We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
We took the steam railway to see Santa!

We had a fabulous morning here on 21 December. We took a leisurely steam train ride through... read more

Reviewed 20 January 2019
PackThePJs B
,
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
day trip

Nice bit of nostalgia and well worth a visit if you are on the island. Re living our youth by... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2019
Paul D
,
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Read all 1,769 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Wootton
from US$17.48
More Info
Reviews (1,769)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveller rating
1,196
400
113
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,196
400
113
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train story haven street smallbrook junction rolling stock isle of wight main station electric train woodland walk thomas the tank engine unlimited travel falconry display rover ticket all ages step back in time ticket office birds of prey well stocked shop
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

Long years of restoration has been done to bring the steam train back to service.
Staff are friendly and welcoming and knowledgeable. Volunteers who work hard mostly for nothing to make this a success.
Worth every penny spent at the cafe, gift shop and the ride.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank A3303XQpaulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

Im not a train enthusiast by any stretch but i do like the occassional jaunt on a steam railway or as my train spotting pal calls them 'kettles'.

We joined one of the last return trains of the day so sadly couldn't take full advantage of all of the facilities at haven street. We did manage a meal and a beverage at the cafeteria though. The haven street yard is a great set up and visit. I would say go on an earlier service to get the best value from your ticket.

On the train we travelled on there were first or third class tickets. These were all i individual coaches and peek inside 1st didnt show much difference to third.

Although we didnt sample all on offer i still felt ut good value.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank C8767FLjayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2018 via mobile

We visited on 22nd December for a 3-course meal with carols and a ride on the steam train.
The meal was wonderful - plentiful and exceeded expectations. The staff were organised, friendly and in complete control, I was impressed by the calm and tranquil atmosphere which enhanced our enjoyment.
There were groups of people who have clearly visited before and made this an 'annual' visit - as we ourselves will do.
On arrival there was a 'harpist' playing carols and other wonderful tunes- which again enhanced the magical atmosphere that I felt.
From a P,R/ marketing perspective there are a few things that could have been done to enhance this evening but for me and my family we had a perfect evening.
One thing to note, if visiting in the dark, then you'll not get to enjoy the beautiful countryside views that this exoerience offers when visiting in daylight but having visited previously this was not a concern for us.
Would highly reccomend this attraction if you enjoy good food, great service and still 3njoy the magic of Christmas.
Happy New Year.
Mxx

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Martine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2018 via mobile

It started badly and went down hill. Booked with hovertravel and travelled from southsea. Hovercraft was late so we missed our train at ryde (by seconds). One hour wait till next train to wootten. The wonderland wasnt that wonderous. Nearly 2 hours queing to see santa so the train was delayed leaving and subsequently missed the connection to the island railway. About an hour going back and forth before ending up back at havenstreet. Another hour and a half wait for a taxi to ryde hovercraft. The people were lovely and organised and paid for the taxis. Train ride was great. Shame it was so frustrating.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2018

Amazing trip on the steam railway with our grandchildren today. Brilliant organisation and value for money. The children loved the visit to the most wonderful Santa and lovely gift they were given. The price also included a mince pie and glass of mulled wine for the adults. Will definitely book again for next year.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank JacquiS620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IWSR, Manager at Isle of Wight Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2019

Hello and thank you for your 5* review.

We certainly aim to ensure all of our visitors enjoy a magical experience when visiting the Railway, particularly at Christmas time so I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your day.

I hope you had a great Christmas and I wish you a Happy New Year. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Railway in 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews