We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
day trip

Nice bit of nostalgia and well worth a visit if you are on the island. Re living our youth by... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2019
Paul D
,
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Unique vintage travel

There are steam railways scattered all over the British Isles, but what makes the Isle of Wight... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2019
AnotherTraveller42
,
Ware, United Kingdom
Read all 1,769 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Wootton
from US$17.48
More Info
Reviews (1,769)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveller rating
1,196
400
113
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,196
400
113
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train story haven street smallbrook junction rolling stock isle of wight main station electric train woodland walk thomas the tank engine unlimited travel falconry display rover ticket all ages step back in time ticket office birds of prey well stocked shop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Nice bit of nostalgia and well worth a visit if you are on the island. Re living our youth by traveling on a steam train.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2019

There are steam railways scattered all over the British Isles, but what makes the Isle of Wight Steam Railway experience unique is the carriages. Most preserved lines have early British Rail coaches. This line has the original coaches which are over 100 years old and were already ancient when they were shipped over to the Island. Compartment coaches, leather straps to hold the windows open, original advertisements, all bring back memories of when I travelled on the line as a small boy in the 1960s and got smuts in my eyes looking out of the open window. Some of the engines are even older, between 130 and 140 years! All beautifully kept, friendly staff, an interesting museum and a good cafe with both snacks and hot meals.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank AnotherTraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

Long years of restoration has been done to bring the steam train back to service.
Staff are friendly and welcoming and knowledgeable. Volunteers who work hard mostly for nothing to make this a success.
Worth every penny spent at the cafe, gift shop and the ride.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank A3303XQpaulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

Im not a train enthusiast by any stretch but i do like the occassional jaunt on a steam railway or as my train spotting pal calls them 'kettles'.

We joined one of the last return trains of the day so sadly couldn't take full advantage of all of the facilities at haven street. We did manage a meal and a beverage at the cafeteria though. The haven street yard is a great set up and visit. I would say go on an earlier service to get the best value from your ticket.

On the train we travelled on there were first or third class tickets. These were all i individual coaches and peek inside 1st didnt show much difference to third.

Although we didnt sample all on offer i still felt ut good value.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank C8767FLjayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2018 via mobile

We visited on 22nd December for a 3-course meal with carols and a ride on the steam train.
The meal was wonderful - plentiful and exceeded expectations. The staff were organised, friendly and in complete control, I was impressed by the calm and tranquil atmosphere which enhanced our enjoyment.
There were groups of people who have clearly visited before and made this an 'annual' visit - as we ourselves will do.
On arrival there was a 'harpist' playing carols and other wonderful tunes- which again enhanced the magical atmosphere that I felt.
From a P,R/ marketing perspective there are a few things that could have been done to enhance this evening but for me and my family we had a perfect evening.
One thing to note, if visiting in the dark, then you'll not get to enjoy the beautiful countryside views that this exoerience offers when visiting in daylight but having visited previously this was not a concern for us.
Would highly reccomend this attraction if you enjoy good food, great service and still 3njoy the magic of Christmas.
Happy New Year.
Mxx

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Martine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews