We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most delicious breakfast ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar - CLOSED

4th Avenue Eatery & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$30
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: About Us Stunningly situated on the foreshore of Onetangi Beach, 4th Avenue Eatery and Bar provides unforgettable inventive cuisine in a unique waterfront setting. Offering incredible views of the beautiful Hauraki Gulf, 4th Avenue is designed with an open-air atmosphere and includes an expansive dining room surrounding a lively bar and a beautiful deck where you can hear the waves and watch beach life. Our extensive menus cover from breakfast through to dinner, with a range of vegetarian and lighter options always available. Savour deliciously inventive cuisine that takes the contemporary to the extraordinary. Bold flavours, inspired techniques and the freshest ingredients make every meal amazing. Beach Shop Tucked away next door is our little sister, The Beach Store. Here you'll find all your beach needs from sunblock to jandals & toys for the kids. There's rolled ice creams, cold drinks and snacks plus a few essentials you might have forgotten to pack. We are open every day from 9am until late - our kitchen closes at 8.30Pm at the earliest.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most delicious breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was my first trip to Weiheke island, and i will never forget that awesome sunny day and that yummy breakfast at the 4th avenue cafe. I am sure that was the most delicious breakfast i had in New Zealand. Staff is very helpful and friendly, and the scenery is fantastic. You sit and relax and let the wind blowing through your hair , listens to the sea eating fantastic food, Never forget it! Thanks for a perfect place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaRybakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

After taking the taxi from the Half Moon Bay- Kennedy Bay ferry on Waiheke Island up to the main town of Oneora. Then we took the local bus down to Onetangi getting of it on the beachfront on the corner by the 4th Avenue Eatery. The café provides indoor and outdoor seating with plenty of room between tables. It has a modern open plan kitchen and an expansive menu running through the day. It is a licensed premises with a good selection of wines. It was well patronised for a winter weekend Sunday and we enjoyed a lovely meal. The Onetangi beachfront provides a nice way of walking off the lunchtime kilos and I can imagine in the summer it would be very popular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brook R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
275 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“4th Avenue Eatery & Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great eatery with open decks and views over beach. Food was very good as was service. Coffee was good. I had the fish and chips. Lovely crisp batter and the steak was both tender and tasty. Toilets facilities very clean. Recommended overall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coffee was bad, breakfast was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

great location and service was ok (you order at the bar) however the coffee was weak and really let down the morning. The food however was good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBene V, Manager at 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for the feedback. Looking forward to your next visit and please do not hesitate to tell us if you need extra shot when order your coffee.

Thank you
4th Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food but a little expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The food at this café/restaurant was very good. They offer excellent two for one specials which are great value. But if you are eating alone, you might find the 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar a little expensive. Just another example of how solo travellers are often disadvantaged........

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SirisMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing