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 2 in Andalsnes
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aak
Hotel Aak
#1 of 2 in Andalsnes
113 reviews
22.9 mi away
Scandic Seilet
Scandic Seilet
#1 of 7 in Molde
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Petrines Guesthouse
Petrines Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Norddal Municipality
33 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andalsnes Vandrerhjem
Andalsnes Vandrerhjem
#1 of 10 in Andalsnes
36 reviews
21.4 mi away
Valldal Fjordhotell
Valldal Fjordhotell
#1 of 2 in Valldal
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trollstigen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trollstigen Resort

Property: Trollstigen Resort
Address: Gryttenvegen 23, 6300, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Rauma Municipality
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Rauma Municipality
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 11 high standard cabins with 1 or 2 bedrooms, shower and toilet, equipped kitchen, living room, eating area and a veranda with breath taking views of our surroundings. Tents and camping cars are welcome! Showers and WC are in our reception buliding. In our reception building you will find refreshments and complimentary cable TV. Wireless internet connection is available in all the cabins and the reception building. During the high season, you can buy breakfast or our delicious homemeade bread! Our staff will give you advice on hiking and other outdoor activities in the area and sightseeing options for your stay! We recommend booking your stay in advance during the months June - August. Trollstigen Resort will be expanding the facilities into the building of a restaurant and hotel. Our guests will enjoy the beautiful view of the valley as they dine, comfortable surroundings, excellent service and reasonably priced food. The hotel accommodations will be of high standard and also feature lovely views and a cozy environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing