We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better heritage lines.”

Isle of Wight Steam Railway
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Wootton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bringing to life the fascinating history of railways on the Isle of Wight, this Visit England accredited, award winning attraction is a true journey into nostalgia. Beautifully restored Victorian and Edwardian carriages provide a view of the Island's unspoilt countryside. Your ticket includes unlimited day travel and access the NEW Train Story Discovery Centre. With the assistance of the Heritage Lottery Fund this £1.2 Million project opened in April 2014. Packed with interactive activities and fascinating displays, journey through the Island's very own Train Story. For details of the days trains run and timetable you can save money by booking online in advance.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Im not a train enthusiast by any stretch but i do like the occassional jaunt on a steam railway or as my train spotting pal calls them 'kettles'.

We joined one of the last return trains of the day so sadly couldn't take full advantage of all of the facilities at haven street. We did manage a meal and a beverage at the cafeteria though. The haven street yard is a great set up and visit. I would say go on an earlier service to get the best value from your ticket.

On the train we travelled on there were first or third class tickets. These were all i individual coaches and peek inside 1st didnt show much difference to third.

Although we didnt sample all on offer i still felt ut good value.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank C8767FLjayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"train story"
in 254 reviews
"haven street"
in 132 reviews
"smallbrook junction"
in 94 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 64 reviews
"isle of wight"
in 217 reviews
"main station"
in 44 reviews
"electric train"
in 34 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 67 reviews
"thomas the tank engine"
in 18 reviews
"unlimited travel"
in 22 reviews
"falconry display"
in 57 reviews
"rover ticket"
in 31 reviews
"all ages"
in 90 reviews
"ticket office"
in 32 reviews
"step back in time"
in 38 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 58 reviews
"well stocked shop"
in 19 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on 22nd December for a 3-course meal with carols and a ride on the steam train.
The meal was wonderful - plentiful and exceeded expectations. The staff were organised, friendly and in complete control, I was impressed by the calm and tranquil atmosphere which enhanced our enjoyment.
There were groups of people who have clearly visited before and made this an 'annual' visit - as we ourselves will do.
On arrival there was a 'harpist' playing carols and other wonderful tunes- which again enhanced the magical atmosphere that I felt.
From a P,R/ marketing perspective there are a few things that could have been done to enhance this evening but for me and my family we had a perfect evening.
One thing to note, if visiting in the dark, then you'll not get to enjoy the beautiful countryside views that this exoerience offers when visiting in daylight but having visited previously this was not a concern for us.
Would highly reccomend this attraction if you enjoy good food, great service and still 3njoy the magic of Christmas.
Happy New Year.
Mxx

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Martine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It started badly and went down hill. Booked with hovertravel and travelled from southsea. Hovercraft was late so we missed our train at ryde (by seconds). One hour wait till next train to wootten. The wonderland wasnt that wonderous. Nearly 2 hours queing to see santa so the train was delayed leaving and subsequently missed the connection to the island railway. About an hour going back and forth before ending up back at havenstreet. Another hour and a half wait for a taxi to ryde hovercraft. The people were lovely and organised and paid for the taxis. Train ride was great. Shame it was so frustrating.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing trip on the steam railway with our grandchildren today. Brilliant organisation and value for money. The children loved the visit to the most wonderful Santa and lovely gift they were given. The price also included a mince pie and glass of mulled wine for the adults. Will definitely book again for next year.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank JacquiS620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IWSR, Manager at Isle of Wight Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your 5* review.

We certainly aim to ensure all of our visitors enjoy a magical experience when visiting the Railway, particularly at Christmas time so I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your day.

I hope you had a great Christmas and I wish you a Happy New Year. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Railway in 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We was visiting the island for a nice pre Christmas break and looking for Christmassy events and this one advertised sounded perfect a bustling Christmas market sounds perfect, we drove to Havenstreet parked up walked to the entrance to be told we can’t go to the market unless we paid the £16:00 or what ever it was fee which included the train ride, we wanted to browse the market and explore the old station yes but I wasn’t willing to pay this price.

This place must have lost a lot of business yesterday as would have the stall holders as we saw quite a few disappointed customers who wanted the same as us.
Don’t get me wrong I would have paid an entry fee of a £5:00 or similar maybe it’s something for you to consider in the future.

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank thehorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IWSR, Manager at Isle of Wight Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello,

I'm sorry you were left disappointed after not being admitted to Havenstreet during our Santa Special event. We make every endeavour to ensure the policy regarding site only admission is clear on the website.


The reason we restrict admission to ticket holders only is one born out of a need to ensure fairness to those visitors whom have made the investment in the event. Once tickets have been purchased there is a wide and varied programme of entertainment all included in the admission price. While appreciate you may have wished only to use the cafe, sadly there are those individuals who might take take the opportunity to exploit a cheaper site only ticket and enjoy the entertainment which others have paid significantly more for.


I hope you understand the reasons for the policy and I wish you a Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Wight Steam Railway also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Isle of Wight Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing