We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable house in scenic and peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden
Pool sunset Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Garden
Pool sunset
Living room
Living room
View from Living room
Bedroom 1
View from bedroom 1
Kitchen
Terrace (shady)
Terrace (shady)
Pool
Pool
Local beach (50m)
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Main beach
Main beach
Ponta Preta Beach (1000m)
Sea Pig
View from villa
View from villa
Fig tree
Planes after the rain
Cliff to left of villa
Second bedroom
Mezzanine & office
Mezzanine & office
Mezzanine beds
Mezzanine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Vila do Maio, Maio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CarlaBrig...
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in scenic and peaceful location”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Whilst this villa is on an island in the Cape Verde archipelago that requires a little more effort to reach than some, it is worth the journey when you get there. Set in a development of tasteful and well-managed villas complete with shared infinity pool and gorgeous sea views, this house is well-kept, excellently equipped and a peaceful haven which we settled quickly into and, after a week there, felt like we didn't want to leave. The only downside is the rather scruffy approach road which is a little strewn with rubble but the town is on your doorstep and Villa da Maio itself is a charming, cobbled street filled, sleepy place but with enough bars, restaurants and markets to keep you supplied with the essentials of life. The host (in the UK) and the managers were very caring and communicative and we were supplied with a plethora of tips and advice that were very useful. All-in-all a great place to stay if you like peace, relaxation and somewhere a little bit different.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space in the property, the garden and pool
Liked least: As mentioned, the approach road
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breiteck
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another fabulous holiday in Maio”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This was my second - and I hope not my last - holiday in the property in Maio. The villa is very well appointed and in an excellent location between the small town centre of Vila do Maio and the beautiful beach of Ponta Preta (miles of lovely sand and almost deserted)

The villa is on a cliff top overlooking the Atlantic. The garden is beautiful and includes shady verandah as well as a sun terrace for sun worshipped.

I have not taken 'beach' holidays for many years, but Maio has coverted me and I will definitely return.

I complement the owner on the quality of the property and the quality of his service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa, it's location and the garden
Liked least: Travel times!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jutta80
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Beautiful Villa with wonderful view on the atlantic”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This well furnished Villa has a very beautiful and manicured garden with a wonderful view on the ocean. There were two comfortable sunbeds and a hammock - both with view to the atlantic. A generous living room with big glass windows, two sleeping rooms, one of them with view to the pool and the ocean too and two extra beds above the - full furnished - kitchen. The infinity pool was right beside the house, only some meters from the garden. From the pool you can step downstairs to a little beach. In a 10 minutes walk you can reach the city-beach, which is wide and a good place to snorkel or to have a drink or eat something at the beach. The village where you can buy everything you need is a 5 Minute walk away. There are a lot of restaurants (local, italien) within a 5-15 minutes walk distance too. A wonderful place to take a break from everyday life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful view from the hammock and from the pool
Liked least: Leaving the island
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stepvers
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely holiday home”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Me and my partner had a great time on Maio Island and in this holiday home. House is big, clean and equipped with al things necessary. Beach, shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Due to problems with the flight to Cape Verde we had to reschedule our stay, but owner Philip was very helpfull. Would recommend staying at Stella Maris to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahPica...
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful family holidays”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for relaxing and peaceful family holidays with our two-year old and our teenage girl and spent two wonderful weeks on the island of Maio.
The house faces the ocean, you are constantly rocked by the waves while reading a book in one of the two comfy hammocks. The swimming pool is breath-taking and even gets a children's pool. The private beach is wonderful and the main beach is a 5 minute-walk. The house was clean and very convenient, the property is well-maintained and the little garden so neat. The owner made everything easy for us, he organized our arrival and our stay. We had all the info needed to have a wonderful time while there.
We are very pleased !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything the photos on the website promise”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Maio is great, and Stella Maris village definitely the best place to stay on the island. The villa is fantastic: well equipped, lovely garden, spectacular views - everything the photos on the website promise. The pool is stunning and the little beach is lovely. Stephen and Jeanette (the local caretakers) looked after us very well; they arranged a car for us, and we had a trip around the island, and we also did some diving with Stephen, which was exceptional. Philip arranged everything for us, punctually and efficiently, including booking and paying in advance for our internal flights from Praia to Maio, without which organising the logistics would have been extremely difficult. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Maio.

Robert Campbell and family

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryanI692
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Amazing”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Bon Dia !

Villa Stella Maris is the only place you should even think to stay if you come to Maio It's completely like the pictures look but of course they can't even begin to do the real thing justice. The view is phenomenal from the Villa's patio, we sat on it for hours reading and talking while enjoying a glass of local wine. The property care takers Janette and Stephen are an enormous help, upon arrival they can show you around town and where to get things - like cold beer! such a help. The owner Philip is very easy to contact and went above and beyond in those communications to get our transport to the island taken care of, enough can't be said about the dedication he has to take care of his renter's and help them in any way he can. Overall our trip to this tiny island was amazing and being able to come back to the Villa at Stella Maris every night truly was the "icing on the cake" - I would refer this (and have) to any of my friends, family or acquaintances thinking about heading to the Cabo Verde Islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge chairs, infinity pool
Liked least: small shower and small amount of hot water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2013
Hi Guys

Thank you the sending your review. I must say it was quite a challenge choreographing everything but the end result was absolutely worth it. There were times when I thought that you guys were not going to make it. Not only did you make it, you had a great time and have posted this lovely review, its the icing on the cake.

Stephen Jeanette and I have decided that we no longer call the people that make it to Maio tourists. You're now labelled explorers. Well done and thank you from us all.

We hope to see you (or your friends) in the not too distant future

Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing