We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
We took the steam railway to see Santa!

We had a fabulous morning here on 21 December. We took a leisurely steam train ride through... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
PackThePJs B
,
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
day trip

Nice bit of nostalgia and well worth a visit if you are on the island. Re living our youth by... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2019
Paul D
,
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Read all 1,769 reviews
  
Reviews (1,769)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveller rating
1,196
400
113
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,196
400
113
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train story haven street smallbrook junction rolling stock isle of wight main station electric train woodland walk thomas the tank engine unlimited travel falconry display rover ticket all ages step back in time ticket office birds of prey well stocked shop
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2018

The railway is a great visit, but there is the bonus falcon centre in the same grounds, the Autumn bank holiday week you get free displays.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

The Isle of Wight steam railway was a lovely experience for everyone. There are a few different lines and if you have time it's a nice way to explore the island. The museum is also worth a look whilst you're there.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank LauraM534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

We visited this on a damp day, but our spirits were not. Superb early carriages and steam engine. We travelled along this pretty line and had a great journey. The main station at Havenstreet has a very good buffet, well stocked shop and a museum that is well worth the small walk to see. We will definitely visit this attraction again on our next visit to the island

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

For me £26 for 2 of us return equals pretty poor value for money. You sit on the train for approx 1 hour if you wish to do the entire route & you see sheep, horses & maybe a few rabbits if you're lucky. The scenery is nothing more than fields ( which you can see virtually anywhere ) . To sum up i would say yes it's relaxing , but certainly not value for money which is exactly what i'm looking for in an attraction.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank darrentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Managed to make it for the last day of the season and had a great day. Loved looking at the train being restored and riding on the steam train. The kids loved it as well. Only let down was how busy he cafe was as it was very cold and there was nowhere for my family of 5 including a 18week old baby to sit and warm up.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Dreamer24524633070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews