We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Palm Cottage and the Tropical Hideaway experience...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The stunning kaleidoscope colours of Admiralty Bay as seen from Palm Cottage veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning kaleidoscope colours of Admiralty Bay as seen from Palm Cottage veranda
Dine Alfresco style on your private veranda with this amazing view Palm Cottage has beautiful furniture and plenty of space to relax and wind down
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
30 reviews
The stunning kaleidoscope colours of Admiralty Bay as seen from Palm Cottage veranda
Dine Alfresco style on your private veranda with this amazing view
Palm Cottage has beautiful furniture and plenty of space to relax and wind down
The beautiful vaulted ceiling in Palm Cottage
One of my favourite views. The Infinity Pool and a spectacular sunset
Stunning views of the Gazebo,  Caribbean Sea and Admiralty Bay from Palm Cottage veranda
The stunning views of Admiralty Bay as seen from Palm Cottage veranda
The Infinity Pool is tiled using natural stone pebbles and heated for all year round use
The clear waters of the Infinity Pool with it's coral seats and natural stone pebbles
This stunning photo of a busy New Years Eve was taken from inside the Infinity Pool
Palm Cottage is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and has the most amazing views
24' of glass patio doors lead onto the veranda with the most stunning views
Princess Margaret Beach 5min by car or a 20min walk to the best beach on the Island.
Snorkelling is good around both the headlands on Princess Margaret Beach
The beautiful white sandy beach of Princess Margaret. 20 min walk or 5 mins by car
Snorkelling around one of Princess Margaret headlands can be very good
Palm Cottage has a well laid out kitchen and is very well equipped
The spacious and luxuriously furnished Palm Cottage living area
The views of Admiralty Bay are forever changing as ships and yachts come and go
Looking towards Palm Cottage as viewed from the Infinity Studio veranda
The sunken Pool Bar with a stunning sunset in front of the pool
The lovely Gazebo has beautiful sunsets and incredible daytime views of Caribbean Sea
Another sunset, another day and another incredible view
A photo of the Infinity Pool as it is being slowly filled with water
The largest sailing ship in the World as seen from the Gazebo
The lovely Gazebo is the ideal place to relax, read or just look at the incredible views
The stunning Infinity Pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea with Hamilton Fort on the right
The evenings ambience at Tropical Hideaway can be stunning
Beautiful Palm Cottage as seen from our tropical gardens
The spacious bedroom and living area of Palm Cottage
Breathtaking views, stunning accommodation and an incredible Infinity Pool
The natural stone pebbles blend in so well with the Caribbean Sea
The night time ambience at Tropical Hideaway is stunning
The worlds largest sailing ship on the edge of the Infinity Pool. Simply breathatking
A beautiful view of the Infinity Pool overlooking the  Caribbean Sea
The views and colours are forever changing
The Pool deck is natural stone coral. A stunning, non slip, heat free deck.
This is actually a real sunset taken from inside the Infinity Pool.
The large pool patio area in front of the Pool has plenty of chairs, sun mats and parasols
The place to be.... Sunset in or around the Infinity Pool is simply amazing
This stunning photo of a busy New Years Eve was taken from inside the Infinity Pool
Be careful you don't float over the edge
Floating in heaven as one guest said
The 'World' cruise ship, just off our Infinity edge, sails continuously around the World
The views and colours are forever changing
Looking over the Infinity Pool from inside the sunken Pool Bar
An evening view of Tropical Hideaway Villa and the Infinity Pool
Beautiful views, an incredible Infinity Pool and 5* accommodation
The Gazebo with the barbecue area in front as seen from the path to Hibiscus Cottage
Princess Margaret Beach. The best on the island, pristine, safe and totally unspoilt
The beautiful white sandy beach of Princess Margaret. 20 min walk or 5 mins by car
Lovely Fay selling some of her souvenirs on Princess Maraget Beach
Princess Margaret Beach. Crystal clear water, pristine, safe and unspoilt
The pontoon at Jack's Bar. Princess Margaret Beach
Jack's Bar on Princess Margaret beach serves excellent food
You could be here looking at this stunning view
Palm Cottage as seen through the lush tropical gardens
Palm Cottage as seen from the Infinity Studio veranda
A large sailing ship anchors as seen from the veranda of Palm Cottage
Palm Cottage is light and airy with luxurious furnishings
Beautiful views looking through the 24' of sliding patio doors
Palm Cottage has a well laid out kitchen and is very well equipped
Palm Cottage shower room has luxury towels and complimentary organic toiletries
The recently restored Belmont Walkway leads to 3 of Bequia's best beaches.
The Belmont Walkway as it wraps around the headland at Princess Margaret Beach
The world famous Frangipani Hotel on the Belmont walkway
The are 2 excellent dive and snorkelling shops on Bequia
Getting married on the beach is a dream for many and can easily be arranged.
Beautiful Bequia. Charming, friendly, unspoilt with pristine white sandy beaches
Be careful you don't float over the edge
The Infinity Pool in the evening is simply stunning
An aerial view taken with our drone helicopter
Tropical Hideaway is surrounded by lush natural forest and has the most amazing views
There are many dayboats and sailing yachts offering a day charter to nearby islands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Richmond, Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NL1957
Somerset UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Palm Cottage and the Tropical Hideaway experience are the 8th Wonder of the World!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to Bequia but first to Tropical Hideaway, and though eagerly anticipated by the excellent website, nothing could have prepared us for the reality of Martin and Julie's creation of their dream. We stayed in Palm Cottage, a luxuriously appointed, private accommodation for two with views to die for, yet very conveniently situated close to the villa's star attraction-the infinity pool complex.
From start to finish nothing was too much trouble for Martin or Julie, -not that much had been omitted- but it was the little touches, a complimentary starter pack of essentials, offers of a lift into town, through supply of superglue for my wife's broken (sat on) sunglasses, to impromptu rum punch drinks parties, that really made our stay more than special. I can certainly say that life doesn't get much better than sipping a glass of Martin's Famous while watching the sun go down from the edge of the infinity pool.
Palm Cottage itself is spotlessly clean, extremely well equipped, has the most fabulous views over Port Elizabeth and beyond, and yet while being close to the pool complex and the main house, still enjoys a unique privacy which gives an overall comfortable feeling of living in your own luxurious tree-house! The trade wind breezes, through sliding netting doors kept us comfortably cool overnight without the need for the installed aircon and (if you keep the doors shut as advised by Martin and Julie) completely mosquito-free. For eating out in the evening anti-mossie lotion is advised, but another nice touch was a complimentary bottle of 'Off', along with all kinds of other complimentary toiletries and sundries, tea, coffee, sugar, snacks etc.
Having previously visited the Island, we had experience of where to go, what to do, where to eat etc, but as always Martin and Julie supplied up to date, pertinent advice from personal experience, which was accurate, and from our perspective very useful-we enjoyed one of our best meals ever in the Caribbean at L'Auberge.
What more can I say? Other than thank you Julie and Martin for sharing your dream with us, and successfully turning your piece of Bequia into a five (or even six) star Paradise.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimChampa...
Champaign
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Five stars”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I need to add a few things to my wife's review.

We were picked up at the airport by a taxi and driven to the site. The first thing you notice is the absolutely stunning view of the harbor and the island. The venue generally faces west and offers an unparalleled view of the sunset.

The owners, Julie and Martin, met us on arrival and very thoughtfully briefed us on the cottage as well as the infinity pool and the general rhythm of the Hideaway.

There are some features of the venue that are unique. Virtually all rainwater is collected and used on site. Potable water is delivered to the cottages. Hot water is created by solar. As Beqia is on the arid side the "green" aspect of solar heated water is very environmentally friendly.

The grounds are immaculate with very much care given to native plants as well as to the small potted plants of lettuce, arugula and basil (Martin told us we could pick some - honest!) It truly is soothing to simply take in the landscaping.

As for the cottages the sense is one of excellent design. The spaces, sense of proportion and views all work together to make the cottage unique. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils, glasses and plates (that actually matched one another, some places have a motley collection of mismatched plates. Palm has all-matching plates) plus a nice-sized fridge. The bathroom is modern with a very nice shower and modern plumbing fixtures. Towels are provided and are high quality. Julie (one of the owners) went out of her way to find a couple beach towels for us to take to the beach every day which meant a lot to us. There is a nice drying rack for towels, suits, etc on the balcony. The balcony is large and unbeatable in terms of views.

The room is provided with a large screen TV on which can be viewed (for free) a zillion movies from their library (we didn't use this option as we were on Bequia to scuba dive and hang out on the beach). The room has WiFi as does the rest of the grounds which is very convenient for keeping up with events at home. We did spend a fair amount of time enjoying the infinity pool with the other guests who all were pleasant conversationalists and, of course, interesting to meet and socialize with.

No review would be complete without a rave over Martin and Julie, the owners. Exceedingly nice people in their own right, they were extremely gracious hosts who never missed the opportunity to ask how were were doing or if we needed anything or if they could inform us on some aspect of Bequia.

We fully intend to return to this wonderful place!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Stunning views from a marvelous venue shared with friendly people
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swgleason
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this,”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from 8 nights at Palm Cottage. We were treated with perfect hospitality, the cottage is spectacular, the views are breath taking, and we never wanted for anything (except the green flash)!
When we arrived Martin and Julie had already pre-stocked our fridge with everything necessary to cover our first few meals so we didn't have to run to the store after our day of traveling. We had wine, beer, eggs, cheese, bread, snacks, coffee and tea plus more! This allowed us to hang out at the amazing infinity edge pool and enjoy some of Martins homemade rum punch on our first night.
We have been to Bequia 3 times and we have now found our favorite place. I truly can't say enough great things. Martin and Julie will do anything for you, although other than a dinner reservation or 2 we had no other needs! That's how perfectly set up Palm Cottage is. One night we went to dinner with Martin and Julie and a few of the other guests and had a wonderful time.
There are several different places to stay here and all are gorgeous. I would be happy in any of them. I consider myself quite picky so this is really great praise. The windows are all screened and since it sets up on a hill the breeze is perfect and there was absolutely no need for AC. We had NO problem with mosquitoes. We had arrived with mosquito coils and never once opened them up.
We spent our week scuba diving in the am and then hung out at the beach and then the infinity edge pool sipping punch at the end of the day. Absolutely lovely. Thank you Martin and Julie for making such an incredible place available. Can't wait to return!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Spectacular location and view and perfectly designed cottage
Liked least: There was nothing i didn't like except leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
retiremen...
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Place you will want to return to”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we stepped on the island, our Tropical hidewaway hosts had our needs met. Delivery to their location, access to be able to get around, a wealth of ideas and information. The facilities were all top notch, clean, lovely decor, breath taking views and a wonderful pool!
We were in the Palm cottage - but any one of the rooms would have been fabulous

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the infinity pool AND our hosts
Liked least: that I could not stay longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lambsharo...
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In The Palm - this is the Picturesque, Private,Idle of the Tropical Hideaway”
Reviewed 15 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Nestled in the tropical garden, this private cottage gave us the opportunity to unwind and and loose our selves in the beauty of the island. My very first morning I stood on the balcony taking in the site and sounds as humming birds moving between the trees just feet away. Overlooking the Bay the harbour gave new interest every day with ships and boats of all sizes.
Our cottage, catered for our every need, it has a efficient kitchen area and luxurious shower room, a multimedia system provided film and music , with Wi- Fi for all our entertainment and communications, when we returned from our days exploring. I couldn't recommend this holiday more. We had an adventure every day at the Palm, we could decide what activity we wanted to do, as the pool became our alternative to the beach if we chose not to journey out. In the evening socialising in the pool with drinks at the bar, watching the sunset to night sky it all sounds like a dream now.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Being surrounded by the Tropical nature and wildlife
Liked least: storage for cases
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spebaby_T...
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream holiday.”
Reviewed 9 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Before I start, would like to Thank Martin and Julie for everything they did to help us feel at home whilst at Tropical hideaway. Tropical hideaway is beautiful!! Martin and Julie have buillt the perfect holiday hideaway. We stayed in Palm cottage, which is a lovely big self contained cottage. It has a kitchenette and a gorgeous veranda with the most breath taking views. Whilst out for dinner we met a couple who said that the pool at Tropical hideaway is the best pool in all of Bequia. I agree. We could spend hours in the pool, just looking at the view. We would definitely go back. Word to the wise, avoid walking up the hill after going to town!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph M
Kingstown, Saint George, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 23 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I wish I could have stayed forever! This private villa felt like home away in paradise. Julie and Martin (the owners) were kind and made sure we had everything we needed for our short visit to Bequia. They drove us down to the boardwalk and gave us great suggestions for dinner. The rooms were beautiful and had ammenities that you can't find many other places in Bequia. The infinity pool was georgous; there was no need to go to the white sand beach which was a short taxi ride away. I hope to return in the near future. This is a private residence and not like a hotel.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The ambience, and the friendliness of the owners.
Liked least: The worst part was that I had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$242
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing