We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Storfjord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Storfjord Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived to the Storfjord after traveling 9 hours. Exhausted and cold we entered on of the most beautiful hotels we have ever seen- and we travel!. The hotel was constructed with tree logs, every space inviting and warm,it's impeccably clean and except for a daily walk we just rested and read books. This hotel is special not only because of its surroundings that are amazing but best of all were the people who work at the hotel-they were warm, helpful and interesting making our stay so special. we took hikes in the area and enjoyed coming back to what felt home.
we would be back in a second.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendann20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We arrived late to find Ruth, the manager, waiting for us to arrive. She was super nice!! Showed us around, and then to the dining room where the chefs were waiting to make us our (gourmet!) dinner!! Food throughout stay was excellent, as was all the help! Very, very pleasant and beautiful property overlooking a fjord. Room was excellent! Nice deck also.
Top notch place w/ top notch people! Highly recommend this property!!

Room Tip: Had a room w/ view of the fjord off the deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedtedFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Location is beautiful,warm helpful and friendly staff.

Room was spacious and comfortable and so was the bathroom.

Beautiful views from the room.

Breakfast is ok (more fresh fruits and vegetables are recommended)

Dinner was excellent (we had two) and a friendly American chef prepared it per our request.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This place is out if this world, where can I start, amazing setting, with a beautiful forest in a back and the lake/fjord in the front. I have to say that the best weather also helped.
We had a junior suite, which was large, authentic, charming and romantic. It had a queen size baldaquin bed, with amazing quality linen and down comforter. The room also had a large sofa, cute Scandinavian furniture and tasteful decoration. We enjoyed complimentary expresso in our room on our balcony. Nice bathroom with bath, which I requested (my fiancé likes showers and wasn't so practical), I loved my bath my bathrobe and sleepers. Also the amenities products were exellent.
The staff was so good in taking care of us, 2 dinners were amazing, and the waiter even set up the fireplace for us to relax in main living room for an after dinner drink.
The breakfast was beautifully set, with everything you could wish for, from smoked salmon, egg and bacon, cheese, fruits, and much much more...
The chef was excellent, and eager to please us, he even walked us to the lake to set us up with a boat rental and fishing gear. The next day he gave us a map of some trails for us to go on a hike in the forest around the hotel.
We have stayed in beautiful places but I have to say that it's the only time I wish this was my place. The place is quiet and peaceful.
I definitively suggest to reserve in main building with lake view.
I printed the map with google map and its was easy to find.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

An absolutely fabulous hotel!!!
The rooms were very clean and tidy! The decorations reminded of a fairytale.The food was perfect and the dinner was served in a nice setting. The location was perfect and the owners and the stuff very friendly!!
We are looking forward to revisit !!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagi-riz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Up a long and bumpy dirt road about a mile (or a KM or two) from the 656 road you'll find the Storfjord Hotel. Watch for the little white sign on the road (on the right if you're coming from Geringer or Andalesnes; on the left if you're coming from Alesund) or else you might miss your turn.



We chose to stay here for two nights as we wanted to stay in a beautiful traditional Norwegian hotel (the type of construction is officially named Lafta … also known as "Cross Logging", as the "History of Storfjord Hotel" pages in the Hotel's guidebook will tell you). Anna and Barry run this hotel (which reminded me more of the intimate small family run places you'd find in England or the U.S) along with four Lithuanian girls they imported for the season. Anna is the more outgoing and friendly of the two, and she was incredibly helpful to get information from (she has a suitcase full of various tourist brochures and maps from which she'll suggest various walking treks and tours that one can do). It's a lot more fun to use Anna for touring ideas than the disinterested office drones who staff the tourist offices in town.



When we arrived, one of the girls showed us two different rooms to choose from. One room was in the very recently opened new building and was a very nice size (almost suite-like) and a view of a lush valley, but we opted for the smaller room named "Asp" in the main building, as it had a gorgeous view of the fjord down the hill.



The hotel's wooden buildings are incredibly comfortable and surprisingly modern. You will hear some noise from other people going up and down the stairs though.



I asked one of the girls if they ever cut the grass on top of the roof. Nope. :-)



Internet access is somewhat spotty, but I'm thankful it was available and free!



Down a rocky path to the Glomset Bay edge (Google maps calls it Honningdalsvågen) you'll find a little boathouse containing bikes and there is also a kayak and a boat (make your significant other do the rowing :-) that can be rented.



In terms of dining, your choices are 1) dinner at the hotel or 2) drive many KM's and at least 20-30 minutes in any direction to find another dining spot (there is a shopping mall on the way to Alesund named the Amfi Moa which has lots of dining options). We did opt for dinner at the hotel one night and were very glad we did. The three course meal started with cheese tart, the main was potatoes and steak filets on a bed of lemon-infused spinach. The dessert was a small gooey chocolate cake with ice cream. We felt it was worth the 550 KR ($101 USD) per person price and would recommend doing dinner at least once during your stay. For each night you eat at the hotel though, budget at least $300 USD extra for dinner and a bottle of wine to share between two people.



Looking over the dining room (and above the kitchen) is a lounge space of sorts, with lots of various books and a few comfy couches to relax on.



A couple things to note:

To get to this place you really must rent a car. Aside from a few excellent hikes up and down from the hotel, everything else you'd want to see beyond Storfjord Hotel requires significant driving. The hiking trails around the hotel have some signs (and Anna can provide maps). Bring some hiking gear and insect repellent if possible though, as the late August week we were there the local trails were overrun with clouds of flying ants while the walking paths in the town of Geiranger (about 30-40 minutes drive & a ferry away but still one of the places you're likely to visit if you're staying here) were quite muddy and slippery from some intense rainfall. The hotel itself was completely bug-free (the hotel has electronic devices to repel insects from the surroundings). 



Bring a voltage converter if you have anything meant for American plugs. 



In the Asp room, there was no peg to put the hand held shower nozzle on, so you will have to be very acrobatic while you are maneuvering around the tub (and you'll still probably soak the floor somewhat).



The bed was quite comfortable (looked like a brass frame) but the board supporting the mattress was somewhat flimsy and really warped down with two people on it. I love romantic brass beds but I was afraid to get into the bed at times with my size. Anna says the bed will be replaced but I was merely hoping the bed board & frame could be made stronger.

I was also thankful that they accepted a bag full of laundry and did it overnight for me (at a cost of 150NOK). It was great to have fresh clothes during the middle of our trip.



Would we do the stay again? Yes! Is this place good for honeymoons and romantic getaways, absolutely! 



Hopefully this information helps you out. And if you did find useful information in my review, please let me know by clicking the "Helpful" link down below. Have a great stay!

Room Tip: If the hotel isn't full, I think they'll offer a choice of rooms (with different views &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

In an otherwise magnificent setting of unmatched natural beauty and lovely, ancient construction design, the hotel was disquietingly absent in its help to get us there by car. It was nightmarish: they didn't answer my frantic voice mail from the road at 5:30 PM, and consequently we never found it that night. The map we were sent was totally useless, and led us to go two hours and a ferry ride further than we needed. At 11:45 PM, we called again and were told to call back in 30 minutes. Naturally we tried to find a police station to direct us. No help. The only ace open in Standa, Norway at midnight was a hotel that thankfully had room for us. When we got to the proper place the next morning, they were very gracious in their words but offered no discount for the trouble we'd been put through. In fact the man at first wanted us to pay for the room and dinner we had missed - because of their negligence! One other thing: the claim that they make that one can drive from Bergen to the hotel in 7 hours could only be done if you drove the Batmobile or had a boat car to avoid the ferries! Count on 9 hours, minimum. Better yet, spend a night on the way because the drive (especially if you include the stave kirke in Vik) provides fabulous scenery! Please note: we're still glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dianaholbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 August 2011

Dear Guest. I do sincerely apologise and regret that we were unable to answer the phone calls you made. That is a highly unusual situation unfortunately caused by higher than normal demands on reception that day which triggered voice mail.

However I do not feel the hotel was responsible for your problems navigating. We must assume that guests travelling here by car will take some responsibility for their journey by taking a road map or GPS. Google maps estimates the driving time from Bergen to be approx. 7 hours. I understand it took you 13 hours to reach Magerholm (10 mins away from the hotel), which suggests you were touring and not just driving. You then boarded the Magerholm ferry to embark on a 1 hour journey in the wrong direction to Stranda. This was not instructed by the hotel.

We did provide you with the correct road number to take from Bergen at the time you made the reservation (E39). For a journey you are not familiar with it's best to allow some extra time, especially when ferries are involved.

On your arrival it was graciously made clear and without hesitation that you would not be charged any 'no show' cancellation fee for missing the first night of your reservation. Expecting a discount for your disorientation seems unreasonable.

Regardless of the travel problems you encountered we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Annbjørg Brown,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skodje Municipality
19.1 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
169 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
443 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sagafjord Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
8.4 mi away
Best Western Baronen Hotell
24.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Alexandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storfjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storfjord Hotel

Address: Ovre Glomset, 6010, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Skodje Municipality
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodje Municipality
Price Range: £111 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Storfjord Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storfjord Hotel is a small luxury timber hotel in Norway. Ideally located for fjord touring near the famous 'Golden Route' and overlooking the Storfjord and Sunnmore Alps, the hotel offers a special atmosphere with unique and beautiful Norwegian style rooms that have balconies and stunning views.A multitude of activites are available throughout winter and summer from spectacular hiking trails to boat tours. The guest-only restaurant serves food made from the finest local ingredients and a wine selection to compliment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Storfjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storfjord Hotel møre Og Romsdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing