We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We didn't want to go home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We didn't want to go home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is the first time I have written a review on tripadvisor but this hotel was probably the best hotel i've ever stayed at and we only stayed for a couple of nights. I picked this hotel as a little gettaway for my fiance's 30th birthday and right from the beginning the hotel staff were incredible at helping me plan the stay and keeping it secret from my fiance. We corresponded mostly by email but each email was responded to very quickly and very politely so I was pleased before we even got there. When we arrived the lady on reception knew who we were and said she was glad she managed to meet us and wished my fiance a happy birthday. When we got to our room there was also a card for my fiance which I thought was a lovely touch and handwritten, not just an unpersonalised one like most companies send. Our room (which was the Feature Room) was amazing, it totally met the expectations if not more than the pictures on the website and I was automatically taking photos of the view from our window and getting excited about the rather large bathtub in the bathroom. Everywhere in the hotel was clean and tidy, nothing was out of place and very well decorated. It seemed like nothing was impossible for the hotel staff to meet our needs and to say they had two weddings on were still very dedicated to our stay even if they were busy. Breakfast which was included in our stay was brillant - so much choice and very delicious and Iliked the little details such as the fact they wrapped our toast up in a napkin to keep it warm. The hotel also hired me a couple of bikes for the Saturday in advance and I had requested a smaller bike for myself and a mountain bike for my fiance and they sorted out helmets for us too and brought them out back for us with no hassle. We rode to Chatsworth House and back and were thoroughly exhausted but exhilirated when we got back to the hotel! We were unfortunately late for our reservation in the Bistro but they soon changed the time for us so we could freshen up and have a bath as we were aching a bit. The bath was fantastic and the shower was one of those showers you just didn't want to get out of and so clean and refreshing. Even though we were aching from the bike ride we went down to the Bistro for our meal and the staff were all very attentive and the food was to die for (highly recommend the duck a l'orange and cheeseboard for dessert) and so well presented. There were guests from the wedding at the bar but we all felt just happy to be in atmosphere (not overcrowded or feeling we were in the way) and there was someone playing the piano in the corner which made it all very romantic. After the meal we both collapsed into bed, watched a bit of our 46 inch TV and slept right the way through. My fiance said it was the best night's sleep he had in a long while. We would definitely visit this hotel again and were even saying we might visit for our first year wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: The Feature Room is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelLover304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you very much for your amazing review. I am truly delighted that you had such a fantastic and memorable stay for your Fiancés birthday celebrations. The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion, pride ourselves on high levels of customer service, attention to detail, and will always do our utmost to make our guests feel incredibily special. Thank you for your wonderful photographs too that you have very kindly posted. they are all great! It would be wonderful to welcome you once again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    118
    28
    0
    2
See reviews for
114
405
8
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at The Peak Edge over the August bank holiday weekend for a wedding in Darley Dale. We arrived quite late on Friday night, in the pouring rain and were given a very warm and friendly welcome at reception. It was lovely to be shown to our room - not a touch you see very often these days - but makes you feel really welcome and looked after.
Unfortunately I fell flat on my face in the car park that night and ripped my toe apart. The lady on reception was really kind and helpful, got us sorted with first aid box and directions to the minor injuries A&E (a much better bet than the Chesterfield main hospital at 11.30 on a Friday night).
On our return they sent extra pillows up so I could elevate my foot, and the large glasses of wine we ordered arrived very swiftly.

We ate at the Red Lion on Saturday night and enjoyed a wonderful meal, a great bottle of wine, and superb service. Breakfast on Saturday morning was quite slow in arriving at our table, and at 8.30 in the morning we didn't really appreciate the handyman using a circular saw in the same room we were eating. (very loud, very intrusive and should probably have waited until breakfast service was finished).

All in all we had a wonderful stay - the hotel is expensive - but for what you get, it is well worth the money. Peaceful, quiet, friendly hotel with beautiful rooms, great views and wonderful food.

My main sticking point is the lighting in the car park. As mentioned - I fell and quite badly injured myself on my arrival - which would have been solved by having lights in the car park especially around the raised curbed flower bed (the offending trip hazard). Sort this out and you'll be even better than the 5*s I've already given you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you very much for writing your review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had a wonderful, peaceful, relaxing stay and enjoyed the friendliness and warmth that you was shown whilst here. However, I was so so sorry to learn that you had hurt yourself in the car park, and I do send my very good wishes to you. I would be delighted to welcome you once again in the future. Kinedest regards, Damian Dugdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in this great hotel. Beautiful, modern, contempory boutique hotel, with a old, modern, rustic restaurant attached. Great rural location, with beautiful views but central to all local attractions. Our room was a superior room, great, comfortable big bed, complimentary bottled water, coffee, biscuits everyday, the lovely big bathroom was beautiful, lovely big bath(plug didn't work though), plenty of room for 2!!! All staff very friendly, polite and professional. The restaurant was lovely, nice big roaring fires, comfy chairs to relax in. We ate from the market menu, 3 courses for £15, beautiful food, great value, struggled to fit dessert in.. Breakfast was also served in restaurant , great no complaints.. All in all I would recommend this hotel for special occasions and for a treat, and would love to return


Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for writing your wonderful review. I am very pleased to read that you have had such a great 3 night stay with us in September. I would like to take this opportunity also to thank you for all your future recommendations on The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion Bistro. We hope to see you again in the future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked most of the rooms for a car rally and were not disappointed.
The staff were super and so helpful. Victoria Chapman was the events organiser and she was SO efficient. The food was brilliant and inventive.
This hotel goes the extra mile and I can recommend it to anyone for a function or just a couple wanting a weekend away.
A spa would be the icing on the cake.
Well done and Thankyou Peak Edge !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you so very much for writing your wonderful review. I am delighted you had such a memorable stay with us. Such an amazing time for us also to welcome you, your guests and the fantastic collection of cars. We pride ourselves on always going the extra mile and looking after our guests in the best possible way. We will be glad to see you once again. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Attended a wedding at this hotel and really can't fault it. Everything from the friendliness of the staff to the food, to the way the event was run and the general organisation of the hotel were spot on.

The place itself is a great location too with nice views over the peaks and the place has a general airy, modern feeling about it, with a nice mix of the older traditional side in the bistro/bar area.

As for the bedrooms, ours was literally the best hotel room we have ever stayed in! Amazing! Huge, comfortable bed, big flat screen TV on the wall, really modern decoration and clean with what felt like lots of space compared to anywhere else I've stayed. Same with the bathroom, massive bath and walk-in wet-room style separate shower, even had under-floor heating!

We will definitely aim to return at some point and would definitely recommend it as a venue for weddings to people we know.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
I would like to thank you for your fantastic review and that you regard your stay as faultless. I am delighted that you had such a fabulous and memorable time at the Wedding you attended. I would be pleased to welcome you once again in the future to The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion Bistro. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I don't want this review to appear overly negative. It is a good value hotel with a decent restaurant. It could however, make small improvements to become excellent. I have stayed here twice.
Room - nice countryside view and good size. Very clean and reasonable water and biscuits extras. Not enough power sockets - hard to use the iron and ironing board. Same re hair dryer.
Meal - first bottle of Chablis was off. I insisted they taste to confirm. Which to be fair they did. Food was good but I think it was overly ambitious. Less is often more in terms of quality when it comes to the size of the menu. 2 scallops for £8 for a starter is a bit steep. The kedgeree risotto was fine but too many things fighting for space on one plate. Breakfast was poor. Tasteless scrambled egg and warm smoked salmon.
To end on a more positive note, front of house excellent. Nice location and good views. I will return when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashfield11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for leaving your review and pleased that overall you had a good experience with us. I have addressed the issues that you have raised with all relevant departments. I value all feedback and it is impiortant that I do receive honest reviews. I do hope to welcome you once again when you are next in the area. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLandudno, North Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We found the two nights in our spacious well appointed room with a comfortable bed a welcome relief. The wide corridors and sense of space added to this. The views from the bedrooms show
a pond, bridge and unspoilt countryside with wagtails instead of traffic noise. The restaurant at the adjoining Red Lion served a varied choice ( not too much ) of food wines which did not break the bank.The staff were enthusiastic and predominantly young an there were enough of them to provide a fine service. We visited Chatsworth which was within six miles on quiet roads. We are recommending the hotel to our friends and yourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same fine rural view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
I am delighted that you had a perfect stay with us recently and enjoyed so many aspects of The Peak Edge Hotel and our Red Lion Bistro. I would like to thank you sincerely for leaving your valuable review. We hope to welcome you once again, kindest regards, Damian Dugdale, Hotel Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
4.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
6.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
18.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Property: Peak Edge Hotel
Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peak Edge Hotel Chesterfield/Stonedge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing