We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in, and I will be back”
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel is faultless, great location with great views, we stayed in a room with a juliette balcony with views over the lake which was beautiful. All of the staff are friendly and so helpful. I ordered flowers and champagne to our room as a surprise which were beautiful and great value.
We had food in the bistro which was outstanding.
Best breakfast we have ever had superb quality and all fresh.
We can't wait to visit again a real home away from home, thank you to all of the staff for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LukeNicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Thank you for your kind words, we really do appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Do come and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Although this hotel opened only a few months ago I have managed to stay twice and really hope to make many more visits. I have stayed in both the suite which is huge with a lovely modern four-poster and a standard room which has a king bed and a good amount of space. Both rooms have the fabulous baths without a tap end and seperate shower cubicles.

My work leads me to stay in hotels a lot and I mostly stay at Marriotts as they are very consistent. I can safely say that room comfort and facilities wise this easily matches and exceeds most Marriotts. In terms of food offerings it exceeds any and all Marriotts, and many restaurants, the Bistro is absoloutely fabulous, and good value. Breakfasts are cooked to order.

The bistro does deserve a special mention as I have now eaten there several times, each excellent, each time unique. On my last visit I had the good fortune to speak with the owner, Damien who is most personable and clearly keen to ensure guests have a good experience. He may be reasssured, I did. The most recent meal I had there was Sunday Dinner, and it was wonderfully fresh and tasty with a great big gravy boat. Hit the spot, just right!

So, with large and scrupulously clean rooms, wonderful views, lovely countryside and a fabulous bistro/pub this really is one of my favourite ever hotels, which considering its reasonable cost is a real acheivement. I'm just left finding an excuse to travel over there again...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

We are so very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your comments and feedback, thank you. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Whilst it meant a short car journey to get to the start of the walks we opted for this hotel as it was brand new and had good reviews that turned out to be accurate. It was very clean, the rooms large and the staff very keen to ensure the stay was enjoyable. Breakfast was served in the adjoining Red Lion, the choice for full english was good and the continental okay. Evening meals also in the Red Lion, extensive specials board but most sold out by the time we sat down to our 7.30 table. Good quality food and an excellent weekend all round. Definetely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barts03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here for one night on a corporate away day..... The most amazingly comfortable beds, enormous rooms, great shower, fabulous food and the perfect balance of plush and welcoming.
The acid test is would I stay here again? Without a shadow of a doubt, for business or pleasure - fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Fantastic feedback! Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you back again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

First-class in all respects:
- very welcoming, friendly staff, from Reception right through to Bistro
- we were accompanied to our room, even though it was very close - a thoughtful touch
- lovely room - superb bed, brilliant shower, plenty of space, large windows with lovely green views, thick curtains to keep it dark
- everything spotlessly clean and tastefully simple
- very good meals in Bistro, with sensible, attentive staff who know when to approach and when to leave alone
- plenty of car park space
- bright, spacious Reception
- scenic area
Peak Edge arranged a complimentary stay because of an error with our booking and COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE HELPFUL by phone, letter and in person - BRILLIANT!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rse13nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we hope to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

After looking at every hotel on the net and reading review after review we made the trip to Derbyshire and decided to take a chance and call into the hotel first to see what it was like.
The staff were only to happy to let us see a room and our mind was made up within 30 seconds.
What a lovely place, we have stayed in some hotels in the UK that I would not return to, but this one will be our port of call everty time we visit the area.
We went out for our evening meal as there was an event on in the bistro and there were no tables till late but the breakfast was 1st class and very quick to be served, I went for a full English served 15 mins, hot, fresh and good quality.
We will be coming again.

Thanks to all the staff, you were so friendly and yes that makes a big big difference.

Room Tip: The hotel is new so cant see any being poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

We really appreciate your feedback, thank you for your kind words.... hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We decided on a short break to North Derbyshire and chose this hotel after looking at the Tripadvisor reviews; our experience echos the others who had a lovely stay. The hotel has only been open for a few months, and they are still working out a few things, but the fact that the staff are the friendliest I've come across in a small independent hotel makes this place stand alone in terms of superb hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble, and a few extra touches were lovely- for example, in our welcome envelope there was a print off of the BBC weather forecast for the next few days- we REALLY appreciated that, and were thankful we remembered our umbrellas!
The hotel and rooms are contemporary in style (which is v different from other places in this part of the world- most are traditional and quite chintzy) I LOVE the bathrooms and i'd do my own at home just like the ones at Peak Edge if I had the money. The bed was huge and super comfy. Breakfast the next morning was copious, with bacon, eggs and sausages from the local farm shop.
This is a beautiful part of England with loads to see, do and visit in the surrounding area; we will definitely go back and stay at Peak Edge again.

We had dinner at the pub/bistro next door, even though we read some patchy reviews here on Tripadvisor. Some of the food was outstanding (the "hedgerow rabbit wellington" was amazing, the "duo of local lamb" melt in the mouth delicious, both served with locally grown vegetables, and generous portions) But there are a few duds on the menu...my "posh prawn cocktail" was very disappointing, and the bread (actually slighty stale bagels!) served with olive oil and balsamic vinegar is an insult to what SHOULD be served- the brilliant breads and butters made in this part of the world. It seems as if any time local produce is used, this place excels. My tip to the chef would be to focus on the local- the quality of what's available in N Derbyshire is outstanding and this place could be a real champion for local produce with a bit more thought.
What made our meal so memorable despite a few disappointments was, once again, the staff. The chap behind the bar was very funny and friendly and went the extra mile with our pre dinner cocktails and our dessert wine; the maitre d' was v professional and looked like he was in his element; waitresses charming, and everyone seemed to get stuck in to ensure diners were well looked after. The owner (who was helping to clear plates- always a good sign!) has a real talent for finding great staff, which, let's face it, is often the weakest link in the hospitality industry. If all the food could be as sparkling as the staff, this restaurant could be be a real gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in 104- gorgeous view of lambs frolicking in the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank missmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Peak Edge Hotel. Thank you for your comments, we have passed them onto the chef. We are really proud of what we have achieved over the last year with the opening of the new hotel and comments like yours makes all the hard work worth while. we hope to welcome you back very soon! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
4.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,487 reviews
6.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
357 reviews
16.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,041 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
394 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range: £99 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peak Edge Hotel Chesterfield/Stonedge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing