We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant attraction.”

Isle of Wight Steam Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bringing to life the fascinating history of railways on the Isle of Wight, this Visit England accredited, award winning attraction is a true journey into nostalgia. Beautifully restored Victorian and Edwardian carriages provide a view of the Island's unspoilt countryside. Your ticket includes unlimited day travel and access the NEW Train Story Discovery Centre. With the assistance of the Heritage Lottery Fund this £1.2 Million project opened in April 2014. Packed with interactive activities and fascinating displays, journey through the Island's very own Train Story. For details of the days trains run and timetable you can save money by booking online in advance.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant attraction.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We are nostalgic for steam trains as travelled on them when we were children. This is well worth a visit. We spent a good few hours at Havenstreet station watching the trains come and go. Visited the museum and the brilliant new running shed type display where you can get up close and personal with restored trucks and carriages. More to be added later. Had a lovely coffee in the cafe and bought some books from the second hand book stall. In all a very enjoyable time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    310
    89
    28
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Visited during a holiday on the island. We went to havenstreet and parked in the car park there as it's the main location for the train line and has the most to see there. We used tesco vouchers (£20) and then just paid the extra £4 for the two of us to have unlimited trips on the train all day in third class ( didn't look to us that paying more for 1st class would have been worth it).

We did a full round trip on the train down to the main line connection then back past the station to wootton and back to havenstreet with the train swapping ends and the end of the line so we travelled at the front one way and the back the other way!

We also looked around the shop, museum and train experience and felt it good value for money. We were lucky though with it being quite quiet and not sure how enjoyable it might be if a school coach trip was there which we heard them talking about often having one so pick you times wisely.

Lots of old posters and signs to read and very enthusiastic volunteers.

Helpful?
Thank jw1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish the line was longer”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved riding on the steam train I wish the track was longer. I think it's a bit pricey for the length of time /track

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry
Level Contributor
240 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nostalgia really IS what it used to be!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Going to an old steam railway is not about the peripheral attractions, the quality of the cafe food, British Rail food was always a bit of a joke anyway, nor is it about the 'villages' at either end of the line or lack of them, it is ALL about the TRAINS!

This is not the biggest, longest or most prestigious of the restored steam train lines but this is a delightful little line, with wonderful old engines and comfortable carriages. The ticket we bought gave us access for the entire day so we could have sat on the train and gone up and down the line until everyone went home had we wanted to. Our 'round trip' took just on an hour and OK there was some of it spent at the three stations but hey, trains do that don't they?

Well worth a visit if you like old steam trains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant morning out”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The train journey itself is lovely with different views up and down the valley. The staff were helpful and attentive. Please note though that there are very limited first class carriages so would suggest third class is perfectly adequate. The new train story centre is good but as with a lot of things if you have kids could turn into quite an expensive day

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Wight Steam Railway also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Isle of Wight Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing