We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fauhope Country House
Nearby Hotels
Burt's Hotel(Melrose)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
County Hotel(Selkirk)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Hotel(Selkirk)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
281
9
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
9
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseildon hillsdrawing roomtea and cakeroaring firescottish borderscompoteperfect hostsvery special placewonderful staynothing too much troubleperfect place to staywarmest of welcomesglorious viewson arrivalentrance hallextensive gardensvisiting friends
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fauhope House is a beautiful bed and breakfast.The interior is stunning and its setting equally so.
It has been furnished beautifully, with an abundance of very fine art, antiques and little extras dotted tastefully around the property.
A true escape from staying in a run of the mill hotel, with the excellent personal service (Sheila is Lovely!) and touches that make EVERY penny spent all the more worthwhile! Knowing what it takes to keep a business like this running, this was an experience that truly deserves nothing but the EXCELLENT accolade it has achieved.
Being a Family with 2 young boys of 7 & 4, we were a bit worried with the 5 stars, thinking the place may be a bit unsuitable, but this was far from the reality. The atmosphere is extremely friendly and welcoming and our boys loved their stay too. It was great watching them from our bedroom window, running around in the HUGE beautiful kept grounds.
Thank you and all the best for the future :o)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alamo_Guest_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fauhope, Public Relations Manager at Fauhope Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay. It was wonderful that the boys did so too!! I hope that running around in the garden tired them out somewhat!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fabulous room , very comfortable. Loved all the Moulton Brown soaps and bath gel.
Breakfast was amazing, lots of fresh fruit and the cooked breakfast was perfect.
The hostess was very s friendly. The views over the garden amazing.

Room Tip: So close to he Town of Melrose. Just a short walk over the metal Bridge
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRIAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fauhope, Public Relations Manager at Fauhope Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback for us! So glad you enjoyed the Molton Brown products!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Sheila and Ian are fantastic hosts and we were delighted to take our annual pilgrimage to Fauhope as our base for the Melrose 7s. Fauhope is stunning, beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable and nestled snugly into the hillside. Breakfasts are delicious and so filling you won't need lunch. Happy to recommend - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudieSpoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fauhope, Public Relations Manager at Fauhope Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Another Melrose Sevens has come and gone! A great time of year to catch up with everyone - glad you enjoyed your stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We booked two rooms at Fauhope House for 6 nights from 4 April. It is such a lovely house and the hosts Sheila & Ian are warm, friendly and welcoming people. Breakfasts were superb. Rooms and Beds are extremely comfortable. we would happily stay there again and it is a great place from which to explore the Tweed Valley and the Borders. Edinburgh is an easy drive away too. Am happy to recommend Fauhope to future guests

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is the most comfortable B&B we've ever stayed in. A beautiful situation, overlooking the River Tweed looking towards Melrose. A very warm welcome from delightful owners, nothing too much trouble. A very comfortable and well appointed good size bedroom and spacious bathroom (bath only in ours), free use of a large lounge and a very generous and beautifully cooked breakfast. Eating out not a problem, two places in Gattonside that are OK, plenty of choice across the river in Melrose (walkable). Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We had a look at all the rooms, they all looked very comfortable and had good views of the beautiful grounds. Perhaps depends on whether you prefer a shower or a bath...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 321Roger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews