We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winston, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mich l
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely stay ”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We had our 2nd anniversary here,it was absolutely beautiful! Lovely walks,hot tub was great once we worked out how to heat it properly,the only downside was there is no mattress or pillow protection!!! And a badly stained quilt!! Not nice knowing how many people sleep in this bed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmabowde...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My boyfriend booked us a weekend away in April at Barforth Hall Cottage for our anniversary and we had a fantastic time. The cottage was easy to find the with instructions given by Sykes and it was in a beautiful and peaceful location. The cottage was clean and cosy with lovely views to wake up to. We used the hot tub each night and we found it really easy to light and to keep going. It took about 4 hours the first night but by the third it was hot within 40 minutes. Couldn't fault this holiday at all and can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyorke
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage nice size TV, Queen size bed, couldn't get the hot tub hot on the first night foned Paula next day and Jason came straight up with more wood just simply explained I need to throw a load of wood on once it's alight, and keep it stoked, not rocket science I no but some people have tried and failed instead of asking like I did lol
Going home tomorrow and had a great weekend, does exactly what it says on the tin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hippo2016
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just back from our week stay. Disappointed first view of the outside nothing like the picture just a hanging basket with 2 artificial flowers in. The cottage is roomy and nice and clean. Very large comfy bed. Think it would benefit from 2 chairs instead of the small settee which was cramped and not very comfy. We were not left a welcome pack which has always been the case in all the other properties we have stayed in. The surrounding areas are lovely with lots to do and see.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Break away from it all”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We've booked several cottages for weekend breaks away as we find them really relaxing and enjoy the peace and quiet away from it all. We always envisage pub meals, log fire, old world style cottage. This cottage was a bit different...

We approached via a long single track road which leads down to the farm buildings. We were met by the friendly owners who saw us into the cottage and let us know that they were just nearby if we need anything.

The cottage is clean and tidy and the 4 poster bed is massive and very comfortable. There was a small two seater sofa (not quite big enough to sprawl out on but adequate for sitting to watch the large TVs which had satellite channels and a selection of DVDs.

We tried to walk to the village but after trying several attempts across the waterlogged fields, even in wellies we realised this wasn't going to be an easy task at this time of year so turned back. There went our evening walks to a cosy pub. But maybe that was a good thing. We went in the car to Barnard Castle and stocked up on wine and food and enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the cottage instead.

We tried to use the hot tub but after a few hours of waiting for it to warm up we concluded February is obviously far too cold and the water being like ice to start off with.

Our phone signal disappeared on approaching the cottage but there was adequate wifi signal in the cottage to keep in touch with the outside world if you want to.

I think we chose the wrong time of year for this particular cottage but still enjoyed our weekend. The scenery and area around the cottage are beautiful and plenty of places to visit close by.

The cottage is worth going to just for the bed. Honestly the most comfiest I have ever slept in!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffsu12...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful 4 day stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Arrived on 25th May amazing cottage beautiful 4 poster bed ,Huge TV and a stunning hot tub which we used every night chilling with a glass of wine ,looking at the stars , brilliant !!!
Very friendly and accommodating hosts. The alpaca's are great fun so are the horses in field backing onto the cottage , they are very friendly and nosey. The cottage is in an ideal setting,
The location is ideal for touring the local area , with some spectacular waterfalls nearby within a 1hr drive .
A brilliant time spent here , will definitely be back.!!!
Geoff & Su
Kent

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic break!”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had such a lovely stay at this country cottage!! Perfect place for a romantic break - the bed is huge and so comfortable, there are fabulous walks in the surrounding countryside (which is beautiful) and the hot tub is AMAZING!! There's also a donkey and two llama's in the fields around the farm! I had friends staying at Barforth Lodge which is a 12 bed cottage just next door which was also excellent! Will definitely return here with my family later in the year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hit tub and the countryside location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing