We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and wedding venue”
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I got married in Derbyshire and made our way to Peak Edge hotel for our wedding reception. We choose the venue as it was near to our church, was more affordable than any of the other wedding reception venues we had found in the Peaks and was ultra modern. We fell in love with the venue the moment we saw it! The wedding coordinates were so helpful, the staff were all amazing and they answered any questions we had during the run up to the big day. They were flexible and helped us to create the relaxed atmosphere were had hoped for. The day ran really smoothly and I can't fault the staff at the red lion or the venue itself. We stayed in one of the suites (I can't remember which one but it is the one which comes with the wedding package). The room was amazing! It was large and airy and had a huge window with a lovely view which reminded us why we got married in the peaks! It even had a good hair drier in the room, so good in fact that it was better than my own hair drier which makes a change from the tacky hair driers normally found in hotel rooms. The hotel staff bought our bag and presents up to the room after the celebrations had ended too! The following day breakfast was great! They catered for my mum and aunt who are gluten free and everyone left smiling! Thank you Peak Edge!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clugs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Newly Weds, we are really pleased to hear that we were able to make your stay and your Big Day a very special one. Once again we would like to wish you both all the best for your new beginnings together and look forward to seeing you on your first year anniversary if not before. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We actually tried to book into the Cavendish Arms in Baslow as we had heard such good reports about it. It was fully booked, so after much searching we found the Peak Edge hotel. We saw that the trip advisor reports were very good but that made us a little cautious - could it always be this wonderful?
The hotel is new and is situated next to the Red Lion which is part very old and part new. Meals are in the Red Lion. The reception is spacious and welcoming - sort of like Mal Maison but not dark! The receptionist was very informal and friendly and showed us to our deluxe room - Room 111. It was exceptionally large and the ensuite wet room was huge. The quality of the fixtures and fittings and linen is all very high end. We had an very large, comfortable, king size bed. Water is provided in the room and although there is a fridge, it is empty of any products. The sofa was also huge and comfortable, opposite the TV.
A note of warning, wet rooms are an acquired taste! You have got to make sure that you have used the sink for your ablutions before using the shower, as after you have used the shower the entire room is swamped. So, if you then need to go back in the bathroom you have to puddle through lots of water near the sink.
The deluxe rooms have been designed for use by disabled people and this is our only niggle. The only available sockets are situated under the vanity desk and the console. You have to go down on your knees to pull out their equipment and put in yours. I'm sure we are not alone in having hair straighteners, iphone and laptop. I have a bad knee so this was quite difficult for me, so anyone with a proper disablility would struggle with this. The sockets are at the required height but the furniture in front of them stops you from using them easily. This could be easily rectified by moving the furniture!
We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. You have to go outside the hotel to walk to the Red Lion (less than a minute away). There is a cut through the hotel but the room was being used by a wedding party. The dinner was a very high standard. We chose a simple meal and thoroughly enjoyed it. The wine was perfect - a wonderful Pinot Noir, we can recommend it!
Breakfast was again brillaintly cooked - my husband had the Grimsby smoked haddock and was very pleased with it. Would have preferred a pot of tea instead of just getting one poured from a thermos flask. I would have liked a second cup but couldn't catch anyone's eye. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly, however.
All in all , this is a lovely new hotel. It still needs to landscape around the pond at the back because it is surrounded by tall weeds, but I am sure they will get around to that in the future. We did feel a little sorry for the bride and groom who were getting their photgraphs taken near the bridge, as they would have all the dead grass and weeds in their photos. This hotel surprised us by being so good and we would recommend it to our best friends.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are double the size of the superior rooms. They are however, more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuntlyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Peak Edge Hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed for one night midweek for our 3rd wedding anniversary. We had stayed earlier in the year for our friends wedding and couldn't wait to go back. The feature rooms are amazing - spacious, great decor and huge bathroom with a roll top bath and desperate shower. The hotel is fabulous, food excellent and most of all staff were lovely, helpful, very friendly and so glamourous! (we even got a card and glasses of champagne) I would go back again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Congratulations on your third Wedding Anniversary and many more to come. It is lovely to hear that you chose to spend your special occasion with us and that our team made your occasion even more special. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards Damian Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We booked for one night as we had a business meeting in Belper the next day. What a shame we couldn't stay longer! We arrived and were shown our room by Caroline who was very helpful and gave us lots of suggestions for visits another time! The room was large and clean and the bed was comfortable, with calming views out over the water and fields. The bathroom was lovely - my only bugbear was no magnifying mirror, which as a glasses wearer is important (its difficult to find a small travelling one!) and the large overhead showerhead - I don't want to wash my hair every time I have a shower! However, there was a shower cap which was very useful. The towels were soft and fluffy too - something that not every hotel can manage! We will definitely be back and will stay longer to visit the area. The food in the Red Lion Bistro was very good too, as was breakfast. Plentiful and served with a smile!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 425ChristineMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Christine,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Caroline is a new member to the reception team and was thrilled to have been mentioned by yourself. We always like to hear what our guests think would improve their stay with us and with this in mind we will look into the possibility of addidng magnified mirrors to our bathrooms.
We hope you had a safe and pleasant journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to the Peak Edge Hotel.
Kind Regards Damian Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A pleasant weekend was spent here prior to visiting nearby Chatsworth House. The hotel is very clean and beautifully furnished and appointed. However, two minor niggles. Bed mattress was very soft and only one available electric socket to charge sat nav, kindle and mobile from! That aside, staff were very attentive and helpful.

Dinner was rather pricey for what it actually was which but overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Alex,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that the 4 double electical sockets located in your room were not enough to charge all your belongings, however please feel free to ask reception to charge items should you need any assistance.
We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards Damian Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

First impression on arrival, what a lovely place.
Looked very grand, reception was really nice, we were shown to our room by the receptionist which I thought was a lovely touch.
First impression of the room, lovely, really nice.
The room was large (room no 2) with a lovely bathroom, walk in shower was good.
Nice complimentary toiletries.
The bistro was really nice ol with loads of character, although it seemed to lack atmosphere, but still very good.
The owners and their children were extremely welcoming and frindly.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would like to return some time in the future.

Room Tip: A very good choice of hotel no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dereham_NorfolkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

It was a pleasure for us to have met you also. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you once again in what we hope is the not too distant future. Kind Regards Damian Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

A very modern Hotel set within beautiful romantic surroundings. We booked as a treat for one night's stay to celebrate our First Wedding Anniversary and was most impressed with the initial appearance including the large carpark (We arrived on 2 motorcycles).
We received a very warm welcome upon arrival then were shown to our room which was light and spacious with an equally impressive bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space and beautiful views from our ground floor window. On the dressing table was an Anniversary card from the owners and their family, which we highly appeciated.
The staff were professional and friendly and it was a nice touch when the waiter congratulated us then presented us with a glass of celebratory champagne prior to our evening meal.
The Red Lion Pub and Bistro food was delicious and very nicely presented as well as being served in a timely fashion. Both the Evening Meal and the Beakfast were reasonably priced (although our breakfast was inclusive).
We highly recommend this establishment and eatery.
Moreover, we fully intend to return for our next anniversary but may well find another excuse to visit in the mean time.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have windows and first floor ones have inwardly opening french windows. Ask to overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Cheryl,
Let us once again congratulate you on your first of many Wedding Anniversary’s. We are so pleased to hear that you chose to celebrate your special occasion with us and we were able to make it memorable for you. We look forward to welcoming you back next year if not hopefully before. Kind Regards Damian Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
4.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,463 reviews
6.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range: £103 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peak Edge Hotel Chesterfield/Stonedge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing