We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
10
5
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
5
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stylish mansion ( or castle if you want ) in a very quiet area but still close to the southern shores of Lake Balaton. 12 rooms and a full size wellness area incl. indoor pool, sauna's and steam bath. Very , very friendly staff. Only a pity that the basic breakfast forces you to order some eggs to pay for. Luxury staircase and hall.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilsBerlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Went there two times, summer and early springtime. Nice setting, well kept garden and surroundings.Very friendly athmosphere, near Lake Balaton. The first time, the chef de cuisine himself explained the menu and the food was delicious, but a 5 course dinner was served in less than 80 minutes! We were installed on the terrace, overlooking the garden, very romantic!
The second time, we were kindly invited for a tour in the chateau, which has been totally renovated a couple of years ago. Rooms, wellness facilities, all looking spic and span! The food was delicous again, but as before, a 4 course lunch was served in less than 1 hour! This is not our standard, it appeals to the "normal" hungarian tradition and is really a pity. For Hungarians, this must be a extremely expensive place to eat. Quantity of food could be better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marynga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel in the countryside near Lake Balaton. Beautiful setting and very good staff.
We had heard the hotel had a top restaurant in Hungary and so we decided to stay there specifically. It is unfortunate that the chef who gained this award had left before we arrived so we can't comment on what his food was like, however for us, the food although very beautifully presented lacked taste in several aspects. If the portions are tiny and we are talking carrot puree or potato of less than a teaspoonful, every atom has to taste exquisite and not bland and unseasoned which unfortunately was the problem. Obviously some aspects were good but overall we were disappointed in the food we had when we were staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

The Balaton area does not have many top luxury hotels. This was definitely the exception to the rule. This is an old chateau converted into a luxury hotel and very tastefully decorated in a forested setting with a lovely, well-maintained park. Breakfast and dinner are in a beautiful Florida room with views out to the park. The service was simply excellent. The staff was extremely accomodating, even letting me use the computer at the reception to check my emails, and bringing a non-feather pillow from home! This is some of the best service I have experienced anywhere in the world, and certainly the best in Hungary. The restaurant is considered to be the best in Hungary and has received many awards. The chef, from Germany, made delectable dinners and sources most everything locally from Hungary after having thoroughly researching and tracking down the freshest and best ingredients. We were impressed. My partner still talks about our stay there. I was happy he was also thrilled with the place because I love returning to beautiful Hungary - now I have a good excuse.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We spend here a long weekend.(If we have known that there are so many things to do we would have extended with at leat 2 nights).

The service was so good that we could really enjoy just doing nothing, we felt ourself a king.
Children got also a special care.

The "Chateau" and its park are just amazing.Squirrels, birds that I have never seen before...
Our (corner) room was spacious, well-equipped (quality amenities in the bath, slipper, bathrobe, shoe cleaning set), however others told us, that their room was not as big and bright.
The bar with the big bookshelves and the stylish decoration really impressed us.
The restaurant was not as friendly and warm as the bar, but definitely spacious and bright.
The 6 or 7 course gourmet menu presented by the world famous Herr Schröter was also a great experience especial.For those who love wine (there was a winemaker in the group) it was a real experience listening to the sommelier's interesting presentiation about the wines he served.

The second day boys went to shooting and came back with a dear.
Thanks to the chef its liver could have been prepared for breakfast (it was delicious).

For breakfast we got rolls, home made pastries and jam,and some cold buffet.Not much sortiment but high quality.

Wellness is also very nice.I had not even expected more that one sauna a small jacuzzi, so I was surprised with the pool and the 3 or 4 different saunas.

Which there was really a USP, that the offered us to spend a few hours in the kitchen,
having a look at the accurate work there and try to help by preparing the lunch.
It was a great experience and it was very very kind that we got a smal jar of home made raspberry jam and an apron as a souvenir.

If we could stay a bit longer we would have gone to hiking or biking
or take up the board games the hotel offered.

I am sure that we will some back once.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank personka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews