We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful 4 day stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winston, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geoffsu12...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful 4 day stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Arrived on 25th May amazing cottage beautiful 4 poster bed ,Huge TV and a stunning hot tub which we used every night chilling with a glass of wine ,looking at the stars , brilliant !!!
Very friendly and accommodating hosts. The alpaca's are great fun so are the horses in field backing onto the cottage , they are very friendly and nosey. The cottage is in an ideal setting,
The location is ideal for touring the local area , with some spectacular waterfalls nearby within a 1hr drive .
A brilliant time spent here , will definitely be back.!!!
Geoff & Su
Kent

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic break!”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had such a lovely stay at this country cottage!! Perfect place for a romantic break - the bed is huge and so comfortable, there are fabulous walks in the surrounding countryside (which is beautiful) and the hot tub is AMAZING!! There's also a donkey and two llama's in the fields around the farm! I had friends staying at Barforth Lodge which is a 12 bed cottage just next door which was also excellent! Will definitely return here with my family later in the year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hit tub and the countryside location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
210daveb
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disappointing stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Agree with previous review.difficult to lock and unlock front door.lighting poor and some not working.pans not clean and need replacing these should have been addressed prior to our visit.also kitchen utensils need replacing blunt knives etc.also lack of usefull visitor info.booked for 1 week left after 3rd nights.
Could be a much better place with just a little more attention.shower and heating very good .small uncomfortable settee needs replacing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEOE
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Such Potential - Just not finished enough”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
6
people found this review helpful

Let me make it clear from the start, this place is not bad but it could so easily be great.

So we arrived, the instructions sent were pretty spot on and SATNAV IS USELESS!!

The property is a sb- divided cottage with front living room/bedroom, kitchen and a bathroom.

First impressions aren't great, there is what appears to be a recycled double glazed front door, it doesn't fit with look of the cottage and it's not brilliantly fitted either. This wants ripping out and a sympathetic door fitting, same with the front window.

Inside is a nice size room with a wooden floor. There is a massive 4 poster bed, it fills the room. It's is VERY comfy and a good nights sleep is certain, but it's just far to big for the room.

This leaves little space and so an old two seater settee is all there is left plus an enormous TV, sizes need rebalancing!!

A double bed, a nice NEW 3 seater settee and smaller TV is needed all the other furniture can go. The room needs painting in magnolia with an accent wall, the awful chandelier and wall lights need changing for modern understated fittings and put on dimmers, nice!

The heating is electrical oil fired wall heaters, these work brilliantly and are not the cheap versions either the best heating solution for none gas supplied sites I've seen, well done. There is permanent hot water as well, piping hot such a rarity normally.

There is a nicely fitted kitchen with all you need, even a washing machine, I'd swap that out for a half dishwasher myself. Now water pressure is an issue as it takes time to fill the sink, an up front pump might help, but tbh, two people aren't going to be bothered by that very much. Now the only two little issues with the kitchen are; the sink overflow is not connected so I flooded the under sink unit before realising and my single biggest bug bare, clearly a feed was put in for an extractor hood, not only does this form a little pig tail at the kitchen ceiling but it has good old insulation tape making it "safe". ugly and not safe. The finish is ok but could be better!

The bathroom is okay, shower, bath, sink and toilet. There is somewhat of a mish mash of tiles they don't go together and are poorly laid on floor and walls, paint on them and looks just a LOT DIY. The bath is pointless a nice wet room would have been nice, it's far to big as well. The shower needs a water pump fitting as there is no pressure!! The heat in the bathroom is from the towel rail, what an amazing bit of kit!! Does a brilliant job.

On to the reason we came here, the hot tub. It's not the usual plastic box, it's a pine? bath that is wood fired! Lighting it is dead easy but you need to stoke and stoke it, didn't bother me in the slightest, eventually after much stoking and stiring we had a lovely couple of hours. Now the wood provided only did the one night, I picked up some more the next day at Barnard Castle which again lasted just one night. The wood needs to be rapid burning so old timber and small logs are best. I'm sure the owners have plenty of timber but there is no phone signal up there and I didn't really want to be knocking on their door at 9pm! It's great fun thou.

So to summarise,we had a smashing weekend in the North East in a beautiful location and a Hottub! the place just wants finishing properly inside and out. It has great potential but just needs a knowing eye to oversee it. I'd definitely stay again, but in its present state I wouldnt pay what I paid for three nights!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing