We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for touring Peak Park”
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
LLandudno, North Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for touring Peak Park”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We found the two nights in our spacious well appointed room with a comfortable bed a welcome relief. The wide corridors and sense of space added to this. The views from the bedrooms show
a pond, bridge and unspoilt countryside with wagtails instead of traffic noise. The restaurant at the adjoining Red Lion served a varied choice ( not too much ) of food wines which did not break the bank.The staff were enthusiastic and predominantly young an there were enough of them to provide a fine service. We visited Chatsworth which was within six miles on quiet roads. We are recommending the hotel to our friends and yourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same fine rural view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
I am delighted that you had a perfect stay with us recently and enjoyed so many aspects of The Peak Edge Hotel and our Red Lion Bistro. I would like to thank you sincerely for leaving your valuable review. We hope to welcome you once again, kindest regards, Damian Dugdale, Hotel Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    136
    33
    0
    2
See reviews for
135
436
11
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our stay at the quality Peak Edge Hotel was really nice, it is situated in the countryside above Chesterfield, just a few minutes away, and we found it a an ideal place to chill and relax in the comfort the hotel offers. Staff here are well chosen for their affable nature and keeness to assist, well done to the owners for obviously committing to such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17Phil17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your lovely review on your recent stay at The Peak Edge Hotel. I am delighted that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay and that you was impressed with the Hotel and lovely staff that I am fortunate to have. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale, Hotel Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband took me to this hotel for a night as a treat as we hadn't been away for a while, and what a treat it was! Everything was lovely. The room was gorgeous and the view from our window was beautiful. We arrived at the hotel at around 5.00 pm on the evening of our stay, right in the middle of a huge down pour of rain, but the hotel still looked well presented and inviting. The staff who welcomed us were lovely even though we were dripping rain water all over the nicely polished reception floor. They showed us to our room which was amazing and offered to reserve us a table for dinner, but we had already got one booked. We settled into our room, I particularly enjoyed the complimentary toiletries which were so good I have since bought some to use at home. We dined in the restaurant which was amazing and enjoyed a few cocktails in the bar. The waiters were very accommodating when I requested the change the ingredients of some of the cocktails. The beds were extremely comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep. The next morning we had breakfast in the restaurant, and I was amazed with the choice of things to eat for breakfast, there was so much attention to detail. Overall we had a lovely stay and I would not hesitate to use this hotel again for a special occasion. I would most certainly recommend a stay here to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel with a lovely view of a pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandJ1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your fantastic review on your recent stay. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay and for your kind comments on your stay here. I would be delighted to welcome you back to The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion and would like to thank you in advance for all your future recommendations. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here over the Bank holiday. The rooms are excellent and the furnishings are of a high quality. We had a large room with a dressing area and a very large bathroom with a deep bath and walk in shower.
The staff in reception were very friendly and professional and made us feel at home immediately.
We dined in the Red Lion which is attached to the hotel. As it was Sunday the a A la carte menu was not available. However the food and service was good.
Unfortunately the hotel had an issue with the water supply the following morning. This meant no showers or running water to wash. I must stress this was beyond their control and the staff handled this issue really well.
We checked out that morning and were assured that the owner would call us to apologise. This was not necessary as the staff had already done that and we understood it was beyond their control.

Two days later we received a phone call at home advising us that the owner would like to offer us a free stay as compensation for our inconvenience. My wife stressed that we understood this was outside of their control but they insisted. Two days later a letter arrived with a full explanation and a voucher valid for one year. In my view Excellent customer service.

Even without this unexpected treat we would highly recommend the Peak Edge and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenewt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and would like to thank you for your fantastic comment regarding The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion and all our amazing staff here. Once again sincere apologies for the problem we experienced with the lack of water on the morning of your departure, and I hope that the complimentary overnight stay compensate for the inconvenience you experienced on the morning of your departure. We are looking forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I came to the hotel as a guest at a friends wedding. The venue was easy to find and has a sufficient car park for lots of cars. The food was delicious and the drinks at the bar were reasonably priced. The views outside provided great opportunity for some wonderful wedding photos. The staff were polite and helpful. Over all we had a great experience at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us wihilst attending your friends wedding, and would like to thank you for taking the time to writie your review and for your kind comments. I am pleased to read that your experience overall was great and hope that you will visit again in the future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have both traveled extensively and this small gem of a hotel had the best and friendliest service ever! The "feature" room with the glass balcony and gorgeous double bath (no tap holes at the end) was fabulous. The breakfast was delicious and it is the first time ever that we have had bubbles and freshly squeezed orange juice to start the day as part of the package!

Simply cannot rate it highly enough and if we are going to the beautiful Peak district again, this is where we will be staying.

Room Tip: We were shown the suites and there is only one with the feature glass window overlooking the lake an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_p2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Sally, Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback and for taking the time to write your glorious review. I am thrilled that you feel and in your opinion we are the 'best small hotel' that you have experienced, which makes us all feel incredibly proud of all our achievements and progress to date. We do hope to welcome you once again if you do visit The Peak District and hope that you had a safe and pleasant journey home. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed as part of a wedding party.
The room was fine but the balcony isn't really a balcony - more of an opening door.
Lighting wasn't really sufficient for applying make-up - or so I am told :-)
The gardens are immature and the lake a bit bleak but it was raining most of the time - it will be better when it matures and the sun shines.
Ate in the restaurant - service was ok and so was the food - but thats all.
The starter cried out for a little bit of toast to mop up the poached egg and the main was served on a wooden platter whereupon I had to keep retreiving bits and bobs that fell off.
Bar had a good selection of drinks but some of the staff didn't really know how to serve them but all pleasant enough.
Breakfast was OK only with items not really cooked sufficiently (eg black pudding) and staff not attentive enough - if you serve coffee by the cup they do need topping up.
Scrambled egg was a bit watery - could do better.
Seemed to be an awful lot of people smoking at the entrance which is not very welcoming.
But all in all - served its purpose for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdanDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to writie your recent review and hope that you enjoyed attending the wedding which we hosted at The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion. I do value and appreciate honest and constructive feedback . The Feature Rooms have glass Juliet Balconies overlooking the lake. A Juliet Balcony is known as this as they are named after 'Romeo & Juliet' scene. The lights in all the bedrooms, where necessary by mirrors and dressing/wardrobe areas have been replaced with brighter bulbs, to assist with makeup application, shaving, etc . We have recently planted many trees, bulbs, shrubs, fruit trees, flowers and ferns within the grounds thats looks truly stunning now in full bloom and more established, not to mention all the wild flowers in the fields. We are a modern 2 year old Boutique Hotel and making excellent progress in so many areas of the business. However, I would like to sincerely apologise that you was disappointed in parts of your breakfast/bistro dining experience and the smokers that had gathered outside the Bistro enterance left you disappointed. I have spoken to each department regarding these issues have been addressed. We do hope to welcome you in the future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
4.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,403 reviews
6.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
294 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
16.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Property: Peak Edge Hotel
Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peak Edge Hotel Chesterfield/Stonedge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing