We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Storfjord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Storfjord Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a special destination : expensive, exclusive, difficult to find, stunning location, pleasing wooden chalets in an enclave on a hill overlooking a fjord.
Pluses:
1. You feel pampered the minute you arrive. Charming, stylish and endlessly helpful female staff meet and greet the guests.
2. A terrace of tables and chairs with rolling hills and an unforgettable view.
3. A big, comfortable bed; we also had a balcony with a view.
4. A large,library lounge, with a log fire and huge comfy sofas.
Minuses :
1. Hand-held shower in tub regularly flooded the bathroom.
2. No wardrobe, in a superior deluxe room, just a rail for your clothes.
3. At best an average dinner, with chaotic service. There were only 4 couples eating there on a Saturday night, and the waiting staff had a hard time coping.
Unacceptable:
No wine list. The photocopied version which appeared, on request had no prices on it . I know this can happen in 3-star Michelin restaurants, but here, unfortunately, the young sommelier didn't know his chardonnay from his pinot noir, and had to dash in and out of the kitchen to check on prices. We gave up and had a beer .
The hotel is beautiful in a gorgeous setting;some of the staff are a delight,but the catering doesn't live up to expectations. Eat at the XL Diner in Alesund instead : delightful harbour view, memorable salt cod and good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a fjord view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnoldManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    19
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
77
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
strathpeffer
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a lovely stay to celebrate my 60th Birthday.The setting,rooms,fittings and food were all excellent..We arrived late morning and they kindly prepared our room and allowed us access promptly.The staff were friendly and made it clear they were happy to help in any way they could but it would have been nice to have detailed guest information available in the room.You are told there is a set four course dinner and asked about any allergies or dislikes but otherwise there is no choice whatsoever and no mention of price unless you ask.Ordering wine was I'm afraid a farce.There is a "package " available (supposedly) to match the dinner courses but the waiting staff have no knowledge of wine(our waiter thought pinot noir was white) and the wines are overpriced (Jacobs Creek!).The matching was also poor eg a sweet "vendange tardive" Reisling with fish.Once again no prices are given unless you ask and there is no wine list.There is a mini bar in the rooms but no bar in the hotel and again no drinks list in the dining room or lounges.
There are no televisions,radios,DVD's or docking stations in the rooms or lounges and while I appreciate that many people would consider that a good thing I think a top class hotel would have anticipated that during the world cup some guests would have appreciated access to a television.
If you want a very quiet time in beautiful surroundings and in great comfort this is the place for you.
The owners need to understand that most people however wealthy like to know the cost of things and not to feel embarrased by having to repeatedly ask the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorStrathpeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I spent five blissful days/nights here after a conference in Oslo and a stop in Bergen. It could not have been a better choice for hiking, enjoying the magnificent scenery, and celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary. The exquisite beauty of our room and the common areas of the hotel provided the utmost in comfort, while our warm and helpful host, Anna, gave us good hike and tour advice. At first we were disappointed that our room did not face the fjord, but soon wanted nothing other than our peaceful upper corner room in the trees, with the sound of a rushing stream below. Pure heaven to return there after strenuous hikes with breathtaking views of the fjords and mountains. Great bathtub and great bed! The breakfasts were delicious, as was our anniversary dinner at the hotel. Alesund, about 20 minutes away, is a lovely little city. Our Geiranger fjord day was terrific, with fjord ferry, and I recommend the hike up to the top of the waterfall at Geiranger -- steep, but worth it. Our two other favorite hikes were up Sukkertoppen and Godoya. Again, the views! And again home to our welcoming log house with grass on the roof.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We did a 5 day trip around the mid coast of Norway and stayed in some lovely hotels (all reviewed). The Storfjord hotel is an amazing piece of architecture - all wooden logs interlocking making up the walls and lovely wood everywhere else. The bathrooms are fantastic and the food in the restaurant was brilliant. The hotel is just beautiful and the views out over the fjord are just lovely, as another reviewer said - picture postcard.

We stayed mid week and were only one of three couples in the hotel, and were the only ones that ate dinner in the hotel. You would probably want to eat in the hotel as the closest village is a drive away. We had an excellent dinner with wine and really enjoyed it. The food and service was very good - the price was pretty high, however that is the way of Norway. Good stuff is not cheap!

The bedrooms are very quiet and very comfortable - the coffee facilities are Nespresso, so good quality and they also had decaffeinated coffee which was a treat as most places we went to did not.

The road to the hotel is dirt after you leave the main road, so be wary in winter...

Room Tip: Get a room with fjord views. We stayed in 32 and it was great. The upper floor of our block may ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Beautiful hotel in the nature with amazing view on the fjord. We had an upgrade and the suite was so nice all in wood. The balcony gave direct in the forest. We had a very good dinner with a nice waitress and the breakfast was full of various things. We loved that place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carob77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

One of the top 3 hotels of our trip. What a wonderful location, view, garden. Nice big room and bathroom. Comfy beds and a terrace with a wonderful view. Superb decoration, everywhere
fire places that gave a nice comfy atmosphere. We just loved it.
The location is 20 minutes away from Alesund.
A must do is the Aksla viewpoint in Alesund.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerdaEdegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

A dreamy stay in a beautiful hotel located in a postcard-like place. The owner and staff were super friendly and helpful. We stayed there only for one night and wish we could stay there for a week. Everything is designed to make you feel good and comfy. The restaurant is with candle light and great view. The food was amazing thoughtfully made with fresh local ingredients.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitzanwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skodje Municipality
19.1 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
15.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
15.1 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
15.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storfjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storfjord Hotel

Property: Storfjord Hotel
Address: Ovre Glomset, 6010, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Skodje Municipality
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodje Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Storfjord Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storfjord Hotel is a small luxury timber hotel in Norway. Ideally located for fjord touring near the famous 'Golden Route' and overlooking the Storfjord and Sunnmore Alps, the hotel offers a special atmosphere with unique and beautiful Norwegian style rooms that have balconies and stunning views.A multitude of activites are available throughout winter and summer from spectacular hiking trails to boat tours. The guest-only restaurant serves food made from the finest local ingredients and a wine selection to compliment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Storfjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storfjord Hotel møre Og Romsdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing