We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most overprized dinner of my life - no value for money”
Review of Chateau Visz

Chateau Visz
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Visz
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Somogy County
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My family and I had dinner at Chateau Visz. The facilities and the park are truely beautiful and the service was very nice. However, the quality and taste of the food was below average especially given the fact that we paid € 200 for two people and two small kids (2 and 4 years old) excluding any alcoholic beverages.
The restaurants must have once been good, but the quality of the food was simply ridiculous. We were especially disappointed with the highly claimed children's menu which consisted of very dry meat, very soft fries and very thick crepes. But all other foods were also below average. Portions were tiny and some food items could not be eaten as they were either uncooked ravioli or salty beans.
I would not recommed for anybody to have dinner here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adria33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stylish mansion ( or castle if you want ) in a very quiet area but still close to the southern shores of Lake Balaton. 12 rooms and a full size wellness area incl. indoor pool, sauna's and steam bath. Very , very friendly staff. Only a pity that the basic breakfast forces you to order some eggs to pay for. Luxury staircase and hall.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilsBerlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Went there two times, summer and early springtime. Nice setting, well kept garden and surroundings.Very friendly athmosphere, near Lake Balaton. The first time, the chef de cuisine himself explained the menu and the food was delicious, but a 5 course dinner was served in less than 80 minutes! We were installed on the terrace, overlooking the garden, very romantic!
The second time, we were kindly invited for a tour in the chateau, which has been totally renovated a couple of years ago. Rooms, wellness facilities, all looking spic and span! The food was delicous again, but as before, a 4 course lunch was served in less than 1 hour! This is not our standard, it appeals to the "normal" hungarian tradition and is really a pity. For Hungarians, this must be a extremely expensive place to eat. Quantity of food could be better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marynga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel in the countryside near Lake Balaton. Beautiful setting and very good staff.
We had heard the hotel had a top restaurant in Hungary and so we decided to stay there specifically. It is unfortunate that the chef who gained this award had left before we arrived so we can't comment on what his food was like, however for us, the food although very beautifully presented lacked taste in several aspects. If the portions are tiny and we are talking carrot puree or potato of less than a teaspoonful, every atom has to taste exquisite and not bland and unseasoned which unfortunately was the problem. Obviously some aspects were good but overall we were disappointed in the food we had when we were staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

The Balaton area does not have many top luxury hotels. This was definitely the exception to the rule. This is an old chateau converted into a luxury hotel and very tastefully decorated in a forested setting with a lovely, well-maintained park. Breakfast and dinner are in a beautiful Florida room with views out to the park. The service was simply excellent. The staff was extremely accomodating, even letting me use the computer at the reception to check my emails, and bringing a non-feather pillow from home! This is some of the best service I have experienced anywhere in the world, and certainly the best in Hungary. The restaurant is considered to be the best in Hungary and has received many awards. The chef, from Germany, made delectable dinners and sources most everything locally from Hungary after having thoroughly researching and tracking down the freshest and best ingredients. We were impressed. My partner still talks about our stay there. I was happy he was also thrilled with the place because I love returning to beautiful Hungary - now I have a good excuse.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We spend here a long weekend.(If we have known that there are so many things to do we would have extended with at leat 2 nights).

The service was so good that we could really enjoy just doing nothing, we felt ourself a king.
Children got also a special care.

The "Chateau" and its park are just amazing.Squirrels, birds that I have never seen before...
Our (corner) room was spacious, well-equipped (quality amenities in the bath, slipper, bathrobe, shoe cleaning set), however others told us, that their room was not as big and bright.
The bar with the big bookshelves and the stylish decoration really impressed us.
The restaurant was not as friendly and warm as the bar, but definitely spacious and bright.
The 6 or 7 course gourmet menu presented by the world famous Herr Schröter was also a great experience especial.For those who love wine (there was a winemaker in the group) it was a real experience listening to the sommelier's interesting presentiation about the wines he served.

The second day boys went to shooting and came back with a dear.
Thanks to the chef its liver could have been prepared for breakfast (it was delicious).

For breakfast we got rolls, home made pastries and jam,and some cold buffet.Not much sortiment but high quality.

Wellness is also very nice.I had not even expected more that one sauna a small jacuzzi, so I was surprised with the pool and the 3 or 4 different saunas.

Which there was really a USP, that the offered us to spend a few hours in the kitchen,
having a look at the accurate work there and try to help by preparing the lunch.
It was a great experience and it was very very kind that we got a smal jar of home made raspberry jam and an apron as a souvenir.

If we could stay a bit longer we would have gone to hiking or biking
or take up the board games the hotel offered.

I am sure that we will some back once.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank personka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank readont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somogy County hotels
8.8 mi away
Ket Korona Hotel
Ket Korona Hotel
#1 of 6 in Balatonszarszo
123 reviews
17.7 mi away
Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel
16.3 mi away
Hotel Kentaur
Hotel Kentaur
#4 of 39 in Siofok
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Mala Garden Hotel
Mala Garden Hotel
#1 of 39 in Siofok
189 reviews
39.0 mi away
Park Hotel Nagyatad
Park Hotel Nagyatad
#1 of 2 in Nagyatad
1 reviews
24.0 mi away
Kastelyszallo Szarkavar
Kastelyszallo Szarkavar
#1 of 1 in Kaposujlak
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Visz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Visz

Address: Berencsepuszta | Visz, 8681, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Somogy County
#9 Luxury Hotel in Somogy County
Price Range: £151 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Visz 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are our guests, you spend a couple of days in harmony and elegance. One can have the mind and the imagination's free run here, distant of the transmission of the town. The untouched nature, the elegant ambiance and hospitality of highest quality provide the relaxation of soul and body. Twelve individual suites and rooms as well as a handicapped person suite expect the guests seeking relaxation. The art of the Hungarian master chef fascinates the enthusiasts of the culinaria in the restaurant "Le Gourmet." Zoltan Huszak prepares compositions from elements of the Hungarian cooking, new Mediterranean techniques and from the elegance of the French culinary art. Musical evenings and exhibitions, active relaxation and culinary experiences provide diversion. Welcome on the island of the quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Visz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Visz Hotel Lake Balaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing