We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel with warm & friendly hosts; bring a driving map!”
Review of Storfjord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Storfjord Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel with warm & friendly hosts; bring a driving map!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Up a long and bumpy dirt road about a mile (or a KM or two) from the 656 road you'll find the Storfjord Hotel. Watch for the little white sign on the road (on the right if you're coming from Geringer or Andalesnes; on the left if you're coming from Alesund) or else you might miss your turn.



We chose to stay here for two nights as we wanted to stay in a beautiful traditional Norwegian hotel (the type of construction is officially named Lafta … also known as "Cross Logging", as the "History of Storfjord Hotel" pages in the Hotel's guidebook will tell you). Anna and Barry run this hotel (which reminded me more of the intimate small family run places you'd find in England or the U.S) along with four Lithuanian girls they imported for the season. Anna is the more outgoing and friendly of the two, and she was incredibly helpful to get information from (she has a suitcase full of various tourist brochures and maps from which she'll suggest various walking treks and tours that one can do). It's a lot more fun to use Anna for touring ideas than the disinterested office drones who staff the tourist offices in town.



When we arrived, one of the girls showed us two different rooms to choose from. One room was in the very recently opened new building and was a very nice size (almost suite-like) and a view of a lush valley, but we opted for the smaller room named "Asp" in the main building, as it had a gorgeous view of the fjord down the hill.



The hotel's wooden buildings are incredibly comfortable and surprisingly modern. You will hear some noise from other people going up and down the stairs though.



I asked one of the girls if they ever cut the grass on top of the roof. Nope. :-)



Internet access is somewhat spotty, but I'm thankful it was available and free!



Down a rocky path to the Glomset Bay edge (Google maps calls it Honningdalsvågen) you'll find a little boathouse containing bikes and there is also a kayak and a boat (make your significant other do the rowing :-) that can be rented.



In terms of dining, your choices are 1) dinner at the hotel or 2) drive many KM's and at least 20-30 minutes in any direction to find another dining spot (there is a shopping mall on the way to Alesund named the Amfi Moa which has lots of dining options). We did opt for dinner at the hotel one night and were very glad we did. The three course meal started with cheese tart, the main was potatoes and steak filets on a bed of lemon-infused spinach. The dessert was a small gooey chocolate cake with ice cream. We felt it was worth the 550 KR ($101 USD) per person price and would recommend doing dinner at least once during your stay. For each night you eat at the hotel though, budget at least $300 USD extra for dinner and a bottle of wine to share between two people.



Looking over the dining room (and above the kitchen) is a lounge space of sorts, with lots of various books and a few comfy couches to relax on.



A couple things to note:

To get to this place you really must rent a car. Aside from a few excellent hikes up and down from the hotel, everything else you'd want to see beyond Storfjord Hotel requires significant driving. The hiking trails around the hotel have some signs (and Anna can provide maps). Bring some hiking gear and insect repellent if possible though, as the late August week we were there the local trails were overrun with clouds of flying ants while the walking paths in the town of Geiranger (about 30-40 minutes drive & a ferry away but still one of the places you're likely to visit if you're staying here) were quite muddy and slippery from some intense rainfall. The hotel itself was completely bug-free (the hotel has electronic devices to repel insects from the surroundings). 



Bring a voltage converter if you have anything meant for American plugs. 



In the Asp room, there was no peg to put the hand held shower nozzle on, so you will have to be very acrobatic while you are maneuvering around the tub (and you'll still probably soak the floor somewhat).



The bed was quite comfortable (looked like a brass frame) but the board supporting the mattress was somewhat flimsy and really warped down with two people on it. I love romantic brass beds but I was afraid to get into the bed at times with my size. Anna says the bed will be replaced but I was merely hoping the bed board & frame could be made stronger.

I was also thankful that they accepted a bag full of laundry and did it overnight for me (at a cost of 150NOK). It was great to have fresh clothes during the middle of our trip.



Would we do the stay again? Yes! Is this place good for honeymoons and romantic getaways, absolutely! 



Hopefully this information helps you out. And if you did find useful information in my review, please let me know by clicking the "Helpful" link down below. Have a great stay!

Room Tip: If the hotel isn't full, I think they'll offer a choice of rooms (with different views &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    19
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
78
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
288 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

In an otherwise magnificent setting of unmatched natural beauty and lovely, ancient construction design, the hotel was disquietingly absent in its help to get us there by car. It was nightmarish: they didn't answer my frantic voice mail from the road at 5:30 PM, and consequently we never found it that night. The map we were sent was totally useless, and led us to go two hours and a ferry ride further than we needed. At 11:45 PM, we called again and were told to call back in 30 minutes. Naturally we tried to find a police station to direct us. No help. The only ace open in Standa, Norway at midnight was a hotel that thankfully had room for us. When we got to the proper place the next morning, they were very gracious in their words but offered no discount for the trouble we'd been put through. In fact the man at first wanted us to pay for the room and dinner we had missed - because of their negligence! One other thing: the claim that they make that one can drive from Bergen to the hotel in 7 hours could only be done if you drove the Batmobile or had a boat car to avoid the ferries! Count on 9 hours, minimum. Better yet, spend a night on the way because the drive (especially if you include the stave kirke in Vik) provides fabulous scenery! Please note: we're still glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dianaholbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Storfjord Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guest. I do sincerely apologise and regret that we were unable to answer the phone calls you made. That is a highly unusual situation unfortunately caused by higher than normal demands on reception that day which triggered voice mail.

However I do not feel the hotel was responsible for your problems navigating. We must assume that guests travelling here by car will take some responsibility for their journey by taking a road map or GPS. Google maps estimates the driving time from Bergen to be approx. 7 hours. I understand it took you 13 hours to reach Magerholm (10 mins away from the hotel), which suggests you were touring and not just driving. You then boarded the Magerholm ferry to embark on a 1 hour journey in the wrong direction to Stranda. This was not instructed by the hotel.

We did provide you with the correct road number to take from Bergen at the time you made the reservation (E39). For a journey you are not familiar with it's best to allow some extra time, especially when ferries are involved.

On your arrival it was graciously made clear and without hesitation that you would not be charged any 'no show' cancellation fee for missing the first night of your reservation. Expecting a discount for your disorientation seems unreasonable.

Regardless of the travel problems you encountered we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Annbjørg Brown,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

An exquisite mountain resort lovingly and attentively built and run by its owners. The wooden planks were imported to meet the highest standards for sustainability, the food is locally grown and the rooms are simply elegant. There is no clutter or noise. In fact we received an e mail from the owner warning us that there would be some construction and apologizing in advance for any possible inconvenience this could cause.
The hotel is beautifully situated although hard to find. There are a couple of marked trails that leave from the door and take you up a lovely mountain path where you are rewarded by 180 views of the fjord.
We had two dinners and felt very pampered. The guest book is filled with similar testimonials of adoring fans and many end with the promise to return. Given the distances these people have travelled I would be surprised if they do!
In booking a room you need to know they are all different and that fjord views have a slight additional charge but are well worth it.
It reminded us of old English hunting lodges and luxury cabins in the American West. It is just spectacular for anybody looking for quiet, beauty and inspiration.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aripacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
199 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was probably my least favorite property in 2 1/2 weeks in Norway. It is not that the place is not physically very attractive. They have that going for them.

Here's a few things I found troubling given the high price point of this property.

1. Breakfast. Once again, in their price range the offerings are basic. There are a few meats and cheeses, bread, and cereal. The "fruit" was chopped into small pieces which you could attempt to transfer onto your plate with a small fork. My biggest complaint - the price list for any type of cooked item - to include soft boiled eggs. This was the only property in Norway that charged for this item - by egg no less. Many other properties offered fried eggs and bacon.

2. Mis-Information on The Website. The website describes the rooms as having television, DVD, and Wi-Fi. Televisions - yes, but no channels. Too bad if you assume television means watching something other than DVDs. Wi-Fi. Barry said - well, that does not work very well if at all in the rooms. However, these features are listed as a feature of the rooms.

3. The owner-managers. Anna was cordial and helpful. Barry was a non-entity. On my arrival, as he was dealing with some issue, he just let me stand for 10 minutes. He never once bothered to say hello or I will be with you in a minute.

4. Location. Isolated. You are at their mercy for drinks, meals, etc. All of which are very expensive.

I would look elsewhere on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Storfjord Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
We are very sorry you had a negative experience and will take on board your comments where we think it maybe necessary. It is not our intention to mislead in anyway.

Regarding your grievance over our pricing: we honestly feel we are competitive and comparable with other hotels.

We take pride in providing a small but fresh breakfast to our guests who are generally very satisfied with our emphasis on high quality ingredients such as local smoked salmon. As for the fruit being cut up into small portions, the chef has prepared this based on guest preference. We now serve cooked breakfast on request without extra charge.

Wireless internet access is available in all public areas of the hotel free of charge. In the rooms smaller wireless devices such as phones may struggle to find a signal as the timber walls absorb signals. RJ45 sockets and cables are available in most rooms as an alternative for laptops that cannot connect wirelessly.

We will always do our best to prevent any delay in service but kindly ask that people wait their turn if they can see we are attending to another guest who might be taking more time than usual.

Annbjørg Brown, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We had a nice one night stay out at this quiet remote property. It's an interesting hotel, new wood construction on a beautiful site on a hillside with a view. A nice rural retreat. The staff and owners were quite friendly. Enjoyed the dinner, too, a simple set menu but prepared better than you'd expect for such a small place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stunning views, rooms superb, excellent breakfast in the morning, nice DVD selection, free wi-fi, the best hosts your are likely to find (Anna and Barry) and with new Norwegian airline there is easy access at a good price from London.

Everyone should visit Norway and this location and hotel should top everyones agenda!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandEdlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

When we arrived at the hotel the owners were very concerned as they were completing building work on a new lodge and we were the only guests as it was so early in the season. They need not have worrried as we were on our honeymoon so being the only guests was a plus for us and we didn't hear the building work, however they went out of their way to ensure an exceptional stay. We were upgraded to a suite, builders had to keep quiet before 10am, they gave us a bottle of wine (worth a lot in Norway!) and they offered to book us into a sister hotel in Alesund if we didn't want to stay. The hotel is restful, ensuring great sleep and our every need was catered for. It's in a beautiful, secluded situation. Morever Annebjorg made sure we had a plan/activity for everyday - if we wanted it. Evening meals were delicious and the service was superb. Thank you for a memorable, wonderful honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangetip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skodje Municipality
19.1 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
15.1 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
15.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storfjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storfjord Hotel

Property: Storfjord Hotel
Address: Ovre Glomset, 6010, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Skodje Municipality
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodje Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Storfjord Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storfjord Hotel is a small luxury timber hotel in Norway. Ideally located for fjord touring near the famous 'Golden Route' and overlooking the Storfjord and Sunnmore Alps, the hotel offers a special atmosphere with unique and beautiful Norwegian style rooms that have balconies and stunning views.A multitude of activites are available throughout winter and summer from spectacular hiking trails to boat tours. The guest-only restaurant serves food made from the finest local ingredients and a wine selection to compliment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Storfjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storfjord Hotel møre Og Romsdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing