We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect peace and great service”
Review of Storfjord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Storfjord Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

When we arrived at the hotel the owners were very concerned as they were completing building work on a new lodge and we were the only guests as it was so early in the season. They need not have worrried as we were on our honeymoon so being the only guests was a plus for us and we didn't hear the building work, however they went out of their way to ensure an exceptional stay. We were upgraded to a suite, builders had to keep quiet before 10am, they gave us a bottle of wine (worth a lot in Norway!) and they offered to book us into a sister hotel in Alesund if we didn't want to stay. The hotel is restful, ensuring great sleep and our every need was catered for. It's in a beautiful, secluded situation. Morever Annebjorg made sure we had a plan/activity for everyday - if we wanted it. Evening meals were delicious and the service was superb. Thank you for a memorable, wonderful honeymoon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orangetip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Storfjord Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I recently spent a week in Norway ... our stay at Storfjord Hotel was the absolute highlight of our trip! Anna is a most gracious host, making you feel welcome and truly caring about your time in Alesund. Anna spent time walking us through the various activities in the area, without her advice we would have missed the best sights. A trip to Norway is simply not complete without a stay at Storfjord hotel.

The rooms are cozy and comfortable. You will feel settled and relaxed the entire stay! (I do agree with other review that the rooms can be a bit noisy but it certainly does not ruin the experience).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeJSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Everything about this property is special - from the way it was constructed to the stunning views overlooking the fjord and the mountains to the excellent food and service. Owners Anna and Barry are extremely friendly and helpful, very knowledgeable about the area, and a pleasure to get to know. The other guests are interesting travellers from all over the world. Our stay was a highlight of our trip to Norway. We followed Anna and Barry's suggestions for wonderful day trips, so a car is recommended. Dinner is available as an option, slightly expensive but the quality was excellent. The only negative was that we were not aware there was a separate charge for the use of the kayaks (we would have rented the kayaks anyway, as they gave you a lovely afternoon experiencing the grandeur of the fjord).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

This place was lovely. It is a beautiful log cabin with wonderful views. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the food is excellent. My one criticism (which is really a matter of personal preference) is that at dinner everyone is seated at one long table rather than having separate tables. But that was really the only thing that we weren't so keen on. We would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at the Storfjord hotel for five wonderful nights, and regretted the three nights we had spent elsewhere in the vicinity. The owners, Anna and Barry, are the most friendly and helpful hosts you could wish to meet. They have created a heavenly spot in a beautiful setting, with fabulous views, easy access, every creature comfort, and beautiful decor, both inside and out. Nothing was too much trouble for Anna and it is clear that her whole heart and soul are invested in making her guests welcome. If you aren't happy, she isn't happy! The hotel is small enough for you to make friends with the other guests if you should choose to, and the dinners are superb. We found many like-minded travellers who had equally sought out this little piece of heaven, and very much enjoyed the camaraderie. You know you've found somewhere special when you feel sad to be leaving and when you have memories which will stay in your heart forever. Storyfyord hotel is more than just a place to stay; it became integral to our enjoyment of this beautiful part of Norway. We were treated like royalty and came away rested, relaxed, and very much hoping to return one day soon. Don't stay in any old hotel; stay in the one with a soul!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joules1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We married in Italy with 70 guests and it was very hot and stressful. We figured the clean air and some fishing would be a good detox and a change from the Mauritius or Maldives.
I got so ill on the plane and went straight to hospital in Norway where the treatment and service put England to shame.
Despite a sad start, we arrived at the Storfjord Hotel with the sun beaming and it felt like heaven. The owners greeted us with such compassion and warmth and the view was breathtaking. The room was stunning and spotless and everything was so chic yet comfortable; distressed furniture, four poster bed and the most gorgeous duvets and pillows I've ever experienced. It was like sleeping on a cloud.

There we're only 4 of us in the hotel so we made great friends with the German couple staying there also and we dined together every night on a banquet table with exquisite, gourmet cuisine in quite large portions as oppose to tiny, nouveau-cuisine portions that taste great but leave you peckish.

This is a very different experience with a family touch. We hate big, commercial hotels where you're charged to use the bathroom. Nowhere in Norway is cheap; even camping is expensive so if I went again to fish or ski, this is the hotel I would visit. The couple that own it are adorable and so helpful and I wore jeans and ugg boots to dinner if it was chilly! We did so much socializing and dressing up at the wedding, we needed casual-chic for a week.

The hotel rents brand new fishing rods, (which I broke!), a rowing boat and kyaks and we just relaxed on the fjord, 5 minutes from the hotel, with thousands of meters of water below us and it was heaven.

I would suggest a car to go to the city and eat great fish and go to the bars and pubs. We didn't have a car and just enjoyed the hotel but you can explore more with a car. I was happy with amazing red wine and my new husband and a fishing rod personally. Highly recommended and thank you Storfjord for a beautiful honeymoon

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onedawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I can't recommend this hotel enough.

Anna and Barry have created a wonderful homely feel and nothing is too much trouble. Anna provided us with so much information on what to do and see and even lent us their rain coats, as the weather was chilly for the first couple of days.

The hotel is in a gorgeous setting, with wonderful views across the fjord and mountains. We had a mountain view room, which was lovely. You can see the fjords from the dining room and garden if you can't get a fjord view room.

The rooms are spacious and the beds really comfortable. Plenty of hot water and very cosy. Only thing I would say, is bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The rooms are not sound proofed (we had a baby next to us, who you could hear through the night).

Definitely book in to eat at the hotel at least once. The 4 course dinners are fantastic, with a good choice each night. If you can't eat any of the ingredients, they will tailor the dishes for you.

Breakfast was great, lots of choice and lovely breads, ham and cheeses. Cooked breakfast is extra, but you really won't need it.

The hotel has a row boat, fishing rods, kayaks and mountain bikes. They are not free to use and you pay by the hour. Norway in general is really expensive. Be prepared to pay about €9 for a glass of wine.

I’d definitely recommend you get a car, as the taxis are incredibly expensive (about €190 from the airport to the hotel) and you can then go off and explore the various fjords and islands. Runde island has a good hike and lots of seabirds, seals and puffins. Geirangerfjord is a must and then the strawberry fields on the way to the Trollstein pass are very yummy. Oye is also lovely.

All in all a really relaxing and enjoyable stay. That you v much Barry and Anna!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skodje Municipality
19.1 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
169 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
439 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sagafjord Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
665 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Baronen Hotell
24.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Alexandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storfjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storfjord Hotel

Address: Ovre Glomset, 6010, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Skodje Municipality
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodje Municipality
Price Range: £256 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Storfjord Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storfjord Hotel is a small luxury timber hotel in Norway. Ideally located for fjord touring near the famous 'Golden Route' and overlooking the Storfjord and Sunnmore Alps, the hotel offers a special atmosphere with unique and beautiful Norwegian style rooms that have balconies and stunning views.A multitude of activites are available throughout winter and summer from spectacular hiking trails to boat tours. The guest-only restaurant serves food made from the finest local ingredients and a wine selection to compliment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Storfjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storfjord Hotel møre Og Romsdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing