We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obsidian Vineyard

Obsidian Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Obsidian wines are the true embodiment of their place of origin. Every exquisite glass of Obsidian speaks of this unique terroir, encapsulating not only the character of the weathered soils at Onetangi, home to Obsidian's vineyard on Waiheke Island, but the coastal beauty of the surrounding environment.Tucked away in an amphitheatre setting amongst the vines, Obsidian offers wine tastings in a relaxed and friendly environment. Our knowledgeable cellar door staff will take you through a range of Obsidian Reserve & Non-Reserve wines.All are available to purchase in the shop. Winter Opening Hours: 11:00am - 4:00pm Friday through Sunday.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were at markets on Saturday and a ute was sitting outside coffee shop while owner getting coffee. It had a couple of bins of grapes and we got talking to guy and he explained about them and gave us some bunches of grapes to try. Yummy. The ute had Obsidian on side so thought we would make that a definite as had not been there. Great service there by knowledgeable lady. Cheese nuts and olives on table to enable you to try wines with food..changes the flavours you get. I would recommend to try. Not a big red drinker but enjoyed and bought some

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    34
    4
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
248 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great time at Obsidian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We took a lovely walk over the hill to Obsidian from Te Motu Vineyard (and from Stoney Ridge before that) and arrived just as a small tour was leaving. We had Lyn all to ourselves for a while before others showed up and her passion about Obsidian was the icing on the cake. She was happy to tell us all about the vineyard, discuss how each wine was made and give us a detailed history. We had some snacks and tasted everything we could. Obsidian wines ended up being among our top favorites in all of New Zealand. We especially loved the Viognier and Syrah. At the end of our visit, my husband Todd got to spend some time quizzing one of the winemakers (and playing with the dog) - a real treat since he likes to know every detail about the soil, brix, alcohol content, fermentation process, etc. to compare to our winemaking techniques in Arizona. We loved everything about Obsidian. Great job, guys!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable and super friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We hired bikes and rode them around Waiheke for the day. First stop was Obsidian and we spent way longer here than planned - it definitely ended up being our favourite. We did the tasting which included three whites and three reds.

We were greeted by a woman who works there but unfortunately I can't remember her name. Our time there was little short of perfect - we had a glorious summer day, fantastic views up the vineyard and great little nibblies to accompany the wines. She gave us the history of the vineyard, told us about the terroir and was knowledgeable on a wide variety of grapes - she certainly held her own against my husband who has family vineyards and has been around wine since before he could walk!

The wines were pleasant, particularly the last which was a red blend and which sells for a very reasonable $50 or thereabouts.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mougins
Level Contributor
302 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“a very good wine-tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

A lovely lady called Lynn was on duty the day we visited and she was so charming ,she really loves her job and is keen to share her knowledge with you .cheese and crackers are offered to ,in between tastes ,a super spot and well worth visiting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our favourite friendly vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Always welcome and friendly atmosphere,
Good wines produced across the range and the outdoor tasting makes it for a good interlude when tripping around the Island.
I have never left there without at least one bottle of wine!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Obsidian Vineyard also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Obsidian Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing