We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the Peak District”
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the Peak District”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel was the venue for a family wedding and did not disappoint. Lovely friendly staff, clean smart generous rooms and really good food in the adjacent pub. Room value was good and so was food however the drinks prices where London bar prices. Minor point just worth a mention. Will stay again on our next visit to see the family.

Room Tip: Accessible room is huge but no bath, great for a family with 2 small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    119
    28
    0
    2
See reviews for
116
408
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 2 nights for my sister in laws wedding and from start to finish the whole experience was fantastic. The staff could not do enough for us all, nothing was to much trouble and always done with a smile on their faces.

We had a very large wedding aprty many of whom where staying over at least one noght and no one had a bad word to say about the hotel, the food and all the staff. Every room was clean, modern with fantastic bathrooms and lovely views. The food for breakfast and in the Red Lion pub was superb and again all service was done with a ssmile on the face of each staff member.

The wedding itself was fantastic and fantastically well organised by all the hotel staff especially Carly who was a star and should be very proud of the job she does and how she makes sure it is a special day for all involved.

This is the nicest hotel we have stayed in for service, quality of rooms and food and also a great location. Will definately be reeturning and would recommend for any special occasion or just a break away.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris130478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

At the end of April we stayed at the Peak Edge for four nights so that my husband and son could go to the Crucible in Sheffield for one day to watch a snooker match.

The location of Peak Edge was perfect for us: about 30 minutes from Sheffield, 15 minutes from Chatsworth and several small Derbyshire villages/towns such as Bakewell and Matlock are also close at hand.

Because I had one whole day on my own I decided that I wanted comfort and luxury so we chose the Harrogate Suite at the peak Edge. We were not disappointed! The room is huge with a big comfortable bed and a huge sofa which faces the open outlook and big TV.

The bathroom was lovely .. big and modern with a walk in shower and free-standing bath.

Each evening we ate at the Peak Edge, the bar was comfortable with a friendly atmosphere and the food was outstanding.

We must also compliment the owners on their wonderful staff, without exception they were all so welcoming and helpful.

When we were checking out one of the owners was at reception so we mentioned a couple of very small issues that could improve the room still further. She took note of these and I feel sure that when we next visit these little improvements will have been made.

We will return!

Room Tip: We loved the Harrogate Suite but our son was staying in a standard room and he thought that was also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for a weekend - easy commute from London - 2 hours to Chesterfield from Kings Cross. The hotel is situated in lovely countryside - with every room having a view of the surrounding fields. The rooms are very modern - clean and slightly utilitarian - my husband thought that they lacked character - but I appreciated the simplicity and cleanliness. Nothing in this hotel is shabby. The hotel is adjacent to the Red Lion pub - although this is obviously part of the hotel. They are the only buildings around and share the same car park. This pub has character in buckets - old oak beams, a lounge area for after dinner coffee. The food is of good quality, good value and the staff are excellent.

There were two weddings occurring during the weekend we stayed - they did not interfere with us at all. I only make this point as some hotels cannot cope with the demands of guests + wedding parties at the same time. This was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel itself is very good - a little more business than luxurious in our room. Bed very comfortable, bathroom & shower very modern.
The Pub attached - the Red Lion serves excellent food, although was a little quiet on a Wednesday night when we visited, probably due to the remote location.
The Hotel staff were very helpful as we had booked a midweek offer with Bubby on arrival and tickets for Chatsworth House included, with suggestions for what to see and do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is in an absolutely beautiful location, and the Harrogate Suite in which we stayed was extremely spacious, complete with telescope! The bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean. However, our stay was let down by a few things.... when staying in a hotel suite previously we have always enjoyed bathrobes as one of the perks of booking a suite rather than a room, and similarly there is usually a turndown service during which the bathroom gets refreshed. Neither of these were afforded to us. If, like me, you enjoy reading a book whilst having a relaxing bath you will need ear defenders to deafen the noise of the extractor fan in the bathroom, which resembled a plane preparing to take off, at close proximity. The only way round this was to have a bath in daylight so that it wasn't activated by the bathroom lights. A hand-held shower over the bath would have complimented the very nice, large walk-in shower, so that you could wash your hair without having to have a shower in the process. Also, beware if you are short sighted - when getting out of the bath it would be very easy to walk straight into the glass partition in front of the shower - it could do with a pattern on it so that you can see straight away that it is there. We arrived at lunchtime on bank holiday Monday, to find that they were not offering sandwiches or snacks - you had to have a proper sit-down meal, which is not what we wanted. We ended up going to the Devonshire Arms a few miles away which was superb. The breakfast was ok but we have had far better in other hotels. We decided to eat in the Red Lion pub, which is part of the complex, the following evening. After a 45 minute wait, we finally received our steaks. Mine was ok, but my husband's was so tough he couldn't even get a knife through it. We told the waitress, who said she would let the chef know and did he want anything else instead... He asked for another steak, and was told there weren't any left (we had reserved our table for 7.30 pm so there must have been a lot of hungry diners all clamoring for steak before 7.30 in that case...) With that, she shrugged her shoulders and disappeared. We decided not to bother with any desserts and went back to the hotel, where we informed the Receptionist who was lovely (wish I could remember her name) what had happened. She was most apologetic, organised some complimentary coffee, and said she would let the Duty Manager know. After breakfast the following morning, the Restaurant Manager introduced himself and apologized for our experience the previous evening, saying he would not be charging us for the meals. When we settled our account, he had indeed, removed the cost of the two main courses, but left the cost of 4 small glasses of wine, which on reflection seemed a bit penny pinching, considering we were paying 300 GBP per night - not cheap!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We attended a Wedding here the food was amazing .
Bedroom was spacious , very clean and throughly enjoyed our stay .
Thinking of booking a break for next month.
Thank you to all the Staff who were so helpful and efficient ....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
4.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
6.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Property: Peak Edge Hotel
Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peak Edge Hotel Chesterfield/Stonedge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing